We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   380 Sherbrooke Street West, Montreal, Quebec H3A 0B1, Canada (Quartier des Spectacles)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Horrible Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I was so excited to be staying at this Hilton in Montreal, especially because I am a loyal Hilton Honors member. I was with family and we rented two rooms. The actual location of the property is great and the Korean restaurant next door is delicious. However, the hotel service was terrible.

When we arrived in our room it was warm, so before heading out for the evening we set the temperature to 68 degrees. When we returned around 10PM it was 80 degrees in our room. We called down to the front desk and they sent someone up. Unfortunately, the person they sent up could not fix the air conditioning and brought us a fan. The fan sounded like a train coming through our room. I called down to the front desk to ask if we could be moved, their response was "take the fan or leave it, we are full and can't do anything else." I promptly asked to meet with the manager in the morning.

The next morning, after getting barely three hours of sleep because of the heat, I went down to speak to the manager. He said that it was my fault that the problem was not fixed because we should have alerted the front desk when we checked in that our room was warm. I tried to explain to him that it was not hot in our room when we checked in but was when we returned at 10PM, therefore there was no way of reporting about the issue. He refused to refund my money or offer me a free nights stay, instead he said it was my fault for not reporting the issue and he would only refund my stay 30%.

Never staying here again! Terrible guest relations!

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    427
    77
    24
    22
See reviews for
326
308
76
245
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Adams, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed here for vacation and we were very happy. The location is great, it's a short walk to St. Catherine St and Mt. Royal. The staff was very helpful. The rooms were clean and quiet. We really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
137 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Hotel is nice. Pool on top floor is pretty cool. Easy walk to historical downtown. Rooms clean and beds comfortable. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast was also very good. I would stay again if in town.

Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed here recently for the 2015 Montreal Jazz Festival! This is my second stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Centre-ville, and I was not disappointed.
This is a great location...close, as in walking distance to the festival, great vibe, close to restaurants and bars.
Staff were super friendly, the bar had hlaf-price drinks Monday -Friday...really good drinks!
The best part....the sheets and covers are all white...the bleach the hell out these things! I am a stickler for cleanliness, and this hotel definitely meets my standards!
Great experience :) Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I've stayed down the street at the Delta before, so knew that the Hilton location was good. If you get a street-side room, it's a little loud, so I'd recommend a room not facing Sherbrooke. And generally I like Hiltons, but I arrived in my room to find an envelope left behind for another guest by the staff. I found that more than a little strange.
What really annoyed me though was the 8 am. knock on my door with housekeeping not there to clean the room, but to ask if I was going to check out today. Seriously? You don't have a computer that can tell you that? Why the hell do you go waking up guests to ask them if they're going to leave? What kind of service is that?

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Overall, this Hilton property is worth considering for your Montreal stay. The location is great.

So why 3 stars? I utilized Hilton's online check-in so that I could pick my room and to make the check-in process faster. As part of the online check-in you select the time you will check-in. I selected 3pm, but when it was 3pm the room was not ready. I arrived at the hotel at 1115 (room still occupied) stored my bags and even returned at 2pm to see if room was ready. The front desk knew I was present in and around the hotel waiting for my 3pm check-in. So here it is 3:45pm, way past the "just 5min more" at 3:25pm and still the room is not ready.

I am not a needy nor demanding on the details.......as long as it is clean, I dont care if the shampoo or soap is of quality. I do expect my room to be ready when I checked in more than 24 hours prior to my arrival and arrive 4 hours before check in time. This is definitely not Hilton service that I experienced in Seoul, Hawaii, and other locations.

Recommendation to management: clean the rooms for those who do online check in with an arrival of 3pm......cleaning rooma by floor from low to high doesn't work nor synch with your online system.

Hoping my stay will get better......

Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean D, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear dcgalesq

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville.

As our team explained during your check-in, July 1st being Canada Day, most of our clientele left the hotel later than usual to enjoy our property recreational amenities and our beautiful city of Montreal. You declined our team's offer to change to another bedroom with the same bedding type, and complimentary items from our Pantry market during your waiting time.

We are here to provide the best guest experience and the highest level of customer service to all our guests.

We are looking forward to make the rest of your stay memorable in Montreal.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The staff at Garden Inn Montreal are great. They go out of their way to be friendly and help you out as a guest staying in the hotel. The location of the hotel is ideal, because you are in walking distance to so many things, including rue St. Catherine, McGill University, Place des Arts, and the metro. To get to Old Montreal, we walked and it took us maybe 25 minutes (was with 2 seniors).

The beds were very comfortable and there was an option to change the firmness on the bed, which is convenient if you and your sleeping partner have different preferences.

My only complaint was on our first night, there was a lot of noise above us. We were on the 9th floor and it sounded like there was some cleaning happening by the staff on the 10th floor. However, I didn't notice any noise on the subsequent nights.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville

Address: 380 Sherbrooke Street West, Montreal, Quebec H3A 0B1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Montreal
#22 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#23 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville operates as a full service hotel, with ample underground parking, steam bath, whirlpool, spacious exercise room, indoor roof top swimming pool and outdoor terrace with a fabulous view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and BookIt.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-Ville Hotel Montreal
Montreal Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.