We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Eggs Beni with lots of fresh fruit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Evidence

L'Evidence
3619 saint-denis, Montreal, Quebec, Canada (Le Plateau-Mont-Royal)
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #433 of 4,562 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Continental, Canadian, Bar, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Le Plateau-Mont-Royal
Montreal
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Eggs Beni with lots of fresh fruit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We often walk up from the village to this local resto on a Sunday afternoon for breakfast and it is always great. We try other places for our little Sunday get away and we keep coming back to this unpretentious mostly locals hang out. The breakfast dishes are well prepared with very generous portions, good quality and good value and there is always lots of different fruit piled high on the plate. For us it is a mid day kind of resto and I can only comment on what it is like for breakfast or brunch. The place is always packed, the service ifs friendly and fast and the coffee is always good and hot and fresh. Montreal is short of restos that do a good eggs benedict and here you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    28
    7
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Do Brunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We arrived in Montreal after a six hour drive and our room wasn't available yet, so we went for a stroll and decided to have lunch at one of the nice outdoor tables at L'Evidence. We noticed most people were having breakfast at 2pm, so we went with the crowd and were not disappointed. Each of our dishes were well prepared and they also put a variety of fruits on each dish which was a pleasant surprise. Prices were good and the service was friendly.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great and Unpretentious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We went there because our hotel was nearby, it was late, and we had just arrived in Montreal and we were tired. We expected it to be just so-so. Boy were we wrong. The wait staff could not have been nicer. The menu was some of the freshest food I have ever tasted. We had lentil soup, risotto with duck and mushrooms, avocado and shrimp salad and a pear/apple tart for dessert. Each dish was better than the next. It was such an unexpected gem. We sat outside and watched the passers by on St. Denis--great entertainment. I would recommend this place for a neighborhood treat. When we were done, our waitress recommeded a jazz club down the street, Dieze Onse. Fantatstic! Will write a review of that too.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Breakfast might be a better bet.....skip the couscous !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Had the prix fixe dinner at an outside table on a lovely evening. The server strongly recommended the couscous as a main dish as the chef was apparently moroccan....I do admit she didn't indicate that he was a good moroccan chef.....bland couscous, overcooked chicken, with the only saving grace the merguez sausage (which must have been made by a different moroccan chef ). Dessert was a one inch cube of spice cake, satisfying any calorie-conscious diner. The sausage, as mentioned, as well as a respectable soup course, were the highlights. In fairness, other main course selections may have been far better, and if so, the prix fixe would be good value. The house red was a pleasant surprise, and nicely complemented the poorest offering of couscous I have ever experienced...bottom line...skip the couscous, and don't listen to the server. Next time I'll stick to breakfast, which is clearly their strength if the reviews are accurate.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great plce to Start the Day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

After a long night out, L'Evidence is the answer. Great breakfast (omelette ad eggs benedict recommended), cool atmosphere, and the servers were very friendly. Our waitress took the time to help us plan out our day and gave us some amazing recommendations.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Evidence also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to L'Evidence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Evidence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.