We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and Cozy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canadas Best Value Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Canadas Best Value Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Canadas Best Value Inn and Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3081 North Bedeque Route 1a, Summerside, Prince Edward Island C1N 4J9, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights - Save 20%
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Summerside
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dartmouth, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Quaint and Cozy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed here in February of 2014. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Granted, in February there aren't many tourists, but the place was very quiet. Even though the room was a little dated in appearance, it was very clean and tidy. The bathroom was very clean as well.

In the morning, the serve-yourself continental breakfast was great. They had two bottles of waffle mix and a hot waffle iron at the ready. Perfect for a quick, tasty and filling start to the day. The coffee was also very tasty.

All-in-all, this was a great value for the dollar. If you're looking for the Ritz, this isn't it. But if you're looking for a clean, comfortable hotel and a fair price, this more than suits the bill.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kbmcinnis, front desk clerk at Canadas Best Value Inn and Suites, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for choosing Canada's Best Value Inn & Suites, Summerside location.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you'll return.

Thanks for taking the time to write up a review, we forward these to our management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    40
    14
    4
    4
See reviews for
30
43
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We had finished our 6 day tour of the island and wanted a place to stay that was near the Confederation Bridge, and this Inn filled that need. Our room, which faced the farm fields in the rear, had dated furnishings and décor but it was clean and things worked. We did not need the A/C as temps were not that hot. Breakfast was good with a nice assortment of choices. As others have mentioned there are not many choices nearby for dining and the Inn is located a nice distance from the highway which greatly reduces traffic noise. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a top floor room to avoid noise above you. You can also access the breakfast area, located abov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kbmcinnis, front desk clerk at Canadas Best Value Inn and Suites, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thanks for sending the review. We have a great location yes. Close by Summerside and less than 15 minutes to the Confederation bridge. Sounds like you had a wonderful trip and we are happy that you choose to stay with us. Hope you'll return to PEI and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plympton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We had been staying at a cottage but wanted to be closer to family and looked last minute The staff on the phone was very understanding and helpful When we arrived, the service continued, and the romms were clean and spacious. Beautiful outdoor hot tub, close to everything. I wish we had stayed here for the week instead of the moldy cottage we had rented!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kbmcinnis, Front desk clerk at Canadas Best Value Inn and Suites, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted that you choose to stay with us. We were sorry to hear of the problems you incurred @ a cottage on this island. However your stay with us helped you enjoy the remainder of your stay on PEI. Hope you will come and stay with us again. Happy Holidays to you from all our staff .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Don't be fooled by the corporate chain name. This is very much a mom-and-pop motel (and we say that lovingly; we've been in many such kitschy establishments): outside room doors, air conditioners mounted in the windows, older furnishings and plumbing. When's the last time you saw the innkeeper keeping reservations in a giant bound ledger? I don't recall any other motel I've been at that featured an above-ground pool (check the photos). Our room was small but decently maintained. The breakfast offered (in a loft above the front desk) was average; if the weather's nice, go out back and sit outside on the deck. The motel is a few miles down the road from Sunnyside, so it's a real quiet area (open fields, farmlands), but a quick drive into town.

Room Tip: No elevator that we saw, but if you're upstairs, you avoid noise from the room above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kbmcinnis, Front desk clerk at Canadas Best Value Inn and Suites, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Greetings from PEI!! Thanks for the review. Glad you enjoyed your visit to our Island.
We are a part of Canada's Best Value Inn & suites. Owned locally and yes we have an old system called pen and paper which works nicely. We also use computers but find we like using the old way in part of our daily log. We try very hard to satisfy our guests so that they 'll return when visiting PEI. Our system works good the management think. We are currently updating and will continue to update. We hope you'll come back and stay with us soon. Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

be aware of this hotel will abuse your credit card, I've make a reservation 72 dollars a night, my trip plan changed, I've call hotel cancel my reservation 2 days ahead, I be told there no my reservation record at all, due to I never get any confirmation letter from this inn at all, so I think this reservation not exist, but couple days later, they charge my credit card 102 dollars,72 dollars plus tax is 81 dollars, call hotel talk to owner, no honorable, they provide such worse service, no confirm letter, no call to customer, no reservation record, and abuse customer credit card, charge Executive Deluxe Suite price ( I doubt they have any suite can be called Deluxe Suite), no honorable, never see people doing business like that in Canada.
Stay away from them.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kbmcinnis, Guest Relations Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn and Suites, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Hi Bin,

I am very disappointed to see that you since you did not understand the standard hotel procedure employed by every hotel in regards to bookings of rooms and not showing up, that you feel the need to try to give us a bad review because things have not gone your way .

Every hotel policy, being ours and every other hotel that I know of requires a credit card number to reserve the room. When booking rooms online, each booking website clearly indicates hotel policy that if you do not cancel within 24 hours of your checkin date or fail to show up , that 100% of the first nights stay will be charged to the credit card used to reserve the room. This policy applies to all reservations.

We did not go out of our way to maliciously charge your credit card for no reason. The room in question was also 89.99 which with our provincial taxes amounted to the $102 charge that you saw. Calling in to the hotel 4 days after the fact indicating that you had been in an area with no cell phone coverage and as a result could not get through is not acceptable terms for not following procedure. If in fact you knew ahead of time that the reservation would have to be cancelled then we can be reached by phone or email by which guests can let us know that they are not able to make it .

To tell us personally that you will go out of your way to write reviews on every booking referral website you can think of , then write on here was a very unprofessional thing to do. I do hope though , that in your future travels, no matter where you are travelling to that you understand standard hotel procedure in regards to cancellations of rooms so that you do not encure this problem again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed here two nights in mid August 2013. Location outside town so quiet at night. Good size room and very clean. Staff very friendly and helpful with directions to stores.
Woke up to see the sun rise over the farmland. Beautiful.
Very good continental breakfast starting at 6:00am.
Excellent value.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kbmcinnis, Front desk clerk at Canadas Best Value Inn and Suites, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Greetings from PEI. Thank you for the very nice review. It's wonderful to see that guests approve and it helps to further our efforts next season. We hope you'll come back soon. Have a great year!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Although very dated and in need of some work, the place was very clean, very well located and reasonably priced with a small breakfast (continental) included. Also, let us have late check out by an hour which was a great help. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. It's nothing fancy but I can't complain, pool area was lovely and heated and is alot bigger than it looks in pictures.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kbmcinnis, Front desk clerk at Canadas Best Value Inn and Suites, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Greetings from PEI. Thank you for the most recent review. We love to hear back from our guests. Thanks for choosing Canada's Best Value Inn & Suites, Summerside location. Come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Canadas Best Value Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadas Best Value Inn and Suites

Address: 3081 North Bedeque Route 1a, Summerside, Prince Edward Island C1N 4J9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Summerside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Summerside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Canadas Best Value Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Canadas Best Value Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canadas Best Value Hotel Summerside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canadas Best Value Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.