We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Zero 1

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Zero 1 to your Saves list
Hotel Zero 1
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Rene-Levesque Est, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3Z5, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #51 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Northampton
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Okay so to start the hotels location is a little dodgy to start with... Literally on the edge of an adult entertainment district/ street... our taxi driver warned us of this.

However the hotel reception were welcoming, and the room nice... the kitchenette was a bonus. Very close to a Metro station for easy access to the Olympic park and BioDome.

Also in Des Jardains lower lobby was a great selection of shops and restaurants/ food outlets.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    285
    101
    21
    17
See reviews for
33
293
47
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed 2 days with my husband in this very modern,stylish hotel. The hotel looks great, room was cute and comfortable, free good working WiFi , located not too far from the center about 10-15min walk, hotel looks pretty new that's why I suppose they don't serve breakfast which would be a big plus to any hotel and parking is not free it's $25 a night, other then that had a great stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We spent a few days at Hotel Zero 1 over New Year's, and were really impressed! The location is awesome - right between old Montreal and downtown, so walking distance to both. The room is really beautiful - the design is modern and minimalist, but the space is still warm and cozy. The beds were comfy. There's free wifi, a tv, little fridge, some basics: wine glasses, bottle opener, etc. I like that there are hardwood floors rather than carpet (hotel carpet = yuck!). Some people complained that it was small so I was a bit worried, but our room was pretty big, actually! (I think it was the "Hip"). Others said it was dark which is true, but I personally prefer the softer lighting. The bathroom is clean and modern. The shower is pretty small: I’m small and when I lifted my arm, bumped my elbow a couple times, so it might be tight for some. There was one morning when I could hear people talking in the next room, but other than that, no complaints about the soundproofing. The patio is beautiful. The view was great - overlooking a park with the city in the background. The staff were friendly and helpful. The one improvement they could make is that there’s no security, so anyone can just walk right in. Personally, I would prefer if there had been something to keep non-guests out, even as simple as needing your key to use the elevators. Otherwise, I highly recommend this Hotel – staying there made our visit to Montreal feel really special. Hope that helps, and have fun!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bergen, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Got this through a deal of the day from booking.com
paid $120 for 2nights which was a steal.

room was perfect - router was right in the room therefore the internet was superfast! bed was comfortable, nice tv with good channels, staff was super nice, the workout room was pretty good - no one was in there!

hotel is easily accessible by bus - mass transit.

Room Tip: check out the web for any specials
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights over New Year's. Despite some reviews saying the hotel was in a "sketchy neighborhood", it is actually centrally located and a very good starting point for touring around the city. There are a few XXX shops a few blocks away, but I also noticed these stores in the downtown area next to Guess and Gucci...its all relative. The rooms are comfortable, modern and clean. I really liked the mini-kitchen and bright bathroom. The bed was incredibly comfortable - make sure you get a room facing the back since the street noise could be bothersome.

I would have given the hotel 5 stars if it had better parking. You had to park the car in the back and there was some wait (20-30 mins) for the valet to retrieve the car. The hotel would be GREAT if it had a bar or lounge area, especially since we visited in the dead of winter and leaving the warm hotel at night was painful. The bodega attached to the hotel is helpful but a bit pricey.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Andover, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Great property. Very nicely appointed with great staff. I love the decor and the personal wifi in each room. My iPad was super fast on their network since the router is right in the room. Good location for getting around the city. Seems like everything is walking-distance from here. The downside to this hotel is that you can't pull up and unload/load at the front. You have to pull in the side street behind the building, drag your luggage either through the adjoining convenience store, or through the side door to the hotel. If you valet your car, it could take up to 30 minutes to get it back. Just be prepared for that. I would stay here again!!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachussetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed for the first time at the Hotel Zero 1 in Montreal. The front entrance is a bit hard to find and you can not pull up and unload right up front. You have to drive around back of the hotel where there is parking spaces (15 minute limit).

Here is the good:

1. Nice modern lobby the front desk personnel were nice and efficient. They explained the amenities of the hotel.
2. Parking is valet only. You can park across the street in a lot or after 9:30 pm on the street which is free (the area around the hotel is a bit sketchy, so beware if you leave your car on the street at night.
3. Rooms are not large but modern and comfortable. You can hear some outside traffic noise, but you are in a city, so it is expected. Bathroom is big enough for 1 person, but I booked the cheapest room, so I wasn't expecting a big room. Room is clean and the furniture is in good condition and modern.
4. Location near Chinatown and Ste Catherines is convenient. There is a strip club and adult arcade a couple of blocks from the hotel, so this is not my favorite location in Montreal.
5. Free internet which is fast
6. Price point was good. I paid $130 CAD with all taxes.

The not so good
1. Just the location. There are other hotels that are in the same price range in a nicer area.
2. I parked on the street behind the hotel, hopefully my car will be there in the morning and with no broken glass. I will let you know how my car faires on the street.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Zero 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zero 1

Address: 1 Rene-Levesque Est, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3Z5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Montreal
#46 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Zero 1 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Montréal’s QuartierAt the heart of Montréal’s Quartier des spectacles district, in an inspiring, modern, urban environment, ZERO 1 reinvents with casual chic the concept of the downtown hotel reflected in the design and comfort of its 164 rooms and suites. Cutting edge, relaxing, and close to everything: Zero 1 makes life easier for savvy business travellers and nomadic tourists alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Zero 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le 1 Rene Levesque Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Zero 1, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.