We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le St-Martin Hotel and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Le St-Martin Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
Le St-Martin Hotel and Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 Maurice Gauvin St, Laval, Quebec H7S 2P1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Laval
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lecco, Italy
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

i've been there for a business trip, the rooms are clen and spacious, you have more than you need. breakfast was very very good. the prices of the minibar are really high, stay far. there is a shopping centre and a couple of supermarkets in a walk distance. it's a little bit far from nightlife.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    71
    9
    9
    3
See reviews for
47
74
4
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Top Contributor
405 reviews 405 reviews
265 hotel reviews
Reviews in 170 cities Reviews in 170 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

A very nice business hotel, which comes across as a ‘jewel in the rough’ considering it’s location in Laval. They have succeeded at giving the impression that this is a country inn, worthy of a weekend getaway, and not a plain suburban hotel at the side of a highway. The rooms are beautiful and are impeccably laid out, with plenty of bottled water and wine throughout. Having classical music softly playing on the radio when I entered was a nice touch. The breakfast was free (unlike other comparable hotels nearby). It was decent, however no meat was offered with the eggs. I would definitely make this place my home base whenever working or visiting Laval. 8/10

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times a year for the last 4-5 years, and always been satisfied. The two bed rooms are quite large, very clean and even had double bathroom sinks this year. The room amenities are modern and the only negative would be a bit of noise cumming from the other rooms and passage way. There is no restaurant but there are plenty within walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I was put up here for business for 5 days. I had already stayed at the St Martin in Montreal for pleasure and did not have the best experience. I do believe that this St Martin in Laval is the original and was looking forward to giving it a try. From the start this was a completely different experience.

Reception
Check in was smooth and we were even upgraded to a suite since there were no more regular rooms. Receptionist was very friendly and perfectly bilingual.

Hotel
Hotel is very nice, with a little lobby bar and an outdoor terrace area

Rooms
Room was very nice, as was expected. The bed was incredibly comfortable as were the pillows. The only issue was that the bed frame was larger than the mattress which meant that I banged into it on average of three times a day.

Area
There's lots of restaurants nearby, but besides that this is not the nicest area. The hotel is somewhat of a pleasant sanctuary among strip malls and fast food joints.


There is one thing about the St Martin that jumps out at you, it is the fact that your room is littered with snacks, wine, chocolates, etc with price tags on them..There is even a reminder in the bathroom that the pillows and mattresses themselves are for sale. Despite this, I would recommend this Laval location for the St Martin.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S West, England
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We only stayed one night, en route from Ottawa to Quebec., this is close to Montreal. No complaints about the rooms. Very nice modern, clean, spacious, touch of luxury. They were adjoining, as requested. Good included breakfast and free parking. Pool a bit small. The only downside is that the area around isn’t great. Bit industrialised. Having no restaurant in the hotel we had to go out searching for one. We walked through the nearby MacDonalds car park with some dodgy looking characters in it to get to Younni’s Restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonawanda, new york
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I was awed by the reviews. Wife, myself and two children for a two night summer stay. No pool to speak of (tiny outdoor pool the size of a sauna, and not in use during our stay because of a wedding party). Room was about as expected. 25th wedding anniversary for us, called ahead and alerted the desk to this, and nothing mentioned, nothing catered to. By contrast, same example in Toronto for our 20th, and staff at Royal York mentioned this at check-in, called later to see if everything was alright, and whether they could make ipany special reservations for us that weekend. Small tokens, but much appreciated. And, frankly, from all the rave reviews of this hotel, certainly thought a similar experience might have occurred. Instead, this was a pedestrian experience at best. We felt very mediocre, nothing the staff did stood out, and we could have had the same family experience at a much more pedestrian hotel chain.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We recently stayed for 4 nights and were quite pleased with the room, the hotel amenities and location. Rooms were very clean, large and beds were comfortable. The croissants at breakfast are huge and very good. The eggs were real and buttery. As mentioned in some of the other reviews, the breakfast area is small (maybe seats 50 people at one time) and can be crowded at peak times. But in good weather there is an outside patio where one can enjoy breakfast. We wished there had been some type of meat or cheese at breakfast, but otherwise it was fine. Plenty of cereal, muffins, breads, yogurts, etc...and the coffee was great. My husband and I did use the indoor whirlpool but wished it were a hot tub instead. Staff at reception were very helpful and pleasant. We would stay there again. A short drive to the Metro. Plenty of attractions nearby as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which faces the outside pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le St-Martin Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le St-Martin Hotel and Suites

Address: 1400 Maurice Gauvin St, Laval, Quebec H7S 2P1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Laval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Laval
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le St-Martin Hotel and Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An impressive hotel that occupies a prestigious position in the heart of Downtown Laval steps away from the cities financial and shopping district, Le St-Martin Hotel & Suites offers luxury hotel service with a distinctly French accent, with art, architecture and design creating an air of ‘savoir-vivre’, or the art of living. The ultimate in 4 star luxury, this elegant hotel easily combines stylish design with extensive modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Le St-Martin Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le St-Martin Hotel Laval
Le St Martin Laval
Le St-Martin Hotel And Suites Laval, Quebec

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le St-Martin Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.