We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont go there.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   380 Sherbrooke Street West, Montreal, Quebec H3A 0B1, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #27 of 168 hotels in Montreal
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dont go there.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is not a good hotel. When we arrived with our friends there, they give us one bed for 4 adults, despite the fact that we ordered 2 queen side beds 3 weeks in advance. We asked , how they imagine us to sleep 4 adults on one bed (I dont know maybe in Montreal this is a usual thing to do), his answer was: "there is a little sofa, that you can sleep too." I mean come on, this is a Hilton for cs peole!!!! Servise like that, no kidding, like some f...g motel on some country road. Shower has clogged drainage. Water was standing there, it is nasty. Not enoug towels. 2 towels for 4 people(I dont know maybe it is also ok for Hilton Montreal). Windows were so dirty, you can hardly see the street. I dont recomend this hotel in Montreal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claley, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Reviewer,
We thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Montreal centre-ville for your stay in our city. Although we have no record in our logs of the incidents which you mention nor do we have any mention that you contacted management to attempt to resolve these issues; we are sorry to hear that you experienced difficulties during your stay. Since we do not have the details of your reservation we cannot confirm what happened with your room type; however we invite you to contact us at your convenience so that we may investigate. We hope to have the opportunity of serving your future lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    436
    318
    59
    21
    20
See reviews for
241
233
67
180
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We've stayed here in past and have been more than happy with our stay. Just returned from a 3-night stay at the Hilton Garden Inn - our room wasn't great: the beds seemed very stiff, the ladies that cleaned our room didn't give us enough towels and didn't leave behind any shampoo or conditioner. When I requested more shampoo/conditioner at the front desk, one of the gentlemen at the desk (Dimitri) laughed. I was more than appalled at this, especially since Hilton has a certain quality they maintain + when I'm paying $159+/night, I expect to have enough towels and toiletries without being made fun of... perhaps it's time to try another hotel in Montreal?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claley, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
We thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Montreal centre-ville for your stay in our city. We apologize if you were disappointed with your current visit. We make a point of appointing each of our guest rooms with a sufficient amount of amenities to offer a comfortable stay to the occupants. We do understand that this may vary from preference to preference. It is always our pleasure to provide our valued guests with extras and to freshen their rooms at their requests. We apologize if you perceived our reaction as being unhelpful, this was truly not our intention.
We hope to have the future privilege of serving our future lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada (YOW)
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed three nights while attending a conference. Was comped the breakfast based on my Hilton Diamond status, and it was a full breakfast with no need to pay a supplement to upgrade from cold to hot buffet. Had a large, quiet room on the 10th floor, facing south i.e. away from rue Sherbrooke. Lots of dinning choices nearby. Only two blocks to shopping on Ste-Catherine. Metro very near.

Room Tip: Sherbrooke St. can be noisy. Ask for a room facing south if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is an average hotel but at the top of their game. I booked the room directly through the Hilton website and I took advantage of their promotion of breakfast included(excellent quality and service). However I forgot to indicate my room specifications and the hotel gave me a room on the 4th floor(traffic noise) and in front of the elevator(guest noise). That said the noise factor wasn't an issue. I prefer to have a room on the highest floor(street noise and view) and away from the elevator(guest noise). The rooms are clean and adequate for families(like mine) with a small fridge, microwave, etc. I found the HVAC in room a bit noisy for sleeping(normal for rooms on the lower levels). The services are very good with an indoor pool(11th floor, roof top), gym, restaurant, indoor parking, etc. I found the indoor parking a bit pricey at $23 per day, but you are in downtown Montreal. The hotel is very well located in Montreal near all the services and attractions.
Overall the Hilton Garden Inn is an average hotel but very well done with all the necessities and location.

Room Tip: Book the room directly for the breakfast package.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. Conveniently located in downtown area with easy access to St Catherine and surrounding. The reception guys are great, offering great suggestions for dining and sightseeing. The room is very clean, as would be expected. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The hotel was well located and very pretty inside the lobby. My concern was: We parked in the underground parking. In the morning, my husband went down to the car by himself, to leave the hotel. In the underground parking the signs for how to get out of the basement were terrible. He followed the "exit" sign and went through a folding door that locked him into an area of the garage where there was no way out. Apparently this section belonged to the building next door? He was literally trapped down there and there was no cell phone reception. There was no exit for people who had entered via the hotel. He was down there for an hour before someone from the other building finally rescued him..... also this person was rude and told him that he had "trespassed" into the wrong section. ???!!!

Also, more importantly, the beds were absolutely HORRIBLE in the room. They were ROCK hard, thick and rounded on the tops with hard material. We kept rolling down to the sides of the bed because the middle was so stuffed full of lumpy, stiff material. Honestly I would have been more comfortable sleeping on a park bench. The mattress was pathetic. it was actually kind of prickly as well -- it felt like the old fashioned straw beds used by pioneers.

We complained to the front desk and they told us very sarcastically that there is a "KNOB" (?!) on the side of the box spring to adjust the mattress. There was no sign or notice in the room to indicate this. Regardless we went back and looked for the elusive "knob" to no avail. It was so ridiculously uncomfortable that we didn't even enjoy sitting on the beds. For most of the evening I sat on the floor because my hubby was asleep on the (only) chair. Neither of us slept more than about half an hour in the bed. It was honestly absolute hell.

Our friends in another room had the same problem with their terrible bed.

We all checked out one day ahead of schedule because of the rock hard beds. We checked out within an hour of each other. Our friends were charged for the second night even though they didn't stay. We were not charged for the second night. This inconsistency made no sense because we all checked out prior to "check out time" so why was one party charged for the second night, and not the other party?

It was the worst hotel I have ever attempted to sleep in.

Oh, forgot to mention that we couldn't find towels for the shower ANYWHERE. We used the floor mats. The day we checked out we discovered there were towels in a basket hiding in the coat closet.

Pathetic.

Room Tip: Don't go. Find a park bench.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claley, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience staying at our property. Our beds are Hilton Standard Garden Sleep System beds and can be adjusted with the dial to fit different levels of softness and firmness according to each person's needs; this is a feature that most of our guests truly appreciate. Our parking garage is three levels deep and there is clearly indicated hotel access on each level. We are surprised to hear of your difficulty in finding your way to the elevators and we are sorry that this caused you difficulty. We thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Hotel common areas and rooms were clean. Staff was friendly at the front desk and in the restaurant. Food at breakfast was very good (we had coupons), a step above American fare. The concierge and front desk helped us several times in directions, hours, etc. Safe area. We had a view of Sherbrooke Street, and I thought it was nice to look out at the hustle of the people walking and riding bikes. Pool area had good viewing deck of Mont Royal and was a nice area to lounge and visit. Using the room key in the elevator was a bit of a hassle.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville

Address: 380 Sherbrooke Street West, Montreal, Quebec H3A 0B1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Montreal
#20 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#23 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville operates as a full service hotel, with ample underground parking, steam bath, whirlpool, spacious exercise room, indoor roof top swimming pool and outdoor terrace with a fabulous view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-Ville Hotel Montreal
Montreal Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.