We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always A Treat.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant El Meson

Restaurant El Meson
1678, Boulevard St. Joseph, Montreal, Quebec H8S2N1, Canada
514-634-0442
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,831 of 4,562 Restaurants in Montreal
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Always A Treat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

My sister and I dropped in for a late lunch last week. Such a charming and inviting atmosphere in which to enjoy delicious soups, fish and fajitas. Start with a great Mexican beer or marguerita with the best guacamole and taco chips. Water is usually scented with fresh lime and coffee has a touch of cinnamon. Did I mention the desserts? Tres leches cake is so good. This little gem has been a favorite after a walk or bike ride on the lakeshore for years.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    8
    2
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“WHAT A PITY>>HIT OR MISS??? GREAT FOOD OR SERVICE???”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

What a shame I cannot give 5 stars.
As you can confirm with my other reviews, I am NOT one given to many complaints or nit-picking....but this latest experience pushes the envelope. While the food was great the 3 times I was there, only once did the service match the quality of food.
First two times, we sat in lovely courtyard, such authentic ambiance right in the heart of Lachine....makes one feel like they've taken a trip to Old Mexico. But, for some unfathomable reason on this beautiful, warm, sunny long weekend , the courtyard was not open for business.
However, the last time ( this past week) left much to be desired. If prices were low one would not so much mind the sloppy service; but prices are medium range & one expects the wait staff to actually wait on customers!!
While we were served by personable, cheery, smiling personnel ( 2 different ones) we had to ask BOTH of them TWICE for water, for Limes to accompany dishes & water. We wanted to request sour cream, but did not get the chance to find a person looking our way!! Not once were we approached for refills of either water or drinks.
All 3 of us left saying we would NOT be returning.
The Owners/ Manager needs to address this issue as it is a pity to lower standards when the prime part ( i.e. FOOD ) is great.
We cannot be the only party that left dissatisfied.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“El Meson, a fabulous little restaurant in Lachine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

If you are in the neighbourhood or tired of downtown restaurants, this restaurant is a must!
The restaurant is small but cozy, with a cute little terrace in the front overlooking the peaceful yet animated Lachine Canal. The most important to consider is the food, and let me tell you that it is delicious and quite tasty! The fish is fresh and yummy! The service was impeccable and our waiter Alex enhanced our experience with his friendly attitude and professionalism. We even spoke with the owner who was very nice.
The sangria was excellent too! :-) Price is very affordable given the quality of food and service. Enjoy and bon apetit!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Mediocre at best...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We went with friends and that was really the only good thing about it! The service was slow and we had to ask for just about everything...despite the restaurant bring empty. The food was ok...but not really of any culinary standard to speak of. There are much better places to spend your money at!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Terrible sums it all”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Ok, where do I start...
Went there with a friend and everything was disappointing.
-Expensive for what it is (60$ for 2 without deserts!)
-place seemed dirty
-We had the choice between "boiling hot" inside or "boiling hot" outside with tons of flies and bees. No AC during a very hot summer day (30C +).
-Drinks came in warm
-plates tasted like some frozen dinner. Terrible taste, tons of salt, far from fresh
-Poor service, long waits even if place was half empty, staff seemed like they simply did not care.

We will not be going back for sure. Avoid!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant El Meson also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant El Meson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant El Meson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.