We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mordern, spacious hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Crystal

Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Crystal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Le Crystal
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1100 Rue de la Montagne, Montreal, Quebec H3G 0A1, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 168 hotels in Montreal
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Mordern, spacious hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

The modern design of this hotel works. Its not the usual "modern" which is code for can't-be-bothered-to-do-the-detail. Hotel le Crystal manages to be attractive and have a great attention to detail, from the well-stocked fridge, to a well-equiped bathroom, to an attractive top floor pool and spa. The family suite was spacious, comfortable and attractive.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    339
    138
    39
    13
    5
See reviews for
114
214
28
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful and chic with all the amenities. Nice location as well.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Booked this hotel as a package through Orbit with flight and accommodations. I was a little worried about cost and having never been to Montreal, about location, but in the end what a perfect choice and well worth the cost. We received a discount for booking as a package and that made it affordable. The room was magnificent (a one bedroom suite) and the location was in the heart of everything. We went to Montreal as treat for out anniversary and end of the school year (both teachers). The front office staff were friendly and helpful (everyone we met at the hotel and in the area were fully bilingual) and presented a number of options for sights and food. The Montreal jazz festival was five blocks done St. Catherine's - three metro stops in a three block radius, close to everything -mostly walked everywhere. Restaurants on the same street were excellent - tried out three and two others only blocks away and never had a bad meal. The spa and pool were beautiful with a full time lifeguard and all the amenities provided. Overall a great hotel and wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

Very nice view jacuzzi with a swimming pool. Located in the center of downtown, closed to the bell centre and main shopping mall only one block away.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Traveled with my wife and two daughters (12 & 9) to Montreal in mid-June and stayed in a 1 bedroom suite at Le Crystal. Great hotel in a wonderful location. Plenty of restaurants just outside from hotel and as you make your way down to St. Catherine's, which is the main street with shops and restaurants in downtown Montreal. The hotel itself is well appointed and maintained. If I were to return to Montreal and needed a large suite, I would select Le Crystal. If I just needed a regular room, I would probably try a different hotel just to try something new, but would stay in the same downtown area. Downtown is quite active both during the day and at night and Old Montreal, which is really a day-time location, is a 5 minute drive away. The staff (front desk and valet guys) was very helpful and pleasant to deal with.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

This is a pretty nice hotel! Location is perfect! the rooms are nice and the beds are confortable but the gem of my visits used to be the Spa visits!

I've been booking treatments at this spa every time I stayed at this hotel in the summer periods! it used to be amazing! Getting pamperred before going out and enjoying what Montreal has to offer.

This year has been quite disapointing! They seem to have changed the ownership of the spa or something, and its just not the same ambience anymore! Common people! its a spa, why so serious? So stressed? The staff seemed confused not sure of which room to direct me to, they did not even have any relaxing music playing during my massage- which wasn't that great either!

Next year, I might think of trying a new place.

Room Tip: the higher the room the better the view :)))
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hotel Le Crystal, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Dear Yuliapik,

Thank you for your review on Hotel Le Crystal. I see, and appreciate, that you rated the hotel an overall 4.3 out of 5 but you overrode this score as a 2. You are penalizing our hotel, which you said was quite good, due to a separately managed business. This being noted, the ownership of the previous spa did change slightly and we opted to lease the spa space to Amerispa who have an excellent reputation in hotel spa services. I will advise the spa manager about your feedback will full confidence they are fully capable to provide excellent spa experiences. Given the transition was recent, perhaps there are adaptations. The spa physically has not changed at all from previous and we still have our 12th floor and outdoor hot tub, a unique feature for any hotel spa in Montreal to offer.

We sincerely appreciated your review and feel free to let us know if you plan to return. I feel the hotel was shorted by your overall rating of 4.3 versus your override selection of 2 due to a business we do not manage yet a physical space superior to any Montreal Hotel Spa.

Thank you, Merci.

Geoff Allan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

It's a really nice hotel, but I think the incredible reviews made my expectations too high. This is not competitive with the luxury brands. This is much better than the average Embasssy Suites, but it's not over the top luxury.

The Pros:
Great location. Tons of places to eat and shop all within easy walking distance. The suites are very spacious and well appointed. Easily enough room for a family. If you are in town for a few days you may appreciate the frig (which you will share with the mini bar) and the microwave. Great bathroom. The amenities are nice. There are nice touches throughout. Plenty of drawer space if you here long enough to unpack. Great place.

The Cons:
The staff is nice, but not overly helpful. A treadmill was broken, I pointed out to a staff member and his exact words to me were "well, do you want me to call someone?" I dunno. Maybe. The workout room is good, but not great. Two treadmills & two ellipticals. Not quite enough. The mattress is very European (harder than what the average person from the US is used to.) There just isn't a super romantic vibe here, but a family would love it.

This place is cool, and I don't want to take that away from it. However, it's not the Ritz. It's not the Hotel Vogue. Its not a Kimpton. It's a super alternative to an Embassy Suites, Residence Inn, etc. I really think I would have loved this hotel had my expectations not been so high. As it is, I really liked it, but might check out a few other places before staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hotel Le Crystal, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Dear AnotherHoustonian,

Thank you for your time to have composed your review for Hotel Le Crystal. In particular, thank you for trying to love us... we really hope you will in due course!

Couple of comments to your observations. Thank you for the rooms commentary. The base bed is indeed a firm mattress, we offer 2 other mattress tops for medium and soft. We are sorry this option was not brought to your attention. The response to the broken treadmill is disappointing. The only full time staff member nearby is a lifeguard with an outsourced agency hence this may have been the indifference in the reply as they may not have known who to contact. We do have maintenance on site 24/7 and this usually would be fixed asap with a smile. I will add a technical support extension in the gym as a result of your commentary. Your commentary stated our gym equipment includes two treadmills and two ellipticals. That is inaccurate. Our 12th floor downtown view gym includes 2 treadmills with integrated televisions, 2 ellipticals with integrated televisions, 2 bikes, 1 rowing machine, 2 multi function dynamic weight machines, bar bells and varied weights, UFC traction straps for stretching, balance fixtures and resources, complimentary water, music, television and located next to our huge 12th floor terrasse, pool and hot tub.

You compared us to premium brands for expectation level - we offer more amenities than teh other premium brands in Montreal and with exceptional value pricing you will not find at the premium brands you mentioned. Being compared to an Embassy Suites is not a reasonable comparison for the facts of our amenity infrastructure, staffing ratio, food & beverage offering, meeting floor facilities and terrasses, 2 complimentary business centres and business bistro, not to mention 3 building security access levels to ensure superior guest safety, to name a few features.

I will take this opportunity to also point out that as an independent hotel run by ex-brand personnel from premium class properties we are one of the most stringent hotels for cleanliness. We own our own certification standard called Crystal Platinum Level which assures you of impeccable standards such as a bed where all linen is 100% cleaned for you. This alone is a feature no other hotel offers, especially at our price point.

Hence I am sorry you don't love us yet, but we hope you will when you sense our subtleties. We believe in humility, excellence and confidence in what we do and tend to also believe that subtle elegance should not make too much noise to be discovered, in good time.

Thank you again for your comments,

Geoff Allan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Le Crystal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Crystal

Address: 1100 Rue de la Montagne, Montreal, Quebec H3G 0A1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#10 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#17 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#18 Family Hotel in Montreal
#20 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Le Crystal 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selected as a Top 25 Luxury Hotels in Canada for 2013 by trip Advisor, and the top Montreal Hotel in this same selection, Hotel Le Crystal is Montreal’s newest Five Star Chic Urban Metropolitan hotel exemplifying the spirit of Montreal in a central downtown location. With its architecturally winning design and elegant amenities Hotel Le Crystal offers an astonishing array of first class facilities and services for business, leisure and group guests. Features include: luxurious suites; haute cuisine restaurant (Restaurant La Coupole);a new wine bar with a great selection of wine by the glass and appetizers, a 6000 square feet of state of the art conference space with Crestron technology; spacious reception rooms; huge full service spa; state-of-the-art gym equipment; saunas; indoor salt water pool; all year exterior hot tub; heated parking; free wifi throughout; hypoallergenic beds and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Jetsetter, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Le Crystal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Crystal Hotel
Le Crystal Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Crystal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.