We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St James Gate Pub

St James Gate Pub
129 Kent Street | PE, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1N4, Canada
902-892-4283
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 194 restaurants in Charlottetown
Price range: $9 - $17
Cuisines: Seafood, Tapas, Canadian, Pub, Gastropub, Pasta, Family Fare, Chicken Wings, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: We offer a full menu of delicious appetizers, salads, steaks, sandwiches & pastas. With a large selection of draft on tap, fresh martinis, wine and specialty coffees we have you covered.
Charlottetown, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Great food , lots of it, great service , great value for your dollar make sure you are hungrey when you go there.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    47
    26
    8
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SAINT JOHN
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great lunch in a nice pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

I had a quick lunch at this nice pub in the downtown of Charlottetown. It is close walking distance to the main streets and attractions. The inside was interesting, with archways connecting the various rooms, reminding me of some European pubs I had been in. The food was plentiful with a varied menu of pub foods and some finer dining options. I was having lunch so went with a burger and sweet potato french fries. Not too exotic, but th burger was cooked perfectly, complemented with some garnishes and the fries delicious. Overall a great meal, and I wouldn't hesitate to eat there again.
I was disappointed there was no local or craft beer available. THere was a good selection of beer available on tap or bottle, and some New Brunswick beer which was good, but it would have been nice to sample some local beer while there.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Outstanding food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

C'town is the culinary capital of Canada, and it's places like the St James Gate Pub that are the reason why! Great service, great location, great atmosphere, and above all, great food! Had the pulled pork which seemed to have been made from pigs sent as a gift from above, and my wife, the nacho connoisseur, has now placed the St James Gate Pub nachos at the top of her list

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerside, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Pub Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Awesome Pub and Amazing service! We went in as a party and we were not disappointed everyone had a great time and we'll be sure to be back again and again. We had a wonderful time and to food is amazing for a pub. Our server was very informative and attentive, she recommended great drinks and great appetizers. Thank you very much St. James Gate, we are huge fans!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Outstanding service and the food - OH MY!!!!

Great place to spend your dollars!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St James Gate Pub also viewed

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to St James Gate Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St James Gate Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.