We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and room for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   380 Sherbrooke Street West, Montreal, Quebec H3A 0B1, Canada (Quartier des Spectacles)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Orlando
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good location and room for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

This hotel has a great centralized location in downtown Montreal. You can walk to shopping on st. catherine and a couple good museums: redpath and museum of fine arts and take a cheap cab ride to Old Montreal. Service was great; the concierge made several dinner reservations for us at my request and offered helpful advice. The building is also one of tallest in Montreal so you can see it from many points in the city (this was helpful to us at the end of our nights as we navigated with a rental car).
The only downside were the bedsheets were not the best; they were more like hospital sheets - weren't very soft and had probably had low thread count. Other than that the room seemed recently upgraded and modern. You have to pay extra for parking but internet is free. Boutique hotels scare me and I think this probably had a better location than the W and obviously cheaper, so I would recommend this hotel. If I visit Montreal again, I will probably try to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claley, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville, responded to this review, May 16, 2011
Dear Guest, We thank you for choosing to stay with us while visiting our beautiful city and for taking the time to review our hotel. As you mentioned, our hotel has a great downtown location which makes it easily accessible and walking distance to most attractions. We are pleased to hear that you had the opportunity to experience Montreal and that you had an enjoyable stay with us as well. We look forward to serving all your future lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    406
    71
    24
    20
See reviews for
311
295
75
231
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Georges, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

We had never been to this hotel before this weekend, and we do not regret our choice at all! The hotel was clean, the staff was friendly and helpful, the room we got was huge and nice, the bed was confortable and there was enough parking underground. And, most of all, the price was not prohibitive! Definitely, we will come back nex time we are in Montreal.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claley, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville, responded to this review, May 16, 2011
Dear Guest, We thank you for choosing to stay at our property for your recent weekend getaway. It is always a pleasure to hear that our valued guests greatly enjoy our property, our customer service, as well as all the great services our hotel has to offer. We are pleased to hear that you will surely return to our property for your next visit to our city; we look forward to serving your future lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and found it to be very clean and comfortable. the bedroom was a great size with 2 queen size beds. The room even had a minrowave and fridge and just along our corridor for 2 dollars you could do your washing and use the dryer. An ironing board and iron were in the room which was very useful to us, since we had been doing a bit of travelling beforehand. The breakfast was adequate with a reasonable choice of eggs and cereals etc. There was a biz centre to use the internet free of charge. The hotel was a 7 min walk from the main street St Catherine for shopping, which is a lovely street with lots of well known shops. The Bay store is even nearer, which is a lovely department store . I would certainly recommend the hotel to anyone and would not hesitate to stay here again. Very friendly and polite staff

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claley, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville, responded to this review, May 16, 2011
Dear Guest, We thank you for choosing to stay with us while visiting our city and for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you had the opportunity to enjoy our amenities and that our downtown location provided you with great accessibility to all that Montreal has to offer! We hope that you will have the opportunity to visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: Socalled "high speed" internet needs to be upgraded; room service food could be tastier.
Verdict: Good hotel: nothing exceptionally negative, but also nothing exceptionally positive.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claley, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville, responded to this review, May 11, 2011
Dear Guest, We thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for choosing to stay at our property while visiting our city. We are pleased to hear that the friendliness of our staff created a positive experience for you during your stay. We would like to mention that we recently upgraded our internet services to improve and increase the speed and connectivity. We hope to have the opportunity to serve your future lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

We had the pleasure of staying here a few days back for a long weekend. The hotel is in a great location, walking distance to Old Montreal and to Mont Royal, if weather is good :) We walked up Rue St. Denis one night (which is very close to the hotel) and were amazed by the restaurants and bars on the street. Had drinks and dessert at Papa's Tapas. It was overpriced and ok. Had dinner at Juliet and Chocolat. It is a must visit for dessert lovers! Had breakfast at Eggspectation, great place, big menu, awesome food! Had crepes at Crepes 2 go (right next to hotel) and was really good! The only issue is its open from 9-2pm only. Had Poutine at La Banquise in Old Montreal. The place came highly recommended and didn't disappoint at all. They had 25 different varieties of Poutine. I can't look at another plate of fries after that! Overall, Montreal is an awesome place to visit. We just picked a bad couple of days to be there. We had one good sunny, cold day, the other days were rainy, with some sleet. But we still had a great time.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claley, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville, responded to this review, May 11, 2011
Dear guest, we thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in our city. It is wonderful to hear that you had the opportunity to experience many of the great restaurants Montreal has to offer. We are also pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our property and were able to benefit from the great downtown location where we are situated. We hope you will have the opportunity to come stay with us again and we look forward to serving your future lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown point
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

We stayed here April 7,8,9 &10. I chose this hotel over Embassy Suites because of the pool. We never ended up swimming but my husband did use the jacuzzi and said it was wonderful. Prior reviews said the pool was small but I thought it was a nice size. Based on prior reviews I was expecting a kiddie pool but I thought it was very nice. The buffet was included in our pirce and was the BEST I've ever been to. One suggestion for the crepes, try something other than chocolate with strawberries every day. I think I saw bananas with nutella somewhere. Anyway, the room was nice. Standard size. Nice view. Two others suggestions. When we arrived, we asked the front desk about local things to do and they directed us to the concierge who was very helpful but it wasn't until the last day that I discovered a rack of brochures hidden around the corner of the front desk near the office meeting rooms while on my way to their computer room to print our boarding passes for the trip home. You can print them from their wifi from your room but that system was temporarily down. Odd that the brochures wouldn't be prominently displayed or that the front desk would not make us aware of them either. They should. Lastly, this happens at all hotels, but it would be nice if you are booking a room for three people to have toiletries for three people in the room when you arrive instead of having to call housekeeping for extras. I had no problems with my bill regarding parking fees like others wrote. I would stay here again if I knew I was going to use the pool and if I were coming in better weather. I will stay at the Embassy Suites if I decide I want a bigger room.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claley, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville, responded to this review, May 11, 2011
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-Ville for your recent stay in our city. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet. We do in fact offer a large variety of items, both continental and hot dishes. We make all our hot dishes cooked to order to ensure premium quality and freshness. We hope that you will have the opportunity to return to our property and enjoy our pool as well as the spacious outdoor terrace that surrounds it and is available to our guests whenever weather permits. We look forward to serving your future lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

This was my second stay at this hotel. I stayed here for one night and was pleased with it this time around too. Good staff who were welcoming and helpful but not in your face, which is good. Rooms seem very big and have a microwave and pretty decent sized fridge which is a good bonus. Beds are also great and i love that you can adjust them. The location is pretty good. Close enough to shopping, food and a subway station although at night the hill you have to walk up is kind of tiring and a bit deserted. Overall a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claley, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville, responded to this review, April 1, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-Ville for your recent visit in our city. We are pleased to hear that you are a repeat guest of our hotel and that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. It is always appreciated to receive positive feedback from our valued guest. We hope to have the opportunity to serve your lodging needs again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville

Address: 380 Sherbrooke Street West, Montreal, Quebec H3A 0B1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Montreal
#17 Business Hotel in Montreal
#23 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville operates as a full service hotel, with ample underground parking, steam bath, whirlpool, spacious exercise room, indoor roof top swimming pool and outdoor terrace with a fabulous view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-Ville Hotel Montreal
Montreal Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.