We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look some place else” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Causeway Bay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Causeway Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Causeway Bay Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   311 Market St., Summerside, Prince Edward Island C1N 4J8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Summerside
Kitchener, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Look some place else”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

This hotel was almost double the price of other smaller motels around Summerside. You need to book ahead for them though and we had an unexpected hospital stay and this was the only place with 2 rooms available. They advertise free highspeed internet but the signal was so poor in alot of the areas you could see the access point but couldn't connect to it let alone surf the internet. The shower in our room was not in the best of shape and water drained slower than the shower put out so the tub started to fill. The matteresses were old and and uncomfortable and one was so bad that it rolled you to the center. The pool is not actually attached to the building so you had to head across the street after picking up some towels from the main desk. Actually the hotel is in 4 separate buildings.

If you want breakfast you need to ask for vouchers to the restaurant BEFORE YOU CHECK IN. The restaurant was good with large portions as the only plus to this Hotel.

I will sleep in the car before I stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    8
    2
    2
    11
See reviews for
12
5
5
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

Very good experience stays at this hotel. Clean comfortable and feel like home. They prepare also bathrobe for the clients in the room.
The restaurant is impressive too; highly recommend cold lobster dinner with seafood chowder. Smile service with high efficiency, you will like it.
---Richard CHEN

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

One of the worst experiences we ever had at a hotel was at your Summerside PEI location.
Dirty and run down accommodations Not worth the price we were charged.
I cleaned the floor of the bathroom using a towel to remove the insects and dirt.
3 D's "Dark Dirty and Dingey"
The manager would not budge on the price of the room saying it was the best price.
On our way back home we stayed in 3 other hotels one of which was $70.00 and it was outstanding! They even let us use their Hotel laundry facilities and would not accept a tip.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nova scotia,canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

The rooms are average in size.The furniture new.The hotel staff very patient with kids [hockey team, ages 8-12 ].Conference rooms were available for use as they were not reserved for outside events.Restaurant connected to hotel served well priced good food with reasonably priced buffets depending on day of week.Didn't use the pool this stay,it is in a separate building behind the main bldg.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halifax
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2009

I stayed here for 2 weeks while I was going to Holland college, and it was terrible. My course was 3 weeks long, I had to go to the loyalist for the 3rd week. I was in one of the live in rooms, small kitchen, stove and sink. The customer service was horrible. The hotel had long term occupants that obviously had more priority as one occupant had very loud music and parties late into the night and threatened other customers, namely myself as one of them for complaining. The front desk did nothing to alievate the situation when I complained about this particular occupant and didn't even apologize or offer to move me to another room. This is definitely not a customer friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daisy2026, Accommodations Manager at Causeway Bay Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2009
In response to this rating I would like to state the following:
As we house Marine and longterm students here at our hotel year round I find it very disheartening to see this posted.
We give the students excellent rates of $18.33 per night with housekeeping once a week and any request that we can fulfill we do with great pride.
As a manager I have spent time with most of the students and have never found there were any issues that we have not been able to resolve with great results.
If this was a case of a noise issue I am sure that our front desk staff would have addressed it immediately as that is the protocol.
If it was an ongoing issue, we would hope that the guest would have reported it once again and at that point it would have came to my attention and it would have been resolved immediately, whether it would have been a room switch ect.
We work closely with Holland College and have ALWAYS had great results with our past guests to a point of them feeling like family and stoping by for visits even after checking out.
Holland College, Med Students, EMS ect have stayed with us at this discounted rate, however that makes them no less important than any other guests on our property.
We strive for ALL guests to leave our hotel with a great feel of a comforting stay and with the idea of returning for another stay with us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfoundland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2009

When I was in Prince Edward Island in August of 2008, I stayed in approximately 5 different hotels in the course of 7 days. The hotel was undergoing construction but I have never had a better stay anywhere on the Island. The staff was amazingly friendly, the manager was more than helpful and no matter what we needed they were always there to help. The room was gorgeous and unlike anything I have ever seen. The atmosphere at the Linkletter is so relaxed and cozy, and the construction never bothered me and my family a bit. We were all so impressed with the hotel that we havent stopped bragging about it yet! Were sure to come back in the summer of 2009.

  • Liked — The friendly Staff, and everything being in close proximity to the hotel
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed August 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London Ont
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2008

We travel all over and we see every kind of hotel ,,
Causeway Bay is the most welcome we have felt at a hotel in years,, Service at the hotel was beyond compare and we went to buffet int he restaurant and we was so surprised at how great the food was, homemade desserts ...they are working on the hotel everywhere but the staff made sure that we knew what was going on and was always asking if we needed anything ,,,This hotel is the best mix of hospitalitity and plain old friendly we have seen in years
This is the way it should be done

  • Liked — Atmosphere
  • Disliked — Almost nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Causeway Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Causeway Bay Hotel

Address: 311 Market St., Summerside, Prince Edward Island C1N 4J8, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Summerside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Summerside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Causeway Bay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms offer cable TV, fridge, microwave, coffee maker, free coffee and tea, clock radio, air conditioning and hair dryer. ATM and computer in the lobby, we also offer 24 hour guest services, laundry facilities, wake up calls, vending machines, rollaway cots, playpens, and business center. Out restaurant offers world famous lobster and seafood. Hotel is minutes from the ocean, walking trails and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Causeway Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Causeway Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.