We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost didn't book here, very glad we did.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   380 Sherbrooke Street West, Montreal, Quebec H3A 0B1, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Haven
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Almost didn't book here, very glad we did.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Reading others' reviews, lots of folks used "clean" to describe this hotel. For a Hilton, this didn't sound like high praise and we actually considered staying elsewhere as a result. In truth, the hotel WAS very clean. And we liked just about everything else about it, too.

Our 8th floor room faced the inner courtyard, so from our room we heard nothing of the jazz festival or hustle and bustle that is Montreal, but we were so close we could come and go as we pleased. Outstanding central location (much better than the Hilton Bonaventure which is out of the way in the business district), around the block from the Jazz festival main stage, short walk to Old Town and the cathedral, short walk to the club scene. Excellent hot breakfasts at the hotel restaurant. Food representing every corner of the globe mere footsteps outside the hotel's front door.

Only negatives: exorbitantly priced self-parking ($23USD/day plus taxes, about $26/day total), very weak in-room WiFi (which was free) though no problem with ethernet, annoying elevator (requires your room key, tricky when there are multiple passengers, secret is each key gets to record 1 stop), and my wife's disappointment that while the flowers in the lobby and at floor landings were attractive, they were all fake (you can find real plants on the 11th floor, though).

The 11th floor sports a very nice pool, gym with new equipment, and a mosaic-tile jacuzzi. There's an outdoor deck with a breathtaking view that spans from Mont Royal to the St Lawrence River to the business district.

We found the staff to be kind, attentive, and genuinely wanting to be helpful yet not overly-eager or intrusive.

We were very happy with our stay. This hotel was the perfect backdrop: not too so enticing as to tempt us from exploring Montreal, but sufficient to meet and exceed our expectations in every way that mattered. No question we'll choose this hotel again for our next stay in Montreal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henri R, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you for taking the time to review our property and your recent stay with us. We are extremely appreciative of all the feedback and are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Cleanliness and Service are our top priorities, as we understand how important it is for our guests to be comfortable and feel like they are at home while staying at our property. We can understand that you felt the parking may have been a bit pricy. Our parking facilities are strictly reserved for hotel guests, and in an urban setting where space is limited, parking is typically a little more expensive. As for the key card requirement needed to access the elevators, it is put in place to ensure that only registered hotel guests have access to guest room floors in order to give the highest level of privacy and security to our patrons. We truly hope that you will visit us again soon and that we will have the privilege of serving your futures lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    386
    68
    23
    20
See reviews for
295
287
74
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is the second time we visited the hotel. We booked for the Jazz festival and again were not disappointed. The assistance we received from the concierges was outstanding; especially Ian. He went out of there way to find us a restaurant at the last minute for a party of 8. The choice was outstanding. Also Michael, who is a manager in the restaurant, was helpful and very friendly. He went beyond just taking care of our food and drinks but made sure we were having a great time and made recommendations for our stay in Montreal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

WE chose this hotel because it is a 5 minute walk to the Montreal Jazz festival which is a five minutes walk. The Hotel also has a multitude of restaurants, fine groceries and pharmacy nearby" For example, the great breakfast restaurant Cora's is nearby. The kids and husband adored the pool and went twice a day; it is a saltwater pool. Room was very clean and staff was wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henri R, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Montréal Centre-ville for your accommodations while in our city. We are pleased to hear that our central location helped you and your family benefit from all the great activities Montréal has to offer in the summer. We are short walk away from the new Quartier des Spectacles where most of the Festivals, such as the Jazz Fest, and currently the Just for Laughs festival are held. It is great to hear that your family also adores our lovely salt water pool facilities and terrace over looking the city. We hope you will stay again with us when returning to Montréal!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel is very clean and conveniently located near shopping and restaurants. It is a 10 minute drive to downtown Kingston. Hotel staff is friendly and efficient. Pool area is clean and towels and seating are plentiful. The restaurant staff went out of their way to accommodate our picky eaters for breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel is in a great spot - close to shopping, restaurants, McGill, a 5 minute walk from the Jazz Festival. It's a one mile walk to Old Montreal. The rooms are spacious, quiet and clean and offer Keurig coffee machines and Internet access. The front desk was always friendly and helpful. The only thing I wish they offered was valet parking rather than self parking.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henri R, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Hilton Garden Inn Montreal centre-ville and for taking the time to write a review. There is no greater privilege for us then hearing how much you enjoyed your stay and that you already intend on returning. The Keurig coffee machines are a new addition to our room amenities; we are glad to hear that you enjoyed this upgrade! We hope we will be your choice for your future lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was an amazing hotel. The room was huge and very very clean. The staff at the hotel was very helpful and prompt with any requests we had. The concierge was very helpful with directions and tips on where to eat. The only not so good was that I could hear a lot of traffic since my room faced Sherbrook Street and I wish the counter in the bathroom was a little bigger. It's such a big bathroom but the counter space was very small.
One other recommendation is "do not eat at the hotel restaurant." I only had a drink but the service was horrible. They don't care about their customers.

Room Tip: Ask for room not facing the main street and one on the high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, CT
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We chose the Hilton because of the fantastic location . From the minute we arrived the hotel concierge shared his knowledge of the city sharing maps, directions and ideas based on our interest. Adam was a pleasure. My husband enjoyed the cold drinks and candy snacks left in the lobby each day. Our spotless room was quite large but lacked character. One negative was self parking in the attached garage. The cost to self park is about $25.00 with tax. Please consider offering valet parking to your guests. We definitely enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Space is tight when you drive up to the hotel but leave your car in front while you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville

Address: 380 Sherbrooke Street West, Montreal, Quebec H3A 0B1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Montreal
#17 Business Hotel in Montreal
#19 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville operates as a full service hotel, with ample underground parking, steam bath, whirlpool, spacious exercise room, indoor roof top swimming pool and outdoor terrace with a fabulous view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-Ville Hotel Montreal
Montreal Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.