We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing !!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pataterie Hulloise

Pataterie Hulloise
311 Boul Saint-Joseph, Hull, Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
(819) 778-1659
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 88 restaurants in Hull
Restaurant details
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

This poutine place is the best in the region ! Homemade fries , lots of cheese curds ( fresh and squeaky ) , and nice thick brown poutine sauce.. So yummy !! I've been going to this place for years now and let me assure you, no other poutine place beats this one. They also provide white sauce or Italian sauce for your poutine . La Pataterie Hulloise is opened year round. The people who work there work extremely hard , very dedicated staff. The place is clean . Bring your appetite !!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    9
    4
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It's My Neighborhood Poutine Joint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I feel very protective of this place because it's been in my neighborhood for years. The poutine is AWESOME here! I don't know why people whine about the fries so much...they're good!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Forget Poutine, Have a Steamie All Dressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I grew up in Montreal and in my book this place is the gold standard of greasy spoon restaurants. If you want crispy fries, go to McDonald's - if you want the best Steamie and fries/poutine that you'll find anywere, this is the place for you.

If you don't know what an All Dressed Steamie is, you've lived a very sheltered life and you should go this restaurant and have one at your very first opportunity.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iaca
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Best poutine if my life!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

No words can express how fantastic this little place is. You know it's going to be good when you see them putting an extra layer of cheese half way through the fries. Then you bite into squeaking cheese curds and you know you've found the real thing! I will fully disclose I'm a poutine junkie and without qualm I can say this poutine has no rivals. Yes, big words I know true poutine fans would understand - that's how serious I am about it!!!! A MUST EAT!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“guilty pleasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

When I moved to Canada. i was told the mucky food of choice was poutine. after going to a few squeeky clean joints with regimentally cut fries and a monitered amount of curds, we came here. it really is no frills and the type of place you would probably avoid. But please dont. the fries here are awesome. they go fries, layer of curds, fries, layers of curds, fries, layers ... e.t.c. then a load of thick gravy. after that a load of change for a large, and I was in fry heaven. really worth trying this place if you want messy food

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pataterie Hulloise also viewed

Aylmer, Gatineau
Gatineau, Outaouais Region
 

Been to Pataterie Hulloise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pataterie Hulloise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.