We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won't be disappointed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   380 Sherbrooke Street West, Montreal, Quebec H3A 0B1, Canada (Quartier des Spectacles)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Burke, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“You won't be disappointed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

While Hilton Garden Inns in metropolitan areas are basically cookie-cutter, they never disappoint. They are clean, pleasant, with exceptionally fine staff. This one in Montreal had large rooms as well. We were on the 9th floor in the front (we had read that the back was noisy due to condo-construction around that time), and the front had views of Mont Royal. Indeed it does. Others have complained about street noise in the front, but we experienced none of that, and the view of Mont Royal and the illuminated cross at night were spectacular.

The hotel is located at the north side of the downtown area. So it's a little bit of a walk to Old Montreal. It's right next door to McGill. And starting at Rue Sherbrooke where the hotel is located, the city sort of levels out and walking (which is a must in this city because it is beautiful) is nice. There are metro stops nearby, however. The rooms have microwaves, mini-friges, and safes. The bathrooms are nice, and there is plenty of closet space. Some metro Hiltons have incredibly small closets. Not this one.

Everyone in the hotel was pleasant and helpful. Their bilingualism is to be praised! (Everyone in Montreal is bilingual.) But do try your French. They'll oblige and then quickly resort to English if need be.

On our first night there, we had cocktails at the hotel bar. We had read that Marie was a great bartender and conversant. Yes! And then when we moved to the dining area, Circos, to have a very late night dinner, Benoit took over to prove that he too honored the Hilton tradition of providing the best service. We even had one of the restaurant managers pitch in to serve us additional cocktails and dinner. The calamari appetizer was excellent, not at all rubbery, but tender. The Grilled Vegetarian Wrap was also excellent. The tomato chutney and hummus accompaniments were tasty. We shared our dishes due to a long flight, lateness of the hour, but were completely filled when we finished.

One minor complaint: at night when we wanted to unwind with a little bit of TV, there is a huge selection of French and English programming, but no HBO or Showtime (boo hoo).

All in all, this is a wonderful hotel with great staff and an impressive restobar.

Room Tip: Higher up rooms in front have views of the Mont. Also, quiet. Check out the restobar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    419
    75
    24
    20
See reviews for
315
300
75
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manalapan, New Jersey
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Clean, friendly updated with comfortable beds, amenities and in center of Montreal. What more could you want... With all that walking we did we did not miss the gym. It does have an indoor pool but was too busy to even check it out. Family friendly, close to shopping, restaurants, bars, museums nearby. Since we drove here there is a parking charge per day. Free wifi that actually works!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Came here for a bachelor party with some friends. The rooms were clean and luxurious and offered parking under hotel. Spent time at the lobby bar, food and drinks were great and priced well. Our bartender, MP, provided excellent service. It was an overall great experience.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My girlfriends and I stayed here for a weekend away in Montreal and overall we had a good experience. Two out of three of the rooms were ready when we arrived around 4pm and the other was ready shortly after. The rooms that we stayed in were all a fairly decent size, each with 2 queen beds, a little table and chair plus a desk. It was nice to have a little fridge in the room and even though we didn't end up using it, the Keurig and assortment of coffees and teas was a nice touch! The rooms were clean as well. This was my first time in Montreal but I think that the location was pretty good. The hotel is a short walk to some great shopping and brunch spots, right by the beautiful McGill campus, and a short cab ride away from Montreal. Two minor complaints: it was a bit disappointing that all of our rooms weren't ready when we wanted to check in, and we were also surprised that our rooms weren't cleaned by housekeeping until late afternoon. The hotel was full that weekend so I understand that they were busy. The other thing was that a friend of ours who wasn't able to attend ordered a bottle of champagne to be delivered to our room. When it didn't arrive we followed up with the front desk and learned that it had accidentally been delivered to another room. The employee we dealt with could have handled the situation a bit better, but in the end it was delivered. Overall, a decent stay at the Hilton though and I wouldn't hesitate to book there again.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caswell Beach, North Carolina
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If this hotel was city center, it could have been better. It was still a very nice hotel. A long walk to old Montreal and to the restaurants and shops. I would look for a hotel that was closer to old Montreal.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upton, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Located in the middle of downtown. We spent most of our time in Old Montreal. The hotel was nice and clean. The windows could use a wash and the bed could have been more comfortable. The mattress had a hump in the middle. The room looked updated and the shower had great water pressure. They did not replace shower soap the next day. If you want lots of soap put the little piece away to get another. Would stay closer to Old Montreal next time for nightlife. The staff is very nice. Make sure you go the the bar and see Marie, she great.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

very efficient check in and service, large clean room , downtown and easy walking distance of the city center. Underground car park was a plus,free wifi and a good coffee machine.
Simple on line reservation procedure and confirmation, and your inoice is under the door and on your I-phone before you leave. No hassles.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville

Address: 380 Sherbrooke Street West, Montreal, Quebec H3A 0B1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Montreal
#20 Business Hotel in Montreal
#24 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville operates as a full service hotel, with ample underground parking, steam bath, whirlpool, spacious exercise room, indoor roof top swimming pool and outdoor terrace with a fabulous view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-Ville Hotel Montreal
Montreal Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.