We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apollo

Apollo
1333 University | H3A 2A4, Montreal, Quebec H3A 2A4, Canada
514-274-0153
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Apollo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #395 of 4,413 restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $25 - $102
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: St-Catherine
Description: Depuis bientôt 4 ans, nous vous accueillons avec notre formule unique au monde ! Chaque semaine Giovanni et Jean-Michel prépare un menu basé sur le principe de la déclinaison des aliments! N’hésitez pas à apporter vos bouteilles favorites ou vos grands crus… Et n’oubliez surtout pas celles du chef !! (facultatif)
New York, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Yummy food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

The decor in this location was very modern. It appears to be a church turned restaurant. The food was yummy and I loved that they had a few vegetarian options. The bread was so delicious. They make you wait a while for it, because apparently it's made on site, but it is definitely worth the wait.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    74
    21
    15
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Creative food and OKservice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Went with colleagues this week. Service was awfully slow. Food was different although nothing to write to your mother about. The experience all in all was a bit disappointing.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Good location, sophisticated decor, excellent food, good wine selection and polished service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

I like that this restaurant is in the heart of downtown Montreal. Chef Giovanni Apollo is renown in this city and his team is very talented. The staff is very good at describing the various dishes and they are nicely presented. The interior is upbeat and stylish but not overdone and the terrace in the summer is very inviting. The atmosphere is one that lends itself just as well to a business meeting, as a social event. I can see the appeal not only for the business crowd and locals out to socialize, but for the tourists who come to town for Formula 1, the Jazz Festival and various other attractions. Prices are certainly now outlandish.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
“Merveilleuse expérience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

Je suis allée, non pas pour la première fois, chez Apollo en octobre dernier.

L'expérience a été formidable! Nous avons commencé le repas par une décli de fois gras à s'en lécher les doigts.
.
J'ai pris la déclinaison pâtes qui comprenait des ravioles froides sauce pesto, des tagliatelles aux champignons et au chèvre et 2 autres assiettes dont je ne me souviens malheureusement plus.

Ma belle-mère et mon amie ont également été extrêment satisfaite de leur déclinaison agneau et fruits de mer.

Finalement un merveilleux plateau de desserts plus cochons les uns que les autres nous a été apporté et aussi vite terminé.

En un mot, wow! Et le décor épuré chic mélangeant le neuf et l'ancien nous a charmé.

On y retourne c'est certain!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“expensive and food just ok”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

The food is just ok , taste was far from our expectation and some plate look like it they have been re-heat , the creme brulé are not good at all taste like chemical ,i was hoping for better food for the price wouldn t go back or recommand it to friends

  • Visited November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Apollo also viewed

 

Been to Apollo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apollo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.