We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always a pleasant stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   380 Sherbrooke Street West, Montreal, Quebec H3A 0B1, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #26 of 170 hotels in Montreal
Thornhill Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“always a pleasant stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed at the HGI in December 201 and were back again this past weekend to visit an uncle who is ill. Another enjoyable stay. The front desk is not only friendly but efficient Our room was what we expected, spacious,clean and loaded with amenities, I like the idea of self parking,I don't have to wait for valet service.
The lobby is spacious and the lighting (the large chandelier)is spectacular Congratulations to the hotel manager for running a smooth operation. As Arnold said "Ill be back"..

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    411
    293
    54
    20
    20
See reviews for
221
219
64
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

we stayed at this wonderfull and centrally located property for New Years. The Hotel was very clean and the staff amazing! They had extra security for the evening, including Montreal Police on site, and only registered guests were allowed on the premises, WHAT A GREAT IDEA!!! it was an icreadible 4 days at this property. Highly recomended!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claley, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear Reviewer,
We thank you for choosing our property for your New Years accommodation. We are extremely pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that our initiatives and procedures taken to ensure safety and security were well received. We hope that you will return to our property soon and allow us to opportunity to continue serving your lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stayed here in January and got the 2 Queen beds and bed and breakfast package. It was definitely worth spending the extra 20 bucks for breakfast everyday at the hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The room was spacious and clean. The bathroom was super clean and looked brand new. The room had great up to date decor. I would come and stay here again.

Room Tip: We had asked for a corner room looking over the streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

My partner and I arrived at this hotel in late afternoon of December 31st. Upon checking in we were told that we absolutely had to wear thick blue plastic bracelets for our entire stay. When asking if anything can be substituted for this the hotel manager literally attacked us with enforcement. He began yelling through the entire lobby that rules need to be followed and proceeded to ask us to leave...all because I asked if we can carry the bracelets instead of wear them since they clearly would not have matched our formal attire for the evening out.

As a seasoned traveler I stay in many hotels all over the continent, both for work and pleasure. This was the first time anyone reacted so hostly and rudely to suggestions about a policy.

Perhaps on a regular evening when you don't have to interact with management this hotel is okay, but I would definitely not recommend it on a holiday or a busy long weekend. I suspect they cater to a younger crowd and are used to disrespecting their clients, so beware. Even though the room was tidy and the location was great, this kind of interaction upon checking in would undoubtedly ruin anyone's experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claley, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear Guest,
The procedures that are set in place for New Years Eve are not intended to cause any discomfort or aggravation to our guests, in fact they are in place to ensure that that all our valued guests can benefit from a calm, safe and comfortable night's rest and to avoid any noise disturbance that could occur on the busiest party night of the year for all downtown Montreal hotels. We have taken this initiative for several years now; and it proves to be successful. We hope to have the opportunity to serve your future lodging needs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayed with another family to celebrate the New Year! We noticed that when we checked in there were a lot of people and began to wonder if noise would be a problem. We were greeted and checked in quickly and efficiently. As night time came we noticed ample security guards ensuring that safety and noise level would be controlled by the hotel. We felt safe and slept without any disruption. We also had the opportunity to experience dinner and felt it was exceptionally delicious. The kids had a great time with the salt water pool and the cinema room was made available to them. The room was quite spacious even with our 2 boys sharing our room. We will definitely return next year with our family and friends!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claley, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Dear Reviewer,
We are extremely pleased to hear that you experienced such a wonderful stay for your New Years accommodation. We put in place extra security, staff, and additional policies and procedures to ensure that our guests can benefit from a great stay without the disturbance of noise. It is also wonderful to hear that you were able to benefit from our facilities such as the pool and restaurant. We hope to have the opportunity to serve your lodging needs again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye Brook, New York
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

It was like being stuck on I-95 in New York. Could not believe the tremendous amount of highway construction and the unbelievable traffic jams. Once we got past the trauma and reach our destination...it did not get better. As HH we requested a high floor with a few. Did not get that. Did get a suite (they are all suites). The noise from he HAVC unit necessitated a change of room. It did not get better. Our view was the parking lot in at the back of the hotel. The rooms, however, were appointed well. With kitchenette, conference/dining table and flat screen TVs.

Ventured out to Old Montreal much better for me. Walked a lot got a sense of the melting pot that Montreal is--much like New York City. One thing Montreal has going for them is the crazy amount of bikes for rent. It was a sea of bike lined up waiting for that environmentally friendly tour of the city. If you are into GREEN this is the place for you. We decided to tour on foot.

Room Tip: centrally located, public transportation near by
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011 via mobile

Rooms were as expected, clean and tidy. Temp was good, plenty of room, etc.

My negatives: was given terrible directions from the front desk on where to buy gas - an hour + later, late at night and in the cold weather I found my way back to hotel now with 1/16 of a tank. I then went back to the very same man and told him and he was oh yeah I did tell you to turn and shouldn't have... Lesson learned is to refuel in the US before crossing the border. FYI the gas station is on Sherbrooke about 3 mins down the road, take a right on to Sherbrooke . Secondly I expected overpriced food at the hotel restaurant but I ran down to grab two bagels for my traveling companion and I before we left on a tour and $12 later I had two of the worst bagels ever eaten. Next time run to the Holiday Inn and grab something from their coffee shop - I think they have breakfast sandwiches for $2.99. Or try the cafe across from there - awesome hot chocolate!

Overall nothing wrong with the hotel and their half priced martinis M thru F are a good deal.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claley, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for choosing our property for your recent stay in our city. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall; we do apologize for the confusing directions you received that lead to you getting lost, we appreciate you letting us know. We hope we have the opportunity to serve your future lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville

Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-Ville Hotel Montreal
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-Ville Hotel
Montreal Hilton
Address: 380 Sherbrooke Street West, Montreal, Quebec H3A 0B1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Montreal
#25 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville operates as a full service hotel, with ample underground parking, steam bath, whirlpool, spacious exercise room, indoor roof top swimming pool and outdoor terrace with a fabulous view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.