We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Zero 1

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Zero 1 to your Saves list
Hotel Zero 1
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Rene-Levesque Est, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3Z5, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Niteroi, RJ
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

It's a modern hotel and the room is very comfortable, but a little bit small. There's a microwave oven, a fridge and some kitchen itens available. The bed is very comfortable and free wifi is also great (a router in every room). The hotel doesn't have a restaurant, so it doesn't offer breakfast. However, there are several places to eat nearby, specially the "complexe desjardins", with a supermarket, several restaurants and stores. You can get the bus to the airport (747) almost in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    273
    97
    21
    15
See reviews for
33
276
45
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This review is long overdue, but I really wanted to share my experience at this hotel being that it was quite delightful. I stayed at Hotel Zero 1 for two nights back in July with my boyfriend. Upon checkin we received a friendly greeting. Before traveling I had printed out a voucher on tripadvisor's website for a free upgrade at the hotel. I presented it at the front desk and it had blackout days on it that I had not noticed, the receptionist pointed out the blackout days out; but as a courtesy still provided us with a free upgrade anyway. I thought that was a very nice gesture. When we arrived in the room I was pleased to find a cool, modern and comfortable room. The bed was immensely comfortable as well. My favorite thing about the room was the bathroom, it was quite chic from my perspective. We slept well and also liked the fact that there were glasses available in the kitchenette area.The complimentary breakfast was also an added plus. Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel to someone else and thought is was a great value for what we paid.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie230401, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Zero 1, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear tmp5091,

Thank you so much for your very nice review; even if it was long overdue ! Better late than never !
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future !

Best Regards,

Marie-Ève Gosselin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed at this hotel recently while on business in Montreal. I had previously been, but only for a full-day conference in one of the meeting rooms. Staying here, however, proved somewhat disappointing.

From a design perspective, the place is nice. Some will find it probably too dimly lit, as these places seem to be - why is it that hip & trendy also means poor lighting and very little space in the rooms? One thing for sure is that rooms are small, very small. For a one-night stay, fine. I was alone, but I am not even sure I would come again with my wife, let alone with my kids...

Location-wise, however, this hotel is top-notch. Corner of Ste-Catherine street and Rene-Levesque, right in front of Chinatown and a block away from Quartier des Spectacles (shows, Jazz Fest, etc.). If you're trip if for business and you are traveling solo, this place is OK. If you're a couple, or want some leisure time, you may want to look into suites or bigger rooms.

Room Tip: There is no breakfast included with the price of the room, yet there are muffins, apples and coffee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie230401, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Zero 1, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear fredericg189,

First of all, thank you for choosing ZERO 1 for your last visit to Montreal. Thank you also for your review regarding your stay.
We have superb suites that can accommodate a couple or a family and would certainly accommodate you more. Maybe it could be interesting for a future visit to Montreal ?
It will be our pleasure to welcome you again !

Sincerely,

Marie-Ève Gosselin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

rather nice when you walk in, very chic and modern. The front desk people were very nice and efficient at check-in.

My room was just a king bed in a small room. I'm okay with that as it was just me in the room.

The bathroom was great and very functional. I finally found the microwave hidden in the closet along with a small fridge! There was very little light in the room, which is probably why I didn't find the microwave sooner!

I was glad to leave the hotel as the bed was very firm. Way too firm for a hotel bed! I didn't sleep very well because of the bed. The hallways were quiet and there was little to no street noise.

It was a so-so stay

Room Tip: Higher floors on south side have a nice view looking towards Old Montreal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, QC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Recently stayed overnight there. Not used to these type of hotels where everything is monolystic. Same gray tone throughout the building. Not sure if this was a new construction or an older office building that was converted. Very high ceilings which are unusual in hotels. Not exactly cheerful. The friendly front desk staff made us very welcome. As we had pre-booked it was a quick check in. As there was no parking on the street in front of the building you circle the block looking for the hotel parking. There is a 15 min hotel zone on the street behind the building. We were lucky that somebody was pulling out as we circled. It turns out that it's a valet parking setup which was a bit pricey. Also you have to call at least ½ hour ahead to get your car out of the off-site parking.
You then have to walk all the way around to the front to get in as the entrance through the convienece store is only opened with your swipe room key. Afterwards it's ok. One word of caution be aware of the street people in the park on that street. Whenever we went out they would tend to gravitate towards you with the hands out.
Everything in the room was well placed because if it was out of place then you were bumping into other furniture. Microwave, fridge and the dresser are all tucked away into closets so until you opened up the doors you were wondering where to put your stuff. With the floor to ceiling windows it does make the small room seem bigger. The curtains were a chore to open and close as you had to practically crawl over the bed to get to them. There was no draw strings on the side to do this. The bathroom was well laid out but again a bit of a squeeze when two people are in it. If you love soft beds then you are all set. I don't and could barely move in the morning.
The location of the hotel puts it close to many attractions so if you do stay there get out and enjoy what the city has to offer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Overall, pretty good as far as location, decor, cleanliness; however, was quite disappointed when they did nothing about the fact that our stay was for our honeymoon. At the time of booking, we mentioned it, they noted it, but no one followed through. When there, we inquired again, we were told they would speak to management and get back to us, but again no one followed through. Understandable that not all hotels are obliged to do anything, and that they may not have room to provide anything; however, the fact that no one bothered to follow up with us at all was disappointing. Where's the customer service?

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We were in Montreal for a night to see a concert in the area and wanted to stay somewhere clean ans safe within walking distance of l'Olympia; Hotel Zero 1 met those needs. Our room was compact but still felt like we had plenty of room thanks to a large window and high ceilings. The washroom was clean and well stocked, though I still don't see the appeal of a walk-in/no door shower, and other room amenities all made for a very pleasant albeit short stay. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. Convenient valet parking was available for $25/night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Zero 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zero 1

Address: 1 Rene-Levesque Est, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3Z5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Montreal
#45 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Zero 1 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Montréal’s QuartierAt the heart of Montréal’s Quartier des spectacles district, in an inspiring, modern, urban environment, ZERO 1 reinvents with casual chic the concept of the downtown hotel reflected in the design and comfort of its 164 rooms and suites. Cutting edge, relaxing, and close to everything: Zero 1 makes life easier for savvy business travellers and nomadic tourists alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Zero 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le 1 Rene Levesque Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Zero 1, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.