We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent everything!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gingerbread Manor Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Gingerbread Manor Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gingerbread Manor Bed & Breakfast
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   3445 Avenue Laval, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3C7, Canada (Le Plateau-Mont-Royal)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct for Best Rate
Ranked #13 of 147 Montreal B&B and Inns
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Excellent everything!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The 2 fine gentlemen who run this place were extremely accommodating. We stayed 4 nights. We had a different breakfast every morning and all were good. Ephraim made my 9 year old and my 15 year old feel at home and at ease. Both Yves and Ephraim are fluent in both French and English - and are always willing to help navigate. Their recos on things to do and see were perfect. Easy walking distance to metro and great restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    212
    33
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
36
138
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Randolph, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Nice location. Lovely breakfast prepared by the warm hosts. They make sure breakfast is different every morning. Rooms are beautifully decorated. They even had a make-up remover in the bathroom, that's how much they pay attention to details.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The bed was so comfortable and breakfast in the morning was delicious. We enjoyed our surroundings, particularly because the B & B was located in a quiet, friendly neighborhood. We chose this place for our anniversary and it fit our needs. If you decide to visit, get up early around 7am (you'll have to grab something to eat on the way), and drive almost 3 hours to Quebec City for an interesting history tour of the Plains of Abraham and beautiful scenery. Returning back to our cozy bed was a welcome treat for us as tired travelers. Oh! Also, there's a street just kiddy-corner from the B & B with restaurants and a convenience store. You can bring your own wine, or selection of alcohol, into the very first restaurant on the left side (looks a little Latin). The food was very good.

Room Tip: If you will be using the bathroom often I would suggest the de Maisonneuve. Otherwise, the Carleton...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Ideal location, near the Metro and all the restaurants of St Denis but on a quiet street. Our room, La Maisonneuve, was large and beautifully appointed. It was a real treat to stay in this lovely old house. Ephraim cooked us a different delicious breakfast every day and we enjoyed the company of the other guests around the breakfast table. Our hosts were very friendly and most helpful.

Room Tip: La Maisonneuve is en-suite and at the back of the house, so great if you like privacy and a quiet ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

After staying at some seven hotels across Canada and not finding a suitable Hotel in the area where we wished to stay in Montreal, we selected the Gingerbread Manor B&B after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor and interested in enjoying a different experience.
Our experience matched up to all the previous reviewers who found it a unique and enjoyable experience- the great breakfasts, great picturesque area, etc etc.
The stand-outs for us as compared to our Hotel experiences was the benefits of receiving local advice regarding restaurants and events as well as enjoying breakfast discussion with our hosts Ephraim and Yves and the other guests from other parts of the world.

The overall value far exceeds any of the Hotels we stayed in and we will certainly be following this up with staying at other B&B's in the future.

We stayed in the room on the top floor rear of the building with its own ensuite bathroom (deMaisonneuve). It was clean, good size with television, wi-fi, and whilst we would have liked a view from the lovely front room window were more than pleased with our selection. We had a little noise from the shared bathroom other guests use adjacent to our room, but it did not extend into a late hour and it is clear guests in B&B are far more considerate than in many of the Hotels we stayed in.

Our stay at the Gingerbread Manor was the highlight of our Canadian accommodation experience. Thankyou to Ephraim, Yves and the other guests we met for a great stay

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Gingerbread Manor last week for two nights, and I was very impressed with the experience.

We were greeted cheerfully at the door, they took the time to give us personal recommendations and advice about where to eat and what to see in the city. Our room (the Carleton) was lovely. I was prepared for small, but pleasantly surprised by how comfortable it felt. Also, having the balcony was a treasure! We spent a couple of hours out there the first night.

The property itself is in La Plateau, a beautiful, hip, historic area of town, and while Gingerbread Manor is within short walking distance to a lovely park (great people watching), as well as a restaurant area, a subway stop, and some busy intersections, the block on which the inn is situated feels quiet and residential.

We also enjoyed the many personal touches--the extensive homemade breakfast menu, the chance to converse with Ephraim about the life of a local, and the many handy little additions in the bathroom. (Makeup remover wipes? Sunscreen? A thick, soft rug? Why, thank you!)

I would highly recommend Gingerbread Manor to anyone who wants a personalized Montreal experience in a beautiful setting. Thank you, Yves and Ephraim!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This was the second time in Montreal and the second time we stayed at Gingerbread Manor. Just like the first time, everything was great. Ephraim & Yves always went out of their ways to make sure we were happy. The room was great and the bed was comfy. The breakfast was tasty and different every morning.

The location cant be beat. Great restaurants and bars right in the area. Public transportation is nearby so getting around town is a breeze.

We felt welcome here and will definitely come back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gingerbread Manor Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gingerbread Manor Bed & Breakfast

Address: 3445 Avenue Laval, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3C7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau-Mont-Royal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gingerbread Manor Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gingerbread Manor welcomes you to Montreal. Located in a manor house built in 1885. This delightful B&B invites you to enjoy a comfortable bed, a wonderful breakfast and Victorian splendour. Located in downtown Montreal near Square St-Louis. Close to most downtown and old Montreal points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, T4B, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Gingerbread Manor Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gingerbread Manor Hotel Montreal
Gingerbread Manor Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gingerbread Manor Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.