We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of Montréal hotels!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Crystal

Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Crystal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Le Crystal
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1100 Rue de la Montagne, Montreal, Quebec H3G 0A1, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 164 hotels in Montreal
Grand Cayman
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best of Montréal hotels!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We return to Montréal twice a year to visit family and enjoy North America's most interesting and vibrant city -- and won't stay anywhere but at Le Crystal. In fact, we check their availability before setting our travel dates. It's excellently located, and offers the service and comfort we need, and we invariably book an executive suite, with kitchenette and balcony. Two full bathrooms including a superb and spacious main one with oversized tub plus shower stall. And, during colder weather, the suite also offers a fireplace. We have always found the service warm, efficient and informative, with people around to help at any time of the day and night. La Coupole, the restaurant on the premises with outdoor terrace, is also an excellent choice, in a city which offers the best dining in North America. Over the years we lived in Montréal and have returned to visit, we've experienced many of the city's hotels, but Le Crystal is by far the best!

Room Tip: All room options are great, but if the budget allows -- and they are quite reasonable for what they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    334
    140
    38
    13
    5
See reviews for
116
220
28
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The Crystal is a solid choice however it doesn't go further. It is the tiny details that make all the difference. There are coffee and tea facilities in the room but no milk (coffee mate is no substitute). The children shared the sofa bed in the suite but there was no turn down service so when we arrived back with two very tired children we had to pull out the sofa bed and take pillows from the main bed. Like I said these are not big things but they make a world of difference. The rooms however are a good size and it is right in the hub of the shopping area, cinema nearby. Staff are pleasant and helpful and you are won't be disappointed if you stay here but it could be even better with very little extra effort.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galena IL
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We were looking for a different place after the Hotel De La Montagne closed and this property (quite a different feel of course) looked to combine the same advantages of location (near Crescent (dining) and St Catherine street (shopping). Turns out it's a lovely, modern, and very comfortable place to stay with all you'd expect of a luxury hotel at a reasonable price. The free internet isn't "high speed" but adequate for browsing if not Netflix. There is a high speed option at a cost. Check in and out was efficient. We had an excellent dinner in the hotel restaurant (reviewed elsewhere).

Net, looks like we've got a new place to stay when we visit Montreal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed here couple nights and really enjoyed the property. Luxury boutique with a very different approach then others. The rooms are well appointed and have everything you need. Oversized bathrooms with large soak in tub and rain shower. Molten brown products including bath salts was nice addition. The kitchenette was nice to have and there was a sitting/living area. The hotel is close walk to subway metro station and St Catherine's however far walk to old Montreal. The bed is one of the most comfortable ever slept on, firm yet plush and there are faux fur throws as well. Service from front desk team, concierge to valet is exceptional and they all take great pride in jobs. Any requests or issues are dealt with quickly and happily. The restaurant attached had a great table d'hôtel menu with unusually large portion sizes. Very beautiful chandelier in dining room. Very casual approach to fine dining. The pool deck area is the best feature, great tanning area and hot tub with stunning views. Salt water indoor pool and sauna. Would definitely return and looking forward to next time...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Hill, VA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed in a junior suite which was huge, but at a very reasonable price. Unlike many upscale hotels, the prices for food, valet parking and wifi (free) were very reasonable. Location was good. We were able to walk almost everywhere from the hotel. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. I definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

My family and I stayed at Le Crystal for two nights during a visit to Montreal. We had earlier rung and told them that we would be arriving early and if they would mind getting our rooms ready for when we arrived, which they did at no extra charge. Check in was very swift and the receptionists were very polite.

The hotel itself is right in the centre of town near very glamorous and plush, beautifully decorated and it even has its own unique fresh scent when you walk in! Our rooms were clean, nicely furnished and reasonably sized, with a kitchenette area and large bathroom, as well as a door in between the main living area and bedroom which worked perfectly for my siblings and I as two of us could watch TV in the evening while the other went to bed early undisturbed.

During our stay we also got to use the hotel facilities - we visited the hotel restaurant on the first night and used an offer I found on the restaurant's facebook page - 2 for 1 on the set menu on sunday and monday evenings - which worked out very well for our family of five. Food was delicious and service like the rest of the hotel was excellent. At the top floor there was a pool which was lovely, very clean and the jacuzzi on the roof terrace was also divine. The lifeguards were also very attentive, giving us icy water with lemon to cool down with as we sunbathed in the heat. On the second day we had a problem with our safe, I called down to reception, went to my parent's room to get some sun cream, came back and the repairman had arrived - very quick indeed!

Overall, this hotel is one of the nicest I have ever visited and I only wish I could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Loved this hotel. Very modern, great service, ideal location for business or shopping. Amazing restaurant and spa on site. The rooftop hot tub and lounges have a fantastic view of the city and are a great place to relax. If only they had a bar on the rooftop!

Prices are actually pretty good for a 5 star and I'd say its the best bang for your buck in the city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Le Crystal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Crystal

Address: 1100 Rue de la Montagne, Montreal, Quebec H3G 0A1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#10 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#17 Family Hotel in Montreal
#17 Business Hotel in Montreal
#17 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Le Crystal 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selected as a Top 25 Luxury Hotels in Canada for 2013 by trip Advisor, and the top Montreal Hotel in this same selection, Hotel Le Crystal is Montreal’s newest Five Star Chic Urban Metropolitan hotel exemplifying the spirit of Montreal in a central downtown location. With its architecturally winning design and elegant amenities Hotel Le Crystal offers an astonishing array of first class facilities and services for business, leisure and group guests. Features include: luxurious suites; haute cuisine restaurant (Restaurant La Coupole);a new wine bar with a great selection of wine by the glass and appetizers, a 6000 square feet of state of the art conference space with Crestron technology; spacious reception rooms; huge full service spa; state-of-the-art gym equipment; saunas; indoor salt water pool; all year exterior hot tub; heated parking; free wifi throughout; hypoallergenic beds and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jetsetter, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Le Crystal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Crystal Hotel
Le Crystal Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Crystal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.