We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Amazing Hotel and Staff!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Crystal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Crystal to your Saves list
Hotel Le Crystal
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1100 Rue de la Montagne, Montreal, Quebec H3G 0A1, Canada (Centre-Ville (Downtown))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off and comp upgrade!
Ranked #11 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Pickering, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing Hotel and Staff!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I pondered several different hotels but so, so glad I chose this one. Where do I start? Well, right from the beginning...the quality and care started with my first call to Hotel Le Crystal and just escalated from there. First off, the location...is fantastic, just below St. Catherine Street and across from the Bell Centre. The suite... we didn't want to come home - the Superior Suite was so spacious with a great view, separate bedroom and a King sized bed, a living room and an extra large bathroom with a rainshower along with a hand held shower. The separate soaker tub was relaxing (yes, I indulged) and the double sinks were very contemporary. We were provided plush robes which we used when we made our way up to the 12th floor outdoor hot tub with a spectacular view of Mount Royal...followed by a dip in the indoor salt water pool and a sauna. We love this hotel! We didn't want to leave our suite but we did want to do a little sightseeing and eventually we also had to eat. Concierge Melyne was so helpful and provided great sightseeing, shopping and restaurant ideas. She offered to make us reservations for dinner at Bevo in Old Montreal (where we received a complimentary dessert courtesy of Melyne) and another front desk staff made reservations for brunch at Vieux-Port Steakhouse (and we received complimentary Mimosas courtesy of our hotel)...and when it was raining, the Bell/Valet Staff offered up umbrellas. We were able to arrange a late check out as we were catching a late train and as we were getting ready to bid adieu, Rudy, the limo driver, offers us a complimentary ride to the train station (it wasn't too far but the gesture was welcomed)...wow, what a fabulous weekend in Montreal. Thank you Hotel Le Crystal and all the staff...Yohann, Mathew, Lucas, Rudy, Anthony (lifeguard), Housekeeping (the rooms were spotless) and of course MeLyne and the others whose names I can't recall. Keep up the great service.

The Grant's will definitely book this hotel again and highly recommend it, especially if you're looking for accommodations that are truly different and special.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric_Hamel, General Manager at Hotel Le Crystal, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Hotel.
Hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    198
    48
    13
    6
See reviews for
171
319
35
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Sometimes one misdemeanour can tarnish your whole stay ... In our case, it was potentially an extreme circumstance. You can be the judge.

My colleague and I arrived at the hotel just before 5pm to check in to two rooms. On this particular Thursday evening there happened to be a Canadiens game - and we were informed that a large party of guests had had late check out that day, so our room was not going to be ready for some time.

The staff did their best to entertain us with free drinks at the bar while we waited. But it seemed like a gesture - we actually felt like we were less important than the others who had been allowed to outstay their welcome, and we had to wait over an hour until our room was ready. To make it worse - the previous guests were the visiting hockey team!

This is a pretty good hotel on the fringe of the downtown. Everything you need is within a few blocks, though this area is a bit soulless compared to the east end of the city. The rooms are comfortable - especially the bed - and the gym/pool is a definite plus.

Room Tip: Definitely request a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingCrystal, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Le Crystal, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear M Melnyk

Thank you for having taken the time to share your comments. We are sorry to read that you felt you were less important than other hotel guests. We always try to do our best to meet the requests of all our guests whenever possible.

As you mentioned, we did offer you a drink at our bar as a sign of apology for the wait, since your room was not yet ready at your arrival.

We are, however pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the comfort of the room and access to the pool and Jacuzzi.

Please note that we have taken careful note of your comments, and will consider them in our continuous strive for customer experience satisfaction.

Hoping to have the pleasure to welcome you in a future visit to Montreal, for a perfect stay this time.

Guylaine
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Excellent location, very modern and confortable. The staff is very pleasant and helpful. The SPA is a plus and if you have the chance to visit the restaurant don't miss the tartar - glorious! The wine list is good but there is room for improvment!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric_Hamel, General Manager at Hotel Le Crystal, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Hotel.
Hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Hotel Le Crystal is located in the business district of Montreal, just a 25 min walk to the Old Port. The suites are tremendous - large separate bedroom, living room, kitchen with Nespresso maker, bathroom with dual sinks, separate shower stall and jacuzzi tub. Everything is modern and well done. The staff is friendly and helpful. Definitely well done all around.

The breakfast buffet is continental - good for a quick breakfast but not very decadent and there were no hot options on the buffet. There was, however, a menu for hot items. Unfortunately, we were in a rush. The fresh fruit was good and the bagels and lox worked too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric_Hamel, General Manager at Hotel Le Crystal, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Hotel.
Hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
153 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We recently had a two night stay at Hotel Le Crystal. Flawless check in, lovely, large well appointed suite, deluxe bathroom. Staff friendly and fluent in both official languages! Many "perks": chilled water handed out on arrival and departure, visually appealing lobby, newspapers available, salt water pool, outdoor hot tub with skyline view, Amerispa and fitness room. Nothing over crowded, quiet at night even with a visiting NHL hockey team there. One downside note, electrical repairs were being done in the wall panel beside our door, with a grocery cart filled with equipment. Yes, work happens even in an upscale hotel,; being notified by management of the disruption (noise) would have been appreciated.

Room Tip: Our suite faced de la Montagne and was not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric_Hamel, General Manager at Hotel Le Crystal, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Hotel.
Hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We decided to book Le Crystal based on the numerous great reviews on TripAdvisor and weren't disappointed. After a 6 hour drive from NYC, stepping into the intimate, scented lobby and being told that we were upgraded to a deluxe suit was a good way to start our weekend at Le Crystal.

The hotel room is well-maintained, spacious and very clean. The bathroom is almost like a spa itself - with two showerheads (one rain, another normal) and a huge soaking tub large enough to accommodate 2. We loved having the kitchenette as it allowed us to heat up leftovers from our eating adventures all over Montreal and enjoy a cup of coffee while gazing out at Montreal's skyline.

Within our 2 night stay, my husband made it his duty to swim as many times as he could at the salt water swimming pool. The room and water temperatures were kept at a warm, tropic temperature and I was almost tempted myself to take a dip.

The staff were friendly and helpful throughout our entire trip and we really enjoyed our stay at Le Crystal.

There are a few downsides to staying at this hotel though:
1) The hotel is located in the downtown area of Montreal. It is not walking distance to any major tourist attractions and a few subway stops away from majority of the good restaurants.
2) The nearest subway is 2 blocks away and is pretty deserted around 8pm at night. It is definitely not dangerous but something that a single woman will probably have to consider while making the trip.
3) Low flush toilets!

However this is just me being nit-picky and we discussed through our stay coming back for a 2nd stay next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric_Hamel, General Manager at Hotel Le Crystal, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Hotel.
Hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed one night (a Saturday) at Hotel Le Crystal, Rue del la Montagne in Montreal. There are a number of very good hotels in Montreal, and I chose Le Crystal (with my wife and friends) as it's close to a number of active streets (St. Catherine's for example) and is a relatively new property. The hotel boasts a 12th floor (top floor) pool with a roof-top spa (hot tub) which we just loved sitting on top of Montreal's skyline on a beautiful night. The rooms were especially clean, nice layout and top of the line lighting and hardware. A fantastic HUGE shower!! A small refridge with sink and plates & glasses helped serve up some of the local cheese we sampled with apples & wine before heading out for the night. I stay in lots of hotels, and Le Crystal has to be the quietest property I have stayed in in many years. The staff is super friendly, helped us map out our routes to/from Metro as we wanted to take in the entire city including Botanical Garden, Chinatown, Little Italy and Old Montreal. In about 36 hours we accomplished every item on our Montreal checklist. We didn't try the hotel restaurant, and I'm sure it was quite good, but will do so on our next promised return. We will absolutely return to Le Crystal. I'm not one to hand out "Excellent" rating, but I truly believe Le Crystal (the property & staff combined) earned this one.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric_Hamel, General Manager at Hotel Le Crystal, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Hotel.
Hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#8 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 660 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Ritz-Carlton Montreal
Ritz-Carlton Montreal
#1 of 163 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 stars 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
Hotel Bonaventure Montreal
#41 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 stars 1,330 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sofitel Montreal
Sofitel Montreal
#14 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,223 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#23 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 stars 1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Crystal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Crystal

Address: 1100 Rue de la Montagne, Montreal, Quebec H3G 0A1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#5 Business Hotel in Montreal
#8 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#10 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Le Crystal 4.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
** Visit our new La Coupole - laurentian bistro. Improve ambiance, great lounge, nice terrace and delicious meals. New concept starring Quebec's produce. During your stay at our five-star Montreal hotel, be sure to make time for the indoor saltwater pool, outdoor hot tub and Swedish sauna on our 12th floor rooftop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TravelClick, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Le Crystal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Crystal Hotel
Le Crystal Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Crystal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.