We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful dining experience - superb dinner and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lucy Maud Montgomery Dining Room

Lucy Maud Montgomery Dining Room
4 Sydney Street, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1E9, Canada
902-894-6808
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 203 Restaurants in Charlottetown
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Montreal
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining experience - superb dinner and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We had dinner here recently as a result of checking out some tripadvisor reviews and had a wonderful evening. The restaurant is located in the Culinary Institute of Canada and has a great location overlooking the water. Our server Laura was friendly, helpful and professional. The dinner which we were told was prepared by chef Stephen (who had just completed his course) working with the supervision of the institute staff, was fabulous and one of the best meals we have had. There was a large choice on the menu and everything we had was excellent including the lobster and pineapple salad with Granny Smith apples, the Thai potstickers, the potato crusted halibut, and the strip sirloin with lobster. Everything was beautifully plated and presented. We had the tasting dessert plate which had four different items; even the coffee was excellent. Pricing was in keeping with a meal of this calibre. If you are in Charlottetown, it is worth a special visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    9
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Liked the Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I'm so glad I read about this place as the building looks very much like a warehouse on the exterior and from the street there is no sign indicating a restaurant. The dining room itself is plain, with a nice view of the water. We enjoyed being served by recent graduates of the school who tried to give diners a positive experience. I had the halibut , which was OK, but a little dry. My companion had the bison loin and thought it was delicious. The breads before the meal were a nice touch. Overall I would rate the food quality as very good, not outstanding. But when you add the unique view (the only restaurant in town with a water view) and the special situation of recent grads preparing and serving the meal, it is worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson Heights, New York
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Maybe our favorite place on the island. We came here for the second time (last year was the first) to the restaurant at the culinary institute. It's one of the best-kept secrets here. The food is amazing. This time we had oysters, seared scallops, bison and the apple tart with mascarpone ice cream. Everything was delicious, and the prices were surprisingly reasonable (better than many of the others in town.) Everything was local, fresh and perfectly prepared. But it's not just the food -it's the experience. It's all students at the school, all of whom make the experience so special. Our server - Laura - was a joy, and we learned a lot about Newfoundland (now we really want to go there.) The warmth and graciousness can't be overstated; it's simply an incredible experience. And it offers some of the most amazing views anywhere.

The amuse was delicious, and yes, it was amusing.

So a big thank you to Laura, to the chef, and to all of the staff. Our only suggestion for improving the experience is the music: you can do better than '70s and '80s easy listening. Trust your staff Holly - when they tell you to change the music because the customers would prefer it they're right. It's time for a moratorium on Fleetwood Mac.

We will come back. Again. And again. And again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“a real find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We had read about this restaurant in trip advisor and were really looking forward to our visit. we were not disappointed.
it is hard to find ,located at the back of a college building and the ambience is very utilitarian however, the view compensates for that, as does the food and the welcome.
the enthusiasm of the staff is almost tangible and the explanations of the menu and details of the food are more than is usually given.
we elected to have the 4 course set menu . the amuse bouche was melt in the mouth stuff, the starter was superb. not only was it inventive, but also delicious - 3 vegetable gyozos ( described as "dumplings" by the waitress) accompanied by a halibut and salmon mousselline. then a salad which was a little heavy on the croutons, and finally superb chicken.
service was impeccable and a visit here ( remember it closes early) is an absolute must if you are visiting PEI.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice dinning experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Good service and Nice view on the sea.
We really enjoyed the different breads and butters at the beginning and the mise en bouche.
Nice first entrée with the polenta and mushrooms.
The main courses were unequals. First, the 4 generous sea scalops with pork belly were delicious.
Then, we had the hallibut which was meant to be medium cookee, but was unfortunately overcooked for me.
The dessert (a coffee torte) didn't do much for us but with the bill at the end you get a nice chocolate.

Overall, very pleasant experience. Would go back again

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucy Maud Montgomery Dining Room also viewed

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Lucy Maud Montgomery Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucy Maud Montgomery Dining Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.