We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above average sandwiches served fast in a crowded little bistro” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Olive & Gourmando

Olive & Gourmando
351 Saint-Paul West, Montreal, Quebec, Canada
514 350 1083
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 4,473 Restaurants in Montreal
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout, Dessert
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Above average sandwiches served fast in a crowded little bistro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Great place to have lunch on the go, provided you don't arrive past noon (it gets really busy).

Fine sandwiches and salads, but a bit disapointing in presentation. We were surprised to see them arrive on wax paper in a osier basket. Maybe a little pickle or something? We ordered a "cuban" plus an "apple & ham" something, and they were both good.

My advice to you: order a sandwich + a salad, and then share.

For dessert we had the "red velvet" cup cake and a pacan and chocolate cookie, with 2 capuccinos. Both excellent

Biggest drawback is price. Total bill, including taxes: 62$...
Would I go again? Most likely, just seeing my wife so pleased.

I don't get it though. Why do young and hip women crave these crowded & overpriced sandwich bistros so much? You tell me.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    165
    40
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Warm and welcoming with great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Nice informal place seems to be popular with locals. staff helpful and food is fresh and good. I also ordered an espresso and was served the real deal, short strong tasty coffee which seems to be hard to find on the area. definitely recommended for quick informal lunch

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Overrated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Extremely crowded and loud. Food is ordinary, there were very few options and most were sold out. Ordering at the counter is a bad idea when getting around the restaurant is that hard, as there isn't enough space for the lineup. The only positive was the interesting choice of beer (bottles from excellent microbreweries).

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Original sandwiches and baked foods for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Delicious, original, fresh. A bit pricey, but amazing quality ingredients. Very popular and busy, so you may want to take your order to go. Also, great granola to take home and enjoy. Would go back!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Expensive and disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

We went there for breakfast following the good reviews and it was quite disappointing! Croissants ans brioches are good but that's the only thing they have! Not a big choice, no strawberry jam (only apricot), regular coffee... The service was average, the waitress came and took our toasts while my husband was still eating... This place is way overrated!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Olive & Gourmando also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Olive & Gourmando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olive & Gourmando, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.