We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dining in a casual setting where you make new friends” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Liverpool House

Liverpool House
2501 Rue Notre-Dame Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H3J 1N5, Canada (Le Sud-Ouest (Southwest District))
514-313-6049
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #146 of 4,607 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Le Sud-Ouest (Southwest District)
Cross street: Charlevoix
Description: This restaurant specializes in upscale Italian cuisine.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great dining in a casual setting where you make new friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our evening here with great wine, food and table companions . This isn't a pretentious restaurant at all. The chalk board menus means that everyone works together to decide what to eat, which is a great way to meet your dining companions who are sitting very very close to you.but the food and wine were great, the prices reasonable for the size and quality, and the casual environment and friendship was outstanding. The best restaurant we have been to in many years.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    59
    18
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Pricey but delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Lovely crowded restaurant with a long waiting line for reservations. It does get a bit crowded and noisey, even on a Tuesday night. That said, the food was delicious, and the "lamb for 2" special was devine. Past reviews point out to the extraordinary "bloody ceasar" and so I ordered it, but found that it was way too spicy to my liking and hence did not enjoy it. That said the fresh oyster served on top was yummy.

All the food was excellent but what was even better was the service. Attentive, well-informed and gracious ... I look forward to a repeat visit in the very near future.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun, eclectic foodie experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Fun casual atmosphere, eclectic environment, enthusiastic and knowledgeable staff, imaginative chef with emphasis on local produce. Extensive wine list that is always updated. This is a great place for a couple or a boisterous meal among friends. Prices are not cheap but this is one of Montreal's best restaurant experiences.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You won't be disappointed.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

We met friends in Montreal for dinner and after narrowing it down we decided on Liverpool House. It was recommended by my friends co-worker and they were right.
Large, family style seating. Small space and extremely loud. But don't let that deter you it just adds to the experience.
Our waiter was gracious and explained the menu items that our elementary French could not desipher.
We all tried different appetizers, entrees and the one slip up was getting the same desserts.
I don't really recommend the corn flavored ice cream.
My friend tried the Lobster Mac n cheese which is what they are kind of known for. Pretty good stuff.
All in all. Great food, quality is top notch. I'm not going to tell you what to eat but aside from the ice cream everything I tasted was really good. I will certainly go back next time I am in town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This restaurant by the owner of our B&B I'm not sure we would have found it or secured a reservation without him
By some margin the best food we ate during our trip to New York State and Montreal
The lobster linguine was to die for. The staff were extremely knowledgable and obliging - very happy to meet our needs eg when we were torn by main meal choices our waiter offered to split the lobster between two plates meaning we essentially shared all the courses and were able to sample more of the menu than we would otherwise
I would recommend that you book ahead and cycle the Lachine canal the following morning to work it off!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Liverpool House also viewed

Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Liverpool House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Liverpool House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.