We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Honeymoon Room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canadas Best Value Inn and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Canadas Best Value Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Canadas Best Value Inn and Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3081 North Bedeque Route 1a, Summerside, Prince Edward Island C1N 4J9, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights - Save 20%
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Summerside
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fredericton, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The Honeymoon Room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We arrived on a Sunday afternoon with no reservations requesting a King room for 2 nights. A King room was not available for both nights. The only other King was the "honeymoon room". This usually comes with a bottle of wine which the very accommodating check-in staff agreed to remove from the room/price so, we took it. A quaint room with King size bed and Jacuzzi tub (as well as shower in the bathroom). It had a little patio overlooking the pool, which is very convenient for any smokers. The a/c and ceiling fan kept the room nice and cool. It also had a coffee maker, microwave, mini-fridge, cable TV and free Wi-Fi. The room was right next door to the entrance for the dining room but, was very quiet. The continental breakfast was great. Served in a large dinning area, they had decent options they kept well stocked right up until it ended including, make-your-own waffles which were delicious.
The (heated) pool is not very big and only 52" deep but, big enough to relax and cool down in. Towels are provided poolside. The grounds are well maintained and very large, great for kids who may need some running-around room. There is coin operated laundry and plenty of parking. The office has 24 hour staff and offered a lot of travel brochures; we were given a local one upon check-in. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kbmcinnis, Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn and Suites, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thanks so much for staying with us, it is always a pleasure to have wonderful people stay and enjoy their stay. We are happy we could accomindate you with what you wanted at such short notice. You are right about the pool, it isnt very big but just right for a dip! Hope to see you guys again on your next visit to our beautiful PEI! Take care :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    40
    14
    4
    4
See reviews for
30
43
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lasalle, Quebec, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Even though there is a room in this motel with grab bars and a ramp (on demand) for at the front door, I would not consider this place to be wheelchair accessible. The ramp is too steep to make it inside without someone to push. Worse, the doorway to the long and narrow bathroom and the space to move once in there are absolutely inadequate; luckily, the wheelchairs of me and my husband are not that wide and we removed the footrests, and that way we were able to squeeze in (but we didn’t attempt to use the bathtub for a shower). To get to the front desk one has to climb three steps (no ramp), and breakfast is served one flight of stairs above the front desk (which looks inviting, from what I could tell from the pictures on this website). The very kind staff did all they could to accommodate us: they pushed us up into our room, and they brought breakfast right to our door, but basically, this motel is not for the handicapped.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trois-Rivieres, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We got here last night from a long drive and we're here for 4 night for our honeymoon. We reserved our room a couple months ago and are happy with the outcome. I'd recommend it for anyone wanting to travel to PEI. If ever we come back I'm sure we'd concider coming back here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kbmcinnis, Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn and Suites, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property, and while you are still staying with us too! We are pleased that you are enjoying your stay and that we could host you for your honeymoon. Congratulations, and all the best for your future. We'll expect to see you back here each year on your anniversary ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Maine
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We have stayed in the cottages associated with this hotel two years running and have liked the friendly service, clean accomodations, and great value. The kids love the pool and the hotel is minutes from Summerside, but centrally located for visiting most of the island.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn and Suites, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stays here and value you as a returning guest. Hope to see you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear, Delaware
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights as part of our vacation on Prince Edward Island. The rooms are sufficiently large and comfortable and very clean. They include a microwave, refrigerator and hair dryer and the Internet (free) was as fast as what I have at home, highly unusual for a hotel/motel. The price could not be beat, and even though we were technically into the tourist season on our last night they gave us the off season rate for all 4 nights. We were amazed how quiet the rooms are. There were several young men staying in rooms adjacent to ours who looked like they were getting ready to party. We never heard a sound!!! There is no iron and ironing board in the rooms but they are available from the front desk. The continental breakfast includes toast, bagels, cereals and waffles- but no proteins. However, given that it is free and the room was so reasonable we can't really complain. We ended up supplementing breakfast with some supplies from a store nearby, which was convenient. This motel is very well situated for exploring the entire western and central portion of PEI and I would definitely recommend this location.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kbmcinnis, Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn and Suites, responded to this review, June 16, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. I am very pleased that you enjoyed such a pleasant stay with us. There is very little that I can add to such a positive review except our gratitude. Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

The hotel staff treated me so well. They were very friendly, especially Jean. Also, I was amazed at how very clean the room was. I have never seen a cleaner one. I must say, the hotel isn't fancy or new, but if you need clean and comfortable in the Summerside area, you cannot do any better than this place.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kbmcinnis, Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn and Suites, responded to this review, June 16, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. We are very pleased that you had such a great experience. We pride ourselves on our friendly staff and clean rooms, and appreciate the positive feedback. Please come back and stay with us anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

We travelled to Summerside with our son's hockey team for a tournament recently, the team stayed here for 2 nights. We were made to feel very welcome right from the start! The owners put our team's name on their road sign welcoming us, a very nice touch for the kids! Yes, the rooms are a bit dated, but they were comfortable, and clean, and the price was great. The owners/staff made sure the breakfast was ready when we needed it in the morning, allowed the parents to use the breakfast area in the evening, and were very understanding and patient with the kids. The kids had fun, the price was right, and the owners/staff were fabulous! Thanks for everything, and if we find ourselves back in Summerside for another tournament, we would love to stay with you again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kbmcinnis, Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn and Suites, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. This is the second comment I've responded to from a satisfied hockey tournament stay, and just as kind. I am not sure if both reviewers were from the same team as we had two absolutely wonderful teams stay with us in February. Either way thank you as well, since both were just as enjoyable from our point of view. We would love to see any of you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canadas Best Value Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadas Best Value Inn and Suites

Address: 3081 North Bedeque Route 1a, Summerside, Prince Edward Island C1N 4J9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Summerside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Summerside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Canadas Best Value Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Canadas Best Value Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canadas Best Value Hotel Summerside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canadas Best Value Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.