We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not fancy - but great value and service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Canadas Best Value Inn and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Canadas Best Value Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Canadas Best Value Inn and Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3081 North Bedeque Route 1a, Summerside, Prince Edward Island C1N 4J9, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Summerside
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Not fancy - but great value and service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

This is where we ended up staying after cancelling our booking with the Loyalist. From the outside (in the winter) this doesn't look like much - but sits on a great piece of land - perfect if you have kids that need to blow off some steam. From the minute we called until we checked out, we felt welcome and at home. The accomodation is dated - but was spotless (and it is hard to keep a dated bathroom clean!). During the winter, they don't offer the complimentary breakfast, however, the manager encouraged us to us the common area and kitchen if we wanted. They gave us a great rate for a long-term stay, and we had a self-catering room - complete with a separate bedroom. You could have comfortably slept 6 in our room. The kitchen was well stocked - and our request for a few extra towels was done right away. There is wireless - and if you don't have a laptop, there is a computer in the common room. The manager also mentioned several local events that weren't publicized and even made a couple of phone calls to see if we would be welcome. Service above and beyond!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kbmcinnis, Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn and Suites, responded to this review, March 5, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. You have done such an excellent job highliting the features of our hotel that we take pride in that I really have nothing to add. Except of course a big thank you. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    39
    14
    3
    4
See reviews for
28
41
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

An excellent 3.5-star hotel. Room (including the bathroom) was clean and did not have any smell. Manager was very friendly, reminded me of their laundry facilities, recommended a great, local restaurant, called a few minutes after I got to the room to make sure all was OK, chatted about the area & offered me a ferry brochure and local paper upon learning of my interest in those items. Most impressively, when I arrived at the Best Value Inn in Charlottetown (the manager recommended it to me and I indicated I'd look for it), I had a message from the Country Pines manager saying she'd noticed when I drove away that morning that one of my brake lights appeared to be out. How kind of the manager to go out of her way to try to get me that information regarding a problem with my car!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kbmcinnis, Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn and Suites, responded to this review, March 5, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind review, and for taking the time to describe your stay with us. This is one of my favourites, as the story about the car light is so typical of the service that we are looking to provide. A small property needs good word of mouth, and it is so great when we hear little anecdotes like this. Thank you again, and come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerside, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

We booked the Honeymoon Suite for our Wedding night on Oct.23,10!! From the phone call we made to book our room till the time we checked in the service was amazing!! Such a friendly staff!! It was raining the day we got married so our Wedding pictures were shot but the staff and owners of the hotel let us take pictures in the lobby which turned out fantastic!!! It was such a cozy place!!!! As for the room it was it perfect!! Spotless, comfortable and very romantic!! They had a jacuzzi and candles and wine and chocolate!! I would for sure recommend this hotel to anyone!! So to the owners and staff of the Canadas Best Value Inn and Suites in Summerside, PE my husband and I would like to thank you all very much for helping my our special day so wonderful!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kbmcinnis, Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn and Suites, responded to this review, December 7, 2010
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so glad that we were able to play a role on such a special occassion. We pride ourselves on being a friendly and accommodating property. We're small, but I believe this allows us to provide a really personalized service and your review sums up everything that we are aiming to be. Thanks again, and keep us in mind for your one year anniversary ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

We stayed here one night in Sept. 2010 and found the room to be small and basic, but very clean and had everything we needed. There was a small refrigerator and microwave, coffee maker, good selection of cable TV channels, wireless internet, continental breakfast in a cute and roomy area. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Window A/C unit in room which we didn't need at this time of year. The room and bathroom were spotless. The "downside" is that the rooms open to the outside (no interior corridor) and there is no elevator. If we returned, we would request a larger room, our room with one Queen bed was quite small......but certainly adequate.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kbmcinnis, Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn and Suites, responded to this review, December 7, 2010
Thank you for your kind words, we are pleased you enjoyed yourself and found the staff friendly. We offer different room types, which do include some larger rooms. Next time be sure to ask about our two bedroom suites as they are larger and fortunately all located on the ground floor. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernardston, MA, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

Stayed 8 nights in a 2 bed room. One bed never made because I had added extra cushioning as the bed was so uncomfortable and the other bed was made every other day. Always had new soap and towels, but sink, toilet, bathtub and bathroom floor never cleaned. Floor never vacuumed and sheets never changed. Made complaints but nothing changed. Unacceptable and will not return.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kbmcinnis, Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn and Suites, responded to this review, March 5, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, and for pointing out areas where we could perhaps improve the quality of our service. Overall, our housekeeping is exceptional, as anyone can see if they take the time to read other customer reviews. I do not say this to contradict your review, but only because the housekeeping department works very hard and gets wonderful feedback, including many thank you cards. This being said, there is always room for improvement, and I am very sorry if you happened to get lower quality cleaning than is typical of our hotel. I assure you that we are always striving to improve our service, and if you did make a complaint then the housekeeping staff would have been made aware of the problem. We never ignore guest complaints. I am sorry if it seemed this way in your case. This is proof that we need to constantly keep up our standards as even one bad stay is too many. Thank you for keeping us on our toes, and I am sorry that we appear to have lost your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

Stayed three nights at Country Pines just outside of Summerside in late August. The property is huge, and has lots of parking. The lobby was very clean and check-in was a breeze. We reserved the honeymoon suite, and that came with a bottle of wine for each night.

The room upon arrival was ready, clean, and cozy. The king-sized bed was very comfortable, the hot tub, in good working order, is a bit loud. It seats two easily.

There is also a heated pool with a large deck in the back of the hotel. I used it twice and it was very relaxing both times.

I don't have much bad to say about the hotel really. It was a good stay and I'd suggest it to anyone that doesn't need to stay right in downtown Summerside.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kbmcinnis, Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn and Suites, responded to this review, March 5, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review of our property, and for pointing out some of our facilities. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and hope that you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

We stayed for 1 week in the 'cozy cottage' at this hotel and for the same price as a hotel room we got a 2 bedroom cottage. We could walk to the hotel if we wanted the Continental breakfast or to go for a swim but we had all the privacy we wanted AND each day when we were out they came in and cleaned and brought fresh towels etc. It was a 2 minute drive to Summerside and we used it as our base camp for the week. Staff was great. Only issue was we could have used a better barbecue and the patio table was broken so the umbella would not stand up in it. This is a completely different experience from our stay at the Canada's Best Value in Charlottetown which I also reviewed. This is a definate yes.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kbmcinnis, Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn and Suites, responded to this review, December 8, 2010
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We are particularly proud of our two cottage rentals and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We have replaced the bbqs and patio furniture at both cottages since your stay, and regret that this was not done sooner. It is important for us to know where improvements are needed, but also very encouraging to hear where we are doing well. Thank you again for the kind review and we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canadas Best Value Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadas Best Value Inn and Suites

Address: 3081 North Bedeque Route 1a, Summerside, Prince Edward Island C1N 4J9, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Summerside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Summerside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Canadas Best Value Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Canadas Best Value Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canadas Best Value Hotel Summerside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canadas Best Value Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.