We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Zero 1

Save Saved
You added Hotel Zero 1 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Zero 1
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Rene-Levesque Est, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3Z5, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

This is the best hotel to stay in if you want to explore the city by foot. If not, the subway is a one minute walk from the hotel.

There are free muffins and coffee every morning. We didn't want them (we wanted to try restaurants instead). But it's nice that they provide a free mini-breakfast.

This hotel gives you the best bang for your buck. The Free wi-fi was helpful. We stayed in the Pod room. It was super clean and compact - great for people who just need the room for sleeping. We'll get a loft suite the next time. It's not that much more money to upgrade, so why not?

My only complaint is the iPod docking station that is also the clock/alarm. We couldn't figure out how to turn the alarm off so every morning the alarm would go off at 6:30 am. Not great when you're on a vacation!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    255
    88
    21
    15
See reviews for
31
255
42
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Overall good stay, nothing spectacular about the property, the staff are nice. Missing a little bit of customer service.

We stayed here last month and had mentioned a few times that it was the day of our wedding. We did get upgraded to a nice new suite (as per the current offer!) but nothing was left out on the night. There is a TV but no movies and we couldn't get all the channels. There was no room service and the bar wasn't stocked so when we came in we couldn't order anything to drink which was a bit disappointing.

For those who don't know Montreal, there is a park next door which is not the nicest, so it's a great neighbourhood to be close to everything but it's still a little rough around the edges right on St-Laurent around Rene-Levesque.

It's a nice new hotel, pretty modern and sleek and the staff are nice, don't expect any added amenities!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

This is a great hotel. I would suggest it more for a short trip and if you are solo or a couple.
The staff is friendly and offers a great service.
The option of croissant and coffee offered until their restaurant opens is a fabulous idea.
The decor reflects exactly what you can see on the pictures on their website.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

this hotel is located in what is the middle of the interesting area of down town, the room was quite small and the shower room was very small, but it did have all you need including a small kitchin area the bed was very comfortable and a continental breakfast was provided in a lounge area, our room looked out over the entrance to china town at the back there is a small sun deck, it is within walking distance the main shopping area and within easy reach of old montreal, very helpful staff an enjoyable stay and good value

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Our stay at the 'Hotel Zero 1' was very good.The staff are very friendly and helpful. The room is not large, although the furniture and kitchen is well laid out and makes good use of the available space. The decor is modern, and it lacks the warmth of wood furniture, although it is well down. The outdoor terrace is also a bonus feature.

The best thing about the Hotel is that it is within walking distance of Old Montreal, downtown festivals, and Chinatown is across the street. Several good restaurants are also within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

With "boutique" hotels becoming the new norm, after a while they develop a certain sameness. That is certainly the case with Hotel Zero-1. Very small rooms decorated in dark wood veneer. Thoughtfully designed kitchenette with good-sized refrigerator. Shower is so narrow that it quickly becomes uncomfortable (and I'm not a large person). I liked that you could open a window to get some fresh air, as the air conditioning control seemed stuck on a really cold temp. Very slow service despite the hotel not appearing to be busy. Tiny gym would be helped by the presence of disinfectant wipes and free weights. Overall I rate this hotel very high for value (great price), but fairly low for rooms and service. So...average.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drgmobile
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I imagine one's impression of this property will depend on how much one paid for their room. I paid less than $100 in the middle of summer, so it was a great value.

The hotel has a good location near Complexe Desjardins/Place des Arts (and Metro). The designers clearly were going for the modern/minimalist look and the interiors are attractive BUT perhaps do not wear so well. There was some minor damage to my walls, for example, and the blinds were showing some age. All in all though the property has a nice atmosphere.

My room was quite small, but nothing that would be unfamiliar to anybody used to travelling in Europe. Amenities wise, there is a depanneur on the first floor that sells beer and wine. There is not currently a bar or restaurant. Free wifi was easy to use and qute good. On the fifth floor is a nice outdoor terrace and small but nice gym with cardio, a cable machine and small free weights.

All in all, for a similar price, I will stay here again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Zero 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zero 1

Address: 1 Rene-Levesque Est, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3Z5, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Montreal
#46 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Zero 1 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Montréal’s QuartierAt the heart of Montréal’s Quartier des spectacles district, in an inspiring, modern, urban environment, ZERO 1 reinvents with casual chic the concept of the downtown hotel reflected in the design and comfort of its 164 rooms and suites. Cutting edge, relaxing, and close to everything: Zero 1 makes life easier for savvy business travellers and nomadic tourists alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Zero 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le 1 Rene Levesque Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Zero 1, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.