We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Zero 1

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Zero 1 to your Saves list
Hotel Zero 1
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Rene-Levesque Est, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3Z5, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Estevan, Saskatchewan, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great location!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The hotel has very cozy rooms so if you are planning on spending a lot of time in the room, don't. The rooms are perfectly chic and cozy if you are planning a romantic getaway or want to be in arms reach of someone special. The rooms are clean, beds comfy, and the view spectacular. We overlooked Chinatown and it was great!! The hotel is a short walk from Old Montreal (10 min) or Saint Catherine Street (2 min) for shopping, food, and drink. There is a 24 hour convenience store attached to the hotel for supplies. The staff were wonderful and are willing to help out whenever possible for directions or ideas. One staff member stood out front in a dress shirt to hail us a cab in a snow storm!! The only downfall is no amenities; restaurant, pool, hot tub, lounge...otherwise, totally worth the stay.

Room Tip: 12th floor is the top, south facing is the best view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    269
    94
    21
    15
See reviews for
33
272
43
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Zero 1 is a good hotel at a good price. The rooms are basically furnished and relatively small - but you have all that you need and we had ample space for our three night stay. Staff were friendly and helpful - although we wish that we'd been told about the free muffins and coffee at breakfast (there is no restaurant - opens later this year apparently) on arrival - would've saved one trip out into the snowstorm to get my partner organised for her early start. Still, the hotel is brilliantly located for supermarkets (just over a block away) that it wasn't too big an issue.

Location is also great for getting to downtown and Vieux Port - plus is close to metro and the Gare d'autocars.

Only real issue is that I imagine that it could get noisy if you had busy floor and boisterous neighbours. We had two rooms across the hall who were in for the hockey game ... they were pretty considerate, but you could hear them ...

Would definitely stay there next time we're across in Montréal ...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I stayed in this hotel in July/2009 during the Montreal International Jazz Festival. It had been recently converted from a college dorm to an inexpensive hotel. It was dirt cheap as it was very modestly decorated. I had a room on one of the upper floors with a great view. One great location for all of Montreal especially the Jazz Fest. You can walk to most anywhere in Montreal. Now it's much more pricey as Hotel Zero 1. I preferred the old place with the old prices!

Room Tip: Great value in 2009
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I stayed here for one night for work, and it was fine. I had a standard room, and it's nice that it had microwave, sink, fridge, though not necessary to my stay. Room was nice, great modern decor, comfortable bed. I didn't get to try the Wifi, but I heard from colleagues that it worked well. Front desk staff very pleasant and helpful. Hotel was easy to get to, and it was close to where I needed to be. No breakfast included with the room, but they have coffee and muffins in the lobby in the morning (at least on weekdays). I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Okay so to start the hotels location is a little dodgy to start with... Literally on the edge of an adult entertainment district/ street... our taxi driver warned us of this.

However the hotel reception were welcoming, and the room nice... the kitchenette was a bonus. Very close to a Metro station for easy access to the Olympic park and BioDome.

Also in Des Jardains lower lobby was a great selection of shops and restaurants/ food outlets.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed 2 days with my husband in this very modern,stylish hotel. The hotel looks great, room was cute and comfortable, free good working WiFi , located not too far from the center about 10-15min walk, hotel looks pretty new that's why I suppose they don't serve breakfast which would be a big plus to any hotel and parking is not free it's $25 a night, other then that had a great stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We spent a few days at Hotel Zero 1 over New Year's, and were really impressed! The location is awesome - right between old Montreal and downtown, so walking distance to both. The room is really beautiful - the design is modern and minimalist, but the space is still warm and cozy. The beds were comfy. There's free wifi, a tv, little fridge, some basics: wine glasses, bottle opener, etc. I like that there are hardwood floors rather than carpet (hotel carpet = yuck!). Some people complained that it was small so I was a bit worried, but our room was pretty big, actually! (I think it was the "Hip"). Others said it was dark which is true, but I personally prefer the softer lighting. The bathroom is clean and modern. The shower is pretty small: I’m small and when I lifted my arm, bumped my elbow a couple times, so it might be tight for some. There was one morning when I could hear people talking in the next room, but other than that, no complaints about the soundproofing. The patio is beautiful. The view was great - overlooking a park with the city in the background. The staff were friendly and helpful. The one improvement they could make is that there’s no security, so anyone can just walk right in. Personally, I would prefer if there had been something to keep non-guests out, even as simple as needing your key to use the elevators. Otherwise, I highly recommend this Hotel – staying there made our visit to Montreal feel really special. Hope that helps, and have fun!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Zero 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zero 1

Address: 1 Rene-Levesque Est, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3Z5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#46 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Zero 1 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Montréal’s QuartierAt the heart of Montréal’s Quartier des spectacles district, in an inspiring, modern, urban environment, ZERO 1 reinvents with casual chic the concept of the downtown hotel reflected in the design and comfort of its 164 rooms and suites. Cutting edge, relaxing, and close to everything: Zero 1 makes life easier for savvy business travellers and nomadic tourists alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Zero 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le 1 Rene Levesque Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Zero 1, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.