We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT WHAT WAS PROMISED” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Crystal

Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Crystal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Le Crystal
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1100 Rue de la Montagne, Montreal, Quebec H3G 0A1, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 164 hotels in Montreal
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“NOT WHAT WAS PROMISED”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We show up at this hotel expecting it to be a 5 star based on reviews and most of all the pictures, NOPE, a huge wooden panel over half of the loby. Why don't they tell you this! Then when I checked in I told her "this is our first time in Montreal and I picked this place because of the reviews and pictures, so make sure we have a great view in our room" WE looked at yet more construction out the window. OH and NO mirrors except one in our bathroom. REALLY!! If this is a 5 star I will never stay at one again. Or I would tell you if you go there tell them you do not want room 610! And we had to ask for them to fill up our tea and coffee everyday. What! NO impressed!!

Room Tip: Call and ask if they lied with pictures!!! Or are they under construction. It made me very sad!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrystalGM, General Manager at Hotel Le Crystal, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear sdcotter,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your comments with us. We would like to highlight a few facts: we have a 3000 square foot marble lobby with lounge area, wine bar, business center and the reception desk. We had indeed closed 80 to 90 square feet of this space for a couple of weeks in order to incorporate new technologies to our reception desk and improve guest services. This modification optically integrates our reception desk to the lobby. While we are disappointed to read that you were not happy with suite 610, we would like to underline that 610 has absolutely no construction and faces south west. When looking west, we can see a nearby construction site that has no interference with our hotel. The 475 square foot urban suite that was assigned to you is exactly the suite type you had booked and corresponds to all elements on its description if not more. It has a 100 square foot bathroom with two sinks, a separate living room with a kitchen providing a Nespresso machine and complimentary coffee. Not to mention our complimentary internet in the entire hotel, the 12th floor Oasis featuring an indoor pool, outdoor jacuzzi, saunas and a gym with a spectacular view of downtown Montreal. All these elements were delivered.

Again, thank you for your comments and we invite you to contact us directly to ensure we exceed your expectations.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    332
    140
    38
    13
    5
See reviews for
115
220
28
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Such a beautiful hotel! Nice decorations. computers in lobby area for free use and you can print for free too. Excellent service and concierge. Rooms are big and bathroom (shower & tub) awesome!! Good and easy location toget to...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastCoast
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This well known hotel is just wonderful. We liked its location- close to metro stop, close to St Catherine street, a fun shopping area. Montreal is big, I can't really say that it is in the middle of everything, but it is really convenient with a beautiful view up the mountain.

The hotel is modern, clean, and quiet. The staff are superb and bilingual (as are most people in this section of the city...a big plus for us)

A small upscale restaurant, bar, roof-top pool are all great. We didn't do much with the spa etc...looked lovely.

The rooms were far more spacious than in most large American cities, especially NYC. We paid just over 200 per night, also on the low side in comparison with comparable city hotels. We chose valet parking, not cheap at 33 per night, but super quick and friendly service with unlimited access to your car.

We would definitely recommend this, and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Very good location for shopping on Rue Ste-Catherine or going to events at the Centre Bell. The urban suite room was perfect for me (an early riser) and my husband (a night owl). A sliding door separated the bedroom from the suite's sitting area, so we could each do our own thing while the other slept. Service was terrific, especially Paul who was happy to help with luggage, ice (the staff brings it for you), bottles of water on our arrival, etc. Some lovely touches: the kitchenette with microwave, electric kettle, and espresso maker; a big bowl of apples in the foyer; the glassed-in shower with "rain" shower head as well as handheld sprayer; the hot tub on the roof with a view of the city and Mont-Royal. Wifi was free and reliable. Valet parking is pricey at 33$ CAN/night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, U.A.E.
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

My daughter Bebhinn, recommended we stay in this hotel & what a wonderful suggestion. The hotel is beautiful & our suite had everything one could wish for in any hotel. The accommodation was great & the service was wonderful. Our every request was dealt with efficiently & pleasantly. The pool & health centre on the 12th floor looked out over Montreal. The hotel is conveniently located within easy reach of most city centre attractions. If I ever get back to Montreal, I will certainly try to stay again at Le Crystal.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Greenwich
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This hotel has a great location right on Rue de la Montagne in the heart of Montreal.....not the old townI. had a great suite with kitchenette and my own Nespresso machine. The was great as I could make a coffee without any effort in the morning. They also brought my unlimited coffee cartridges for free!

Everything works well and it there is a problem, they fix it right away. For the valet parking service, they are extremely fast about getting your car for you. Also, the hotel is quiet and i did not hear any noise at all.

My only very small issue was with the morning breakfast drive....there is not really one person who takes care of you. I

Room Tip: Get a suite if you can and make sure that you have the Nespresso machine in your room....if you drin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We had an overnight stay at the Crystal before getting our flight back to Europe. We arrived early at the hotel but still got our rooms and were lucky enough to be upgraded. The room was more like a small appartment with a sitting area, separate bedroom and large bathroom and a kitchenette. Being situated on the upper floors there was no noise from the street below.
The situation is ideal for retail therapy on Catherine Street and in the underground shopping malls!
The weather was particularly bad in late May and so it was good to be able to stay in the dry!
Plenty of places to eat in the vicinity too.
We had breakfast at the hotel and I thought the choice on the buffet was a bit restricted even if the pastries were nice!
Professional and efficient service on the front desk and from the concierge.
All in all a good address in Montreal!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Le Crystal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Crystal

Address: 1100 Rue de la Montagne, Montreal, Quebec H3G 0A1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#10 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#17 Family Hotel in Montreal
#17 Business Hotel in Montreal
#17 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Le Crystal 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selected as a Top 25 Luxury Hotels in Canada for 2013 by trip Advisor, and the top Montreal Hotel in this same selection, Hotel Le Crystal is Montreal’s newest Five Star Chic Urban Metropolitan hotel exemplifying the spirit of Montreal in a central downtown location. With its architecturally winning design and elegant amenities Hotel Le Crystal offers an astonishing array of first class facilities and services for business, leisure and group guests. Features include: luxurious suites; haute cuisine restaurant (Restaurant La Coupole);a new wine bar with a great selection of wine by the glass and appetizers, a 6000 square feet of state of the art conference space with Crestron technology; spacious reception rooms; huge full service spa; state-of-the-art gym equipment; saunas; indoor salt water pool; all year exterior hot tub; heated parking; free wifi throughout; hypoallergenic beds and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jetsetter, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Le Crystal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Crystal Hotel
Le Crystal Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Crystal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.