We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Crystal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Crystal to your Saves list
Hotel Le Crystal
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1100 Rue de la Montagne, Montreal, Quebec H3G 0A1, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off & comp upgrade!
Ranked #14 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Monsey, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed for one night in this hotel. It had amazing huge glass window with a beautiful view. The suite was spacious and modern. Great location at the heart of downtown Montreal. Only little blip experienced was the concierge was meant to order us a white limo to pick us up after our wedding, and it never arrived, when we finally got back in touch with them they sent us a black one.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    158
    40
    12
    5
See reviews for
128
239
31
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We booked our stay weeks in advance but when we arrived, they didn't have our reservation. Luckily they had available rooms so they were able to fix the reservation. The front desk and concierge/bellmen staff were friendly.

Our reservation included "surprises" in our room, we weren't sure what they were. My husband called reception and they were a little rude ("Can't your see anything???" to which he replied "What am I looking for?"). Turns out the "surprises" were wine and roses - we thought that the wine was part of the mini bar stock and the flowers were standard decor.

The room itself was fine. The main room had a small table with 2 chairs, love seat, TV, and small kitchenette.

The bedroom had a queen bed, club chair, and desk. The TV was on a cabinet at the foot of the bed but my husband, who's tall, kept knocking it with his feet and he was afraid he'd knock the TV off in the middle of the night. The phone in the bedroom didn't work.

The bathroom was nice - double sink, large tub, large shower. Lots of towels and a lot of nice toiletries which I always like!

Included with our reservation was a continental breakfast which we didn't enjoy. The selection wasn't great, bottled juice was warm, dishes were dirty, glass was cracked, etc. However the service was good.

The location was very good, just a few blocks from St. Catherine and shopping.

Overall this hotel was nice but for the price, I really was expecting more. I would definitely check out other hotels before staying here again. Our friends stayed in a hotel nearby that was half the price but just as nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The hotel is quite new offering very contemporaneous and confortable rooms to the guests. I've stayed at the 1002 a small nice suite with kitchnet and a Nespresso machine with coffe capsules refurnished everyday, included in the rate. Nice from the hotel. Small investment that makes a big difference to the guests that like me like to wake-up very early to check mails an do some business work before 6 AM. Breakfast at the retaurant, (very helpfull employees) but with litle offer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony in the upper floors. The view is great and city noise muc lower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I was fortunate enough to spend around 6 months living in Montreal and found it to be the most wonderful City. I stumbled across this hotel which had recently opened then after a colleague had found it a few blocks from the office. We were getting a bit tired of the Fairmont by then.

The rooms are not huge but more than adequate and the rooms are quite well designed. The bathroom and shower are fabulous and the bed very comfortable. The staff are more than friendly, I couldn't fault any of them, whether it was the lovely Justine on the reception or the concierges', they just looked after you with a smile on their face.

Overall a great place to stay and if your there regular enough you may even see the odd star (Lewis Hamilton and Monica Baccarin were my highlights!)

Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My wife and I booked this hotel for our first wedding anniversary. We made our decision based on the roof-top hot tub. We were heart-broken to find out on our first evening that the hot tub was broken and would be for our entire stay. It was unfortunate that the front desk wasn't aware of this at the time of check in when we asked what time it was open till and planned our evening around it. That being said, the manager and staff were great and refunded our first nights stay without question. Because of the customer service, we will definitely come back here on our next visit to Montreal, assuming their hot tub is working :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

The name gives an interesting indicator of the kind of place this is, it has many different facets. The rooms are spacious with modern decor and large windows. The bathroom had an enormous shower with molton brown products which I am partial to. Our room (and I think all rooms) also had a kitchenette with sink, microwave, cupboard space, hob and granite work surface! For a longer stay I imagine this would be a great resource (but may put off some who can't bare to think of housework while on vacation! You can guess which camp I inhabit). The bed was housed in its own separate interior room so I was a little disappointed it had no exterior window (I felt it a pity that somehow the layout could not be organised better given the money spent on the interiors). The living area with couch and table and chairs was great. The hotel is not that high up so views are not very impressive. High marks for the swimming pool on the highest floor and there is a hot tub overlooking the city! The gym is small but well located near the pool with a good view. We stayed in a pricey deluxe but surely Montreal has something with a bigger kick at this end of the market. The executive suite did look impressive and it's bedroom did have its own window. I did not like the tv at the end of the bed in the superior rooms. Time to think about installing those cabinets that a tv can sink into rather than sit looming at ones feet; it's a small gripe but indicative of the design team not thinking all the details through (like the interior bedroom). Overall a high end experience but lacking some of the pazazz promised by the sparkling name!


  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Montreal turned out to be not our favourite city and we weren't there for long; so I can't easily judge Le Crystal's location but it seemed pretty central in a not very attractive town. The hotel was "adequate" rather than warm and inviting and first impression (reception) was again no more than adequate.

Le Crystal would seem to be a business hotel rather than a tourist holiday hotel and so we, being at leisure, were somewhat underwhelmed. The room - an Executive Suite with balcony - was fine rather than amazing but certainly no complaints. The one clear weakness was the restaurant - an attitude from staff at my lunchtime business meeting which was a mix of snooty disdain and lack of interest. Snooty disdain really doesn't do it for me - an apparent attitude of "are you important enough to be graced with our favour?" won't impress at all and merely annoys. The staff's attention was instead focussed on what seemed to be business lunchtime regulars and one got the impression that with basic rather than fluent French I was an irritation.

The restaurant food was excellent, the restaurant staff poor.

I wouldn't want to put you off if you're considering Le Crystal (I'd previously had wonderful help from them when booking) but if you're looking for luxury and personal attention the overall rating is merely adequate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Crystal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Crystal

Address: 1100 Rue de la Montagne, Montreal, Quebec H3G 0A1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#10 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#12 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#13 Business Hotel in Montreal
#14 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Le Crystal 4.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selected as a Top 25 Luxury Hotels in Canada for 2013 by Trip Advisor, and the top Montreal Hotel in this same selection, Hotel Le Crystal Hotel features include: luxurious suites; Bistro La Coupole with the best heated terrace in Montreal, a 6000 square feet of state of the art conference space; spacious reception rooms; huge full service spa; state-of-the-art gym equipment; saunas; indoor salt water pool; all year exterior hot tub; heated parking; free wifi throughout; and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Le Crystal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Crystal Hotel
Le Crystal Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Crystal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;