We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!, really nice Pool!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   380 Sherbrooke Street West, Montreal, Quebec H3A 0B1, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #27 of 168 hotels in Montreal
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Great hotel!, really nice Pool!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

I came to the Hilton garden Inn with my girlfriend for a weekend away from my roommates. We had a great time, We chose this hotel from all the positive reviews here on trip advisor. There are so many choices in Montréal and this one is a must.

We got a King size bed that was a bit firm, but we found out from the front desk that all the mattresses are adjustable so we were able to change the softness of the bed. And had no issues there.

Seeing is how it get so cold sometimes here we were very excited to use the indoor pool. Heated and clean. The only thing is we found out that it is shared with the apartments next door, which is less of an issue with pool but we noticed the gym was very busy at certain times.

We went to see the front desk for some suggestions for diner. We stayed away from the hotel restaurant because we wanted something fancier, and with a bit more choice. The girl at the front desk was very nice, but she kept trying to give us a map. We told her we lived here and just wanted to try something we may not have heard of. She then Directed us to the concierge. Not so much fun to get passed around from person to person, but they were always nice about it. The gentleman who was working at the door was also the concierge he suggested us to go to Vertige which was a very nice French restaurant in the Plateau of the city. Nothing new food wise for us but good either way.

When we finally got to bed we noticed a bit of noise from outside we were facing Sherbrook street). There was a little bit of noise, but that is to be expected when staying in the city. The next morning we passed by to inquire about the taxes on our bill. We didn’t know there was a hospitality taxe on top of all the other taxes in quebec.

We had breakfast in the hotel restaurant on the way out. My girlfriend and I go out for breakfast quite often, it was nice to have a buffet breakfast for only 15$ comes with eggs, sausage, fruit, coffee, and a bunch of other stufff we didnt want. Compaired to most breakfast the price was compairable and seeing any other a la carte breakfast would cost the same price for the same or even less, it was worth it we figured.

In the end we had a good time. It was an affordable hotel, that was good enough for us!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claley, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville, responded to this review, January 7, 2011
Dear reviewer,

Thanks for your review. This is really nice to see that local people can stay and relax themselves in their downtown hotels when on weekend or vacation. We sincerely want to thank you for all details you've provided in your review and we have noticed how open minded you are when giving your feedback about your overall experience with us. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    436
    318
    59
    21
    20
See reviews for
241
233
67
180
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

We were at the Hilton Garden Inn on 380 Sherbrooke st. in Montreal for New Year's. The Room was very nice, spacious and clean the Staff was great and the tight security during New Year's Eve was so good that it insured me my wife and two little boys a good night sleep. I strongly recommend this Hotel..

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claley, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville, responded to this review, January 7, 2011
Dear reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to read that you generally enjoyed your time with us on new year eve, we hope you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

I was encouraged after reading reviews, so decided against the usual Sofitel down the street where I always stay in favor of a jaunt at the Hilton GI.

Upon check-in, despite requesting high floor was placed on lower floor. Spouse realized this and I immediately asked for higher floor, but the desk clerk *rolls eyes*, and says the only higher one, two floors up actually has a worse view. I speak French, but thought perhaps his attitude was because I addressed him in English. Ok, I thought, so we went with it.

The room overlooks a busy street, but noise wasn't that bad. Oh well, we didn't have the highest room rate, I justify to myself.

Indoor garage parking is about $25 per day after taxes/fees, which was reasonable and very secure. No complaints there. Free wifi was slow but a nice perk. Restaurant in lobby was very pricey for middle of the road quality food; we ended up eating one meal there but went back for two at the Sofitel (they have a truly outstanding menu.)

Rooms are adequate -- look at the pics here and you will get a good idea of what to expect. Dingy old dirty carpet that I wouldn't walk barefoot, but otherwise pretty clean and well maintained. Towels aging and thin, but comforter laundered (big plus) and sheets very clean. No robes or other amenities of significance.

I would have given this a significantly better review except for my experience at check out at the end of our 4 day stay. A short time prior to our checkout time, my spouse became quite ill, and around 11 AM she calls the desk and asks for a few more minutes to checkout (I'm a Hilton honors member.) Check out is normally at noon. A different desk clerk again gives her attitude, and says "That is not a feature of Hilton honors... it is our discretion, and you can only have until 12:30."

I had all the bags packed, standing by the door in a suit and tie, waiting for my spouse to exit the bathroom, and at 12:25 there is a knock on the door by a woman with a clipboard, asking "what time are you going to leave? Your time is up and need to be out." I pleaded with her that my wife was a tad ill, and she said "Fine" and left.

???

We were out of the room less than 10 minutes later, at 12:35.

I've never really been treated like this as a frequent business traveler -- I'm not sure if it was because I made the reservation on Expedia? Or if they get a lot of "squatters?" I checked availability of the hotel and it was wide open, so they were not pressed for turnover. The woman was not a room-cleaner, she was just bouncing us out.

Two weeks later, and the hotel has still not credited my Hilton Honors account despite writing it on Expedia reservation form and giving it to the desk clerk.

If you stay here - go in with the mindset of a Holiday Inn, not a real Hilton or even Doubletree. It is adequate, but poor, surly service by staff with a poor attitude ruins the stay. We're obviously two professionals after a four day stay and left the room immaculately clean, but they can't give an extra 30 minutes?

For shame. I won't stay again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claley, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville, responded to this review, January 5, 2011
Dear reviewer,
Thank you for submitting a review on your rescent stay with us. It is standard procedure that check out is at 12h00. Due to express check outs, many customers don't even pass by front desk and our housekeeping department has clean all rooms for afternoon arrivals. Hhonors customers that book through online travel agency such as expedia are not elligible for points.Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

As ex Montreal-ers,we usually return for a specific reason(Wedding ,Funeral,etc). This time we wanted to be tourists and get re-acquainted with the city. We chose the HGI again . because of our past positive stays. We were well received at check-in, and were in our rooms in minutes. The lobby is welcoming, and our room was tastefully decorated. Location of this Hilton is great, near the shopping district of Ste Catherine St , near the subway and within walking distance of Old Montreal & Museums. I also like the idea of self underground parking ,as you don't have to wait for valet parking to fetch your vehicle.
The staff was pleasant and really made the effort to make us comfortable.
On our next return to Montreal ,this hotel will be our home away from home.
Congratulations to the management & staff.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claley, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville, responded to this review, January 4, 2011
Dear reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to read that you generally enjoyed your time with us and that our self parking made you save time when leaving our facility in comparison to a regular valet service operated parking. we hope you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

Good hotel in downtown montreal but slightly expensive. It is close to underground city (only couple of blocks) and host of restaurants. The in house rooftop gym and swimming pool is quite nice. Only complaint being that I had to pay 17$ for breakfast after paying 140$ for room.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claley, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville, responded to this review, December 29, 2010
Dear reviewer,
We want to thank you for your review. Regarding our breakfast price, the cost per person is at $14.95 and we want to give all trip advisor community an idea about value you get for this price, we offer a full buffet (danishes, cheese, ham, cereals, wide variety of bred, starbucks coffee, fresh cutted fruits, waffle, daily special, yoghourts...) with the addition of a fresh on command (without limit) cook to order style formula for eggs, bacon, sausages, potatoes, a wide variety of pancakes and a daily special..... Value for price paid is an has always been a perception, we can't really judge as every customers have their own budget and expectations, but on a side note, we mostly have customers reviews about how our facility is by far the best value in town... Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for the weekend in December 2010 while coming to Montreal to celebrate our anniversary.

The hotel is in a great location ! Near great shopping and restaurants and most importantly Tim Hortons (lol). 2 minute walk to the Metro which takes you all over Montreal fabulously easy and fast!

The hotel was spotless and staff was friendly. View of Montreal wasw nice from our room and the room was spacious and the bed soooo comfortable.

Overall it was a great stay - we were not at the hotel much but when we were it was great.

One added touch was the Neutrogena products in the bathroom, nice big shower and salon style hairdryer.

Would stay here again anyday.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claley, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville, responded to this review, December 16, 2010
Dear reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to read that you generally enjoyed your time with us, we hope you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

Big room, well appointed and clean. Free Wi-Fi was a nice touch too, so many places rip you off for this. Only downside to the room was there was no kettle, just a coffee perculator that even the staff admitted wasnt very good for dispensing hot water, but this is a minor gripe overall.

Staff were friendly and breakfast was very good.

Location was good, next time I think I'll stay in Old Montreal, but this was a good base for our first visit to Montreal.

Parking was expensive on top of the room rate, but was a huge convenience factor for us so can't complain too much about that!

Would recommend staying here, good value overall for location and standard of room.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claley, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville, responded to this review, December 16, 2010
Dear reviewer,
Thank you for your comments about your rescent hotel experience with us. We really like your review title that do confirm that our hotel reviews are all going in the same direction. It is important for us to give our best to all our guest. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville

Address: 380 Sherbrooke Street West, Montreal, Quebec H3A 0B1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Montreal
#20 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#23 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville operates as a full service hotel, with ample underground parking, steam bath, whirlpool, spacious exercise room, indoor roof top swimming pool and outdoor terrace with a fabulous view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-Ville Hotel Montreal
Montreal Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.