We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“modern yet comfortable hotel in good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Zero 1

Save Saved
You added Hotel Zero 1 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Zero 1
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Rene-Levesque Est, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3Z5, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 164 hotels in Montreal
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“modern yet comfortable hotel in good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights over New Year's. Despite some reviews saying the hotel was in a "sketchy neighborhood", it is actually centrally located and a very good starting point for touring around the city. There are a few XXX shops a few blocks away, but I also noticed these stores in the downtown area next to Guess and Gucci...its all relative. The rooms are comfortable, modern and clean. I really liked the mini-kitchen and bright bathroom. The bed was incredibly comfortable - make sure you get a room facing the back since the street noise could be bothersome.

I would have given the hotel 5 stars if it had better parking. You had to park the car in the back and there was some wait (20-30 mins) for the valet to retrieve the car. The hotel would be GREAT if it had a bar or lounge area, especially since we visited in the dead of winter and leaving the warm hotel at night was painful. The bodega attached to the hotel is helpful but a bit pricey.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    227
    83
    16
    15
See reviews for
28
225
40
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Andover, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Great property. Very nicely appointed with great staff. I love the decor and the personal wifi in each room. My iPad was super fast on their network since the router is right in the room. Good location for getting around the city. Seems like everything is walking-distance from here. The downside to this hotel is that you can't pull up and unload/load at the front. You have to pull in the side street behind the building, drag your luggage either through the adjoining convenience store, or through the side door to the hotel. If you valet your car, it could take up to 30 minutes to get it back. Just be prepared for that. I would stay here again!!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachussetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed for the first time at the Hotel Zero 1 in Montreal. The front entrance is a bit hard to find and you can not pull up and unload right up front. You have to drive around back of the hotel where there is parking spaces (15 minute limit).

Here is the good:

1. Nice modern lobby the front desk personnel were nice and efficient. They explained the amenities of the hotel.
2. Parking is valet only. You can park across the street in a lot or after 9:30 pm on the street which is free (the area around the hotel is a bit sketchy, so beware if you leave your car on the street at night.
3. Rooms are not large but modern and comfortable. You can hear some outside traffic noise, but you are in a city, so it is expected. Bathroom is big enough for 1 person, but I booked the cheapest room, so I wasn't expecting a big room. Room is clean and the furniture is in good condition and modern.
4. Location near Chinatown and Ste Catherines is convenient. There is a strip club and adult arcade a couple of blocks from the hotel, so this is not my favorite location in Montreal.
5. Free internet which is fast
6. Price point was good. I paid $130 CAD with all taxes.

The not so good
1. Just the location. There are other hotels that are in the same price range in a nicer area.
2. I parked on the street behind the hotel, hopefully my car will be there in the morning and with no broken glass. I will let you know how my car faires on the street.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

A modern mixed use hotel/condo establishment with a convenient downtown location. The hotel is nicely and minimally designed (non expensive decor) with excellent room views of the city. Quiet, clean, good service and very well priced. If you are a typical visitor to chain hotels you may find the small room a tad on the small size, consider a medium room and higher floor facing the old city for less noise. If you enjoy a more contemporary boutique like experience and can do without all the frills of a traditional hotel (no restaurant/room service) this is an excellent alternative.

Room Tip: Higher floor facing old city Medium room for couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banyuls-sur-mer, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Your hotel is great,well located, nicely designed and people are kind and trully helpful. A special mention for a trainee, Paul Antoine Raphene who dedicated his time and helped me in looking for my mobile left behind at a restaurant. An honnest and helpful guy, special thanks to him.
I'll come back. Merry Christmas, Nicolas

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie230401, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Zero 1, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Nicolas494,
Thank you so much for reviewing the ZERO 1.
While each guest is special for us we strive to provide a unique and personalized service. It is nice to hear that Paul-Antoine greatly helped you for your cell phone. Employees like that makes the difference. We can’t thank you enough for such positive comments and look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Have a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year 2013 !
Warmly,
Marie-Ève Gosselin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

I was in town taking care of a US visa and the hotel was convenient to the US Embassy. I have stayd in Montreal several times in different grades of hotel but Zero 1 is where I will return. Small yes, but imaginative, quiet and very adult.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

I loved my stay at this hotel. I reserved for the smallest room, but it was pretty big. Fridge, microwave, etc. Super good price, near the nightclubs on St-Laurent. The bathroom is beautiful. There are mirrors everywhere ! All the hotel is super modern. I really liked it ! Would stay again for sure!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Zero 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zero 1

Address: 1 Rene-Levesque Est, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3Z5, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#47 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Zero 1 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Montréal’s QuartierAt the heart of Montréal’s Quartier des spectacles district, in an inspiring, modern, urban environment, ZERO 1 reinvents with casual chic the concept of the downtown hotel reflected in the design and comfort of its 164 rooms and suites. Cutting edge, relaxing, and close to everything: Zero 1 makes life easier for savvy business travellers and nomadic tourists alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, TravelClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Zero 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le 1 Rene Levesque Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Zero 1, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.