We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MBRGR

MBRGR
2025 Drummond, Montreal, Quebec, Canada (Ville-Marie)
514- 906 -5747
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,022 of 4,554 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Ville-Marie
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“simply delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The atmosphere is cool, the wait staff is wonderful, the burgers can be as amazing as the toppings you choose. You have plenty of wonderful choices so you really can't go wrong. You may also bump into a Montreal Canadian hockey player... could be fun, if you are a fan.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    62
    34
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“One of the top burger restaurants I've been to worldwide.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

The concept Is simple you pick the meat, the bun the toppings and the side. The choice is difficult. There is a ton of different posibilites. Some classic, some adventurous and some exquisite. The burger can range from 15 dollars up to 100 dollar for those that want wagyu meat with fou gras and white truffle shavings. I had the burger with Monterey Jack cheese. Caramalized onion (that was great but more like onion soup onions and not fried blackened onion) oyster mushroom and bacon. With bbq sauce on the side, and a side of sweet potato fries. The picture tells it all.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
276 reviews 276 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“make your own burger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Pick a type of meat (fish and veggie option too but why would you want to eat at a burger restaurant if you are vegetraion?), pick a type of bun (including lettuce leaves for the carbs conscious), pick a cheese and a few toppings, and get your burger.... the quality is consistently good, and the concept fun. Dont forget to order chips, the basket of chips is big enough for 4-5 people, if less, get the fried sweet potatoes as they are delicious. Service is good. This is a great place to have dinner before oncert and games at the Bell center which is just down the road.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“omg what a burger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Definitely the best burger with a choice of 32 add ins to make it an even yummier burger, will for sure return again

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Uselling was too too much”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Food OK but overpriced, not uncommon in the area, but THE reason to write this review: most obnoxious up=sell on food ever experienced! Managed to be done without first informing customer that they were being upsold!! Scenario went like this: when burger ordered, waitperson asked "is that with the salad or the fries"? Now, a NORMAL person wd have thought that implied either s or f came 'with' the meal. No mention of those being additionally priced items by the wperson. But at M:burger 'with the salad or fries' means...we are giving you the choice of an EXTRA order along with your first order!! But we won't tell you that the extra order is an extra item! A similar story with drinks: teenagers asked for refills (parents rolling eyes at this point as it was OBVIOUS this was not a 'refill' kind of place!); the server did not say 'no refills' but we had already hisssed and signalled to teenagers that it was OK they could get another coke. Well, another coke was produced but ...in a fancy glass bottle, with pretty red paint and an old-fashioned bottle cap!! Parents' antenna up: v. fiercely hissed at offspring -overheard well by server- NOT to touch them as they were more expensive than original coke (even tho there had been no confirmation this was not a refill, and no confirmation the glass bottle wd be more pricey). Ten minutes and several teenager arguments later (and no server in sight) the rotten offspring then DRANK the cokes (under our very noses)! You know what happens next: on the bill the glass bottle cokes were found to be MORE expensive than the original cokes!! We complained of course on paying that the customer (remember those?!!) should be TOLD if the item is more expensive than the first (identical supposedly!) item, and of course told if no refill when 'refill' was requested (which we had deduced all along was the case). Steely-eyed server informed us that indeed, the first cokes had come from a 'large bottle' and therefore was cheaper ... Did not even bother to indicate to us they had ?run out of the larger/cheaper sources of coke and hence had to resort to 'designer' coke; ?that they were capable of somehow doing the math and pricing the glass bottle coke PER OUNCE and passing this increased cost (not listed on the menu of course) along to the chump (sorry) customer? Did server even think that the customer should be/might want to be informed of 'superior priced' coke altho said customer did not request such a rare and special thing?? We paid for the full bill, were not offered ANYTHING in terms of reduction, and the server naturally did not even come close to an apology (or even a decent excuse) when we said the 'upselling' was intrusive, the customer should not be tricked into ordering things on the menu, and should not be tricked into ordering 'premium' products. 'Nuff said: we swore we would write a tripadvisor review. Canadian consumer protection laws prohibit this behaviour, but businesses get away with it b/c they know most ppl cannot be bothered to complain about it. What about a special Montreal-area tourist ombudsperson to deal with this kind of nonsense??!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff D, General Manager at MBRGR, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We were sorry to hear that your experience wasn't what you expected. Our goal is for our guest to leave on a positive note, unfortunately that doesn't happen all the time and we encourage constructive feedback. Once again we apologize for your disappointing experience. We would be happy to further discuss this matter, please contact us at info@mbrgr.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MBRGR also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to MBRGR? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MBRGR, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.