We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A highly over-rated dump!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Loyalist Lakeview Resort Summerside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Loyalist Lakeview Resort Summerside to your Saves list
Loyalist Lakeview Resort Summerside
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   195 Heather Moyse Drive, Summerside, Prince Edward Island C1N 5R1, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Summerside
Collingwood, Ontario
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A highly over-rated dump!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2008

Shower lacked pressure, toilet leaked and we were visited by maintenance men because the ceiling below was getting wet. Worn out everything and about 10 years overdue with a renovation and redecorating program. To make matters worst when we checked out the next morning it cost $345 for the room and breakfast! A great first night on PEI.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    54
    31
    20
    14
See reviews for
47
43
5
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Summerside, PEI
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2008

Loyalist hotel is an excellent hotel which provided me and my family with superb service. The staff was more than accommodating continuosuly going out of their way to make sure our stay was fulfilled with satisfaction.
This was the first property in which I have ever stayed at where the General Manager (Nick Riberio) came over to the tables in the restaurant to make sure everything was going well with the food and the service and even asked if there was anything additional in which he could do for us. Most of the time if this happens you may have the rest. manager come over but never the General Manager unless it is a complaint.
Our guest rooms were spotless! The cleansiness of the property in full was above satisfactory!
If we are ever in the area again we will be back!!!!

  • Liked — Scenery and the service
  • Disliked — nothing to report that is negative
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellerslie
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2008

I stayed here a few months ago, and I have to say that staying at the Loyalist Country Inn in Summerside, PEI, had to be the best night of my life. I am a light sleeper, and when my head hit the pillow after a night of partying at a local club, let me tell you that I didn't get up till almost 12PM the next afternoon!

The staff at hte hotel were kind and very helpful. The staff at the Dinning room and lounge were kind and helpful as well. The food was FANTASTIC!!!! There were no issues with the room that I could see and the hotel it self was beautiful!

If asked if I were to recommend the Loyalist Country Inn to my friends and Family, I would say without any though, "YES!!!"

  • Liked — The staff, the food, and the facilities
  • Disliked — NOT ONE THING
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P.E.I., Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2008

We visited Summerside for one night in the early part of July. Decided to stay at the Loyalist Inn since other hotels really were worse rated than this one. We booked a suite - their suite was one room, consisting of two beds, one loveseat, no pictures, ripped bedskirt, rusty shower curtain, round table that was scarred and marked. In other words, the room (suite) was terrible and the cost ($225 plus tax) was outrageous. There was noise throughout the night since there was a wedding, so one could hear through the walls into the hall. I called the manager, since he was not available at checkout time, and he argued with me about my complaints. However, the next day I had a call from one of the staff who presumed to take up the argument from the manager's call the day before. Finally, she did agree to give us the room at their standard room price (also not worth the money, $175 plus tax). That was the end of the call. Never again will we stay there and I would urge anyone to look elsewhere in the area!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2008

The Hotel is need of up-dating badly...
The room was substandard to say the least, and was the Executive suite (which was a joke at the best).
There were handles missing from the furniture, the bathroom sink was cracked and had chips in it, the toilet was leaking and the were stains on the floor showing where the leak was, there was paint on the shower curtain, the water pressure and temperture was a horrible and changed constantly. some of the tiles surrounding the tub were cracked. The TV was set in the wall about 3 inches off the floor, so you had to looked down at the floor to watch it, and the DVD player was sitting on the floor.... The springs on one side of the Loveset were broken and it needed a good steam cleaning. The only good thing about this place was the Female desk clerks (the 1 male one that was there when we were was doing you a favor talking to you) and the beds were very comfortable.
And you get all of this for the low, low price of $225.00 a night...

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the room
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, PEI
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2008

We were dismayed at the service this hotel provided to our group on January 26th. First let us begin by stating that the staff tried their best, under the circumstances, to provide decent services; but it is our feeling that the hotel is understaffed and cannot handle the business of a full hotel.

We were also dismayed that the manager did not see it fit to be on site on a weekend when the hotel was full to capacity. This is during the slow season and events had been planned so that the hotel was almost fully booked for this particular weekend. The staff was left to deal with complaints on their own and we observed that they could have used more staff in various areas.

1. Price of room - When the room was booked we asked for a small room for the price of $99.00. The evening before our arrival we requested an upgrade to a larger room as we had now 5 in our group. We were quoted the price of $109.00 including tax. Upon arrival our room had not been changed. Fortunately there was one large room left (non-smoking) which we given. On check out we were advised that the total was $149.00 - we were offered no explanation of the discrepancy. Once the Supervisor checked with the Manager, the price was reduced to the original quote of $109.00

2. Cot - Prior to our arrival we advised that a cot would be required for the 5th person. At 1:00 p.m. on January 26, we called to ask for a cot. We were told by Kim that a best effort would be made to supply a cot but that there were no guarantees. When we arrived at our larger room it had a couch although not a pull-out. We inquired at 5:00 p.m. for a cot. We were advised by the front desk staff that there was no one available in Housekeeping, that she was alone at the front desk and could not leave. We phoned again at 7:30 and asked to speak to the Supervisor. We were advised she was busy with a private party. At 8:00 p..m. 2 people from our party went to the front desk to offer to go look for a cot ourselves. We were told that we could not be given the key. At 8:45 we called again and were advised we would have to wait another half hour. We planned to leave at 9:00 so we demanded to speak to the Manager - advised he was not on site. We then demanded to speak to the Supervisor. The Dining Room Supervisor answered and within a few minutes a cot was sent up.

3. Towels - At arrival we noted that there were only 2 sets of towels. We requested towels at the same time we requested the cots which were not delivered until 9:00 p.m. along with said cots which disrupted our evening plans.

4. Fridge - Fridge was not clean and food from the a previous guest has been left in the unit.

5. No Bathroom Fan - The room got very hot and humid. We opened a window which opened up from the floor - a very dangerous installation for young children.

6. Restaurant - Food was good but service was seriously lacking. Our breakfast took some time getting to us and we were never served our drinks. There was an obvious staff shortage of service staff.

7. Microwave - Needs updating - Takes 4 minutes to heat a cup of coffee.

8. Toilet tissue - We ran out of toilet paper - one roll of toilet paper in a suite?? We had to call the desk, 3 rolls were brought up.

(copy of this message with extra notes to the manager was emailed to the manager of the hotel on February 5, 2008)

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
summerside pe
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2007

Well how do I start ok showed up at the hotel and the front desk fought me saying my room was not paid for. Reception well we thought that it was going to be the best part of the day other then the food it was terrible staff was rood not wearing the right dress code,rolling there eyes when asked to do something,spills beer all over guest and does not say sorry or anything , being rood to the guest about there drinks being out of the ball room (there are no signs any where saying not to take drinks past this point) and to top off the night was the bride and groom was told to clean off the head table them selfs while the guest were still there .bride and groom was told by a staff member that they did not have enough time to take two little boxes of glasses to the front desk or our room.that looked so great on the loyalist haveing guest come up to us and ask why we are cleaning. not one of our guests have something nice to say about the loyalist staff or the way the reception went ..and now i have wedding pictures and video with loyalist staff serving the head table with hoodies on (looks like in our pictures and video that there are two guest serving us.)not good...i can not replace my pictures ,video,or guest /our memories about that night ...our wedding night. and all they will do for us is give us a free night ...sorry but we want half or all our money back i hope that no one else has to experience serves like that on there wedding day! my advise do not go to the summerside pei loyalist to pay $2700.00 for your reception unless you want a night from hell.....

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — staff attitude
  • Stayed October 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loyalist Lakeview Resort Summerside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loyalist Lakeview Resort Summerside

Address: 195 Heather Moyse Drive, Summerside, Prince Edward Island C1N 5R1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Summerside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Summerside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Loyalist Lakeview Resort Summerside 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Loyalist Lakeview Resort Summerside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loyalist Lakeview Hotel Summerside
Country Inn Summerside
Summerside Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loyalist Lakeview Resort Summerside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.