We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cows Creamery

Cows Creamery
397 Capital Dr, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada (Formerly Cow's Ice Cream)
902 628 6314
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 203 Restaurants in Charlottetown
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Simsbury, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

The best comparison for this for those in the states would be: similar to Steve's or Emac and Bolios. Good, rich homemade ice cream. There seem always to be lines, no matter which store you go in.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    67
    25
    15
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Ice cream was great but the tour was not value for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Was quite excited to see the ad for the guided tour. Found out on the day that they only make ice cream on certain days. Yes, there samples of the cheese but it's in the size of a mouse nibble! Charged $6 per person to go on a DVD guided tour with a nibble of cheese & a small spoonful of ice cream...not really worth it. The ice cream is worth the price as its extreme tasty. The cheeses is also excellent especially the apple wood smoked cheddar.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“You have to at least give it a try, it's yummy even if a bit pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I had heard about this place so I wanted to go in and try some--the flavours are definitely enticing and it is really hard to choose. I had finally settled on a two-scoop cone since I wanted to try two flavours, even though I didn't want so much ice cream but what they let you do here is combine two flavours into one scoop, which I did. I think the difference in price was only a dollar, but it did taste two good portions of their ice cream since the once scoop size is pretty big. I found it a bit expensive, but it is a quality product and very creamy--well worth the price.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Most unique flavors executed to perfection. A bit pricey for the size cone. Go at least once and give it a go.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England, North Dakota
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“REMINDS ME OF BEN & JERRY'S.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I LOVE chocolate ice cream. I DON'T LOVE waffle cones.

When approaching a COWS counter, there is a too sweet, sickly smell. It's the nasty waffle cones. I love the ice cream, and I desperately wanted a plain cone. All they have are waffles, or bowls.

My friend has celiac and brings her own bread to restaurants where they kindly are always willing to help her out when she orders a burger or sandwich. Next time I go to COWS, I'm bringing my own cone!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigid M, Front Office Manager at Cows Creamery, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about our ice cream! I'm sorry that you didn't like our waffle cones- that same smell attracts many people into our stores, but I suppose not everything is to everyone's taste! We hope to get the chance to see you again & that you enjoy the rest of your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cows Creamery also viewed

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Cows Creamery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cows Creamery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.