We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must Try” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Piatto Pizzeria

Piatto Pizzeria
45 Queen St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 4A4, Canada
+1 902-892-0909
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 203 Restaurants in Charlottetown
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Takeout
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“A Must Try”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

My wife and I visited piatto on a Saturday afternoon. No problem getting a table. The atmosphere was nice and interior was modern and stylish. It gave a great vibe. The food was fresh and delicious. You can really taste when something is fresh and this joint didn't disappoint. The crust on my siciliana pizza was moist and most delicious. The service was good and checked in regularly. The oil brought table side to compliment my pizza was appreciated, tasty and local. Highly recommend this one.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    9
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Charlottetown, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Poor starters, good pizza”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Quite disappointed with the quality of tomatoes they used - unripened greenhouse beefsteak, doesn't make for very fravourful bruscetta or caprese.

Pizza itself was good, but would have been nice to have some italian beer to go with it - they ran out of the only italian beer they served.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russell ontario
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Pizza We Have EVER had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The space is great: well-decorated, heritage building, tables comfortably spaced, wood-fired oven providing atmosphere. Great location: steps from the waterfront and the Delta. Service was very good. But it's about the pizza. Authentic crust: light, tasty, perfect! All the ingredients are not only fresh but they are the very best quality: Kalamata olives, sweet tomatoes, amazing mozzarella. The Stephanie was our favourite - goat cheese and pear. Seriously good. Loads of more traditional choices. For four people (including two teenagers) we started with bruschetta, ordered three pizzas to share (all were great), and everyone had loads of food to eat. The best pizza EVER vote was unanimous. Shared app, 2 drinks, dinner for 4 plus tip - $90. We will be back!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Two out of Three is Bad”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Three visits. First one was the best and only the second day they were open. Fast service, good pizza. Second visit, waitress brought the wrong pizza altogether. It happens, not such a big deal except for the way it was handled. A very insincere mumbled offer ..." Well maybe I could get you the right one" but we sensed she was too embarrassed to tell the pizza guys her error and we didn't want to make a hassle. We picked off the chicken because we'd ordered a veggie pie. Third time ordered the prosciutto pizza that comes topped with a handful of arugula. It was so far past edible, as in slimy, yellow and tinged with black that we pointed it out to the waitress who quickly offered a new pizza. We said the pizza was fine, just remove the dead arugula and replace with new. That's not fussy at all and even thought the pizza is super fast, we didn't want to have a new pizza come out when everyone had finished eating. So, nice waitress takes the offending pizza back to the guys making them. Everyone looks, heads shaking and then the pizza goes to the kitchen and reappears a few minutes later with half the amount of still yellow to brown arugula but with the slimy bits removed. The waitress said she showed the owner who explained to her that they were at the end of the arugula supply and that was the best they had. It's pretty simple, if the food is rotten, don't serve it. We removed the yucky stuff with our fingers and asked for it to be thrown out. When clearly expired/wilted/yellow/slimy food is prepared and you manage to get it past the three or four people who handled it AND the owner, don't try to serve it again. If you do decide to send it out one more time, you might think about not charging for it after receiving a totally legitimate complaint. Two bad visits out of three isn't good enough.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic addition to Charlottetown's dining scene”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Great location, nice decor, friendly service, good wine list and great pizza. Sure to become a local favorite.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piatto Pizzeria also viewed

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Piatto Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piatto Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.