We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale yet casual and relaxed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vertige

Vertige
540 Duluth est, Montreal, Quebec, Canada (Le Plateau-Mont-Royal)
514-842-4443
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Vertige is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #47 of 4,561 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $25 - $50
Cuisines: French, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Le Plateau-Mont-Royal
Cross street: av. de Chateaubriand
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Upscale yet casual and relaxed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

+ Very friendly service. Our waitress didn't speak English, which took away a bit from the explanations of what we were eating (blind taste), however she was pleasant.

+ Food was very good and well presented.

+ Very charming and intimate atmosphere.

- Bit pricey for what it was.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    24
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Decided to try a new restaurant and was not disappointed. The food was great, the service was equally as good and the atmosphere was just right. I has the beef tartar and the Duck Magret and my wife had the scallops with a Filet Mignon. For desert we shared the "Fondant aux Chocolate". One of the owners Fabia was there and made our evening a hit.
Will definitely be going back, a true gem!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Phenomenal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

We made a reservation for 8 on a Friday night and were seated promptly when we arrived. We started with the black truffle arancini and escargots and then shared the land menu and the duck menu. Everything was superb. One of the best meals I've ever eaten. The service was prompt and attentive but not intrusive. Excellent value as well. They have a lovely gas fireplace that was nice during the cold snap while we visited. It was a little bit loud but overall it was exceptional.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Excellent food, cool atmosphere, cute location - would highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I took my boyfriend here on a trip to Montreal for his birthday and we were both very happy with the experience. We ordered from the group menu which got us each 4 courses. The food was exquisite. I would definitely recommend the beef carpaccio, the coq au vin, and to try dessert! Our mini chocolate cake and dulce veche ice cream dessert was incredible.

The service was very friendly and the timing was perfect even though it was full. The place had a really nice vibe: the music was loud enough to hear but not too loud, the tables were spaced so you didn't feel cramped, and you can leave your coat at the door. We had a table by the window which was nice, the street it is on is cute.

Definitely check it out, I'm very glad that I did. Reservations are probably necessary but they use OpenTable.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

We were promptly seated with our reservation. We immediately loved the ambience, trendy but warm. Waitresses were nice. We ordered one sea discovery course and one land discovery course. Service was on the slower side but maybe thats the way to enjoy these course meals? i had to go to the counter to get the check. If I hadnt, we would have spent a total of 3 hours in there. Which is not a bad thing but I didnt have too much time to spare.

Truly a treat: salmon tartare, beef carppacio, shrimp ravioli in coconut sauce, fancy meatballs with hummus and greens. All perfectly seasoned and delightfully flavored. Wife ordered 6 escargole which was a neat experience.

Main courses were delicious too, though we were fairly full by then and wishing for a little less salt and butter in our veal and scallop dishes. But on their own they are really good dishes as well. Really tender veal chop.

Overall: we went for the course meal and loved what we got. Would I go back? Yes, after trying a few other places too, and saving up some money. Would I recommend this to a first timer friend? for sure.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vertige also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Vertige? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vertige, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.