We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is a Former College Dorm!!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Zero 1

Save Saved
You added Hotel Zero 1 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Zero 1
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Rene-Levesque Est, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3Z5, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 164 hotels in Montreal
McLean, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hotel is a Former College Dorm!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I stayed in this hotel in July/2009 during the Montreal International Jazz Festival. It had been recently converted from a college dorm to an inexpensive hotel. It was dirt cheap as it was very modestly decorated. I had a room on one of the upper floors with a great view. One great location for all of Montreal especially the Jazz Fest. You can walk to most anywhere in Montreal. Now it's much more pricey as Hotel Zero 1. I preferred the old place with the old prices!

Room Tip: Great value in 2009
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    133
    227
    83
    16
    14
See reviews for
28
225
40
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I stayed here for one night for work, and it was fine. I had a standard room, and it's nice that it had microwave, sink, fridge, though not necessary to my stay. Room was nice, great modern decor, comfortable bed. I didn't get to try the Wifi, but I heard from colleagues that it worked well. Front desk staff very pleasant and helpful. Hotel was easy to get to, and it was close to where I needed to be. No breakfast included with the room, but they have coffee and muffins in the lobby in the morning (at least on weekdays). I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Okay so to start the hotels location is a little dodgy to start with... Literally on the edge of an adult entertainment district/ street... our taxi driver warned us of this.

However the hotel reception were welcoming, and the room nice... the kitchenette was a bonus. Very close to a Metro station for easy access to the Olympic park and BioDome.

Also in Des Jardains lower lobby was a great selection of shops and restaurants/ food outlets.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed 2 days with my husband in this very modern,stylish hotel. The hotel looks great, room was cute and comfortable, free good working WiFi , located not too far from the center about 10-15min walk, hotel looks pretty new that's why I suppose they don't serve breakfast which would be a big plus to any hotel and parking is not free it's $25 a night, other then that had a great stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We spent a few days at Hotel Zero 1 over New Year's, and were really impressed! The location is awesome - right between old Montreal and downtown, so walking distance to both. The room is really beautiful - the design is modern and minimalist, but the space is still warm and cozy. The beds were comfy. There's free wifi, a tv, little fridge, some basics: wine glasses, bottle opener, etc. I like that there are hardwood floors rather than carpet (hotel carpet = yuck!). Some people complained that it was small so I was a bit worried, but our room was pretty big, actually! (I think it was the "Hip"). Others said it was dark which is true, but I personally prefer the softer lighting. The bathroom is clean and modern. The shower is pretty small: I’m small and when I lifted my arm, bumped my elbow a couple times, so it might be tight for some. There was one morning when I could hear people talking in the next room, but other than that, no complaints about the soundproofing. The patio is beautiful. The view was great - overlooking a park with the city in the background. The staff were friendly and helpful. The one improvement they could make is that there’s no security, so anyone can just walk right in. Personally, I would prefer if there had been something to keep non-guests out, even as simple as needing your key to use the elevators. Otherwise, I highly recommend this Hotel – staying there made our visit to Montreal feel really special. Hope that helps, and have fun!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bergen, New Jersey, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Got this through a deal of the day from booking.com
paid $120 for 2nights which was a steal.

room was perfect - router was right in the room therefore the internet was superfast! bed was comfortable, nice tv with good channels, staff was super nice, the workout room was pretty good - no one was in there!

hotel is easily accessible by bus - mass transit.

Room Tip: check out the web for any specials
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights over New Year's. Despite some reviews saying the hotel was in a "sketchy neighborhood", it is actually centrally located and a very good starting point for touring around the city. There are a few XXX shops a few blocks away, but I also noticed these stores in the downtown area next to Guess and Gucci...its all relative. The rooms are comfortable, modern and clean. I really liked the mini-kitchen and bright bathroom. The bed was incredibly comfortable - make sure you get a room facing the back since the street noise could be bothersome.

I would have given the hotel 5 stars if it had better parking. You had to park the car in the back and there was some wait (20-30 mins) for the valet to retrieve the car. The hotel would be GREAT if it had a bar or lounge area, especially since we visited in the dead of winter and leaving the warm hotel at night was painful. The bodega attached to the hotel is helpful but a bit pricey.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Zero 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zero 1

Address: 1 Rene-Levesque Est, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3Z5, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#48 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Zero 1 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Montréal’s QuartierAt the heart of Montréal’s Quartier des spectacles district, in an inspiring, modern, urban environment, ZERO 1 reinvents with casual chic the concept of the downtown hotel reflected in the design and comfort of its 164 rooms and suites. Cutting edge, relaxing, and close to everything: Zero 1 makes life easier for savvy business travellers and nomadic tourists alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, TravelClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Zero 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le 1 Rene Levesque Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Zero 1, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.