We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for lunch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Merchantman Fresh Seafood & Oyster Bar

Merchantman Fresh Seafood & Oyster Bar
23 Queen St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 4A2, Canada (Formerly Merchantman Pub)
+1 902-892-9150
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 201 Restaurants in Charlottetown
Price range: $10 - $27
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Merchantman Fresh Seafood & Oyster Bar is a warm, cozy and inviting atmosphere. The restaurant has undergone a beautiful renovation and in doing so all the original 130 year old brick has been restored throughout the building. We strive to provide fresh and local product to the best of our ability. The Merchantman excels in seafood, and local favourites. If its Oysters that your after, look no further, our raw bar has a wide selection of local Oysters from Malpeque Bay all the way to Colville Bay and everywhere in between. So the next time your looking for a great evening out, be sure to stop by the Merchantman!
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Nice for lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

Eight of us went for a quick business lunch. The service was prompt and friendly.

Two had Bloody Caesars, one a beer and then another, two had coffee and one had a Strongbow cider and one had a Lemon Aid.

Our group selected from the lunch menu:
2 had 1 lb of mussels in garlic and white wine sauce - very good - tasty and plump, as usual;
2 had scallops sauteed in butter with vegetables - somewhat overpriced at $18 each;
1 had the Lunchtime pan fry - a melange with a pile of excellent fries;
1 had one of the daily specials, chicken brie - also somewhat overpriced at $14;
2 had the other special, chill with garlic toast - not spicy enough for me, but OK for the other person.

All in all, everyone was satisfied with his or her choice, but there was nothing outstanding: just fairly plain good food which satisfied.

Four of us were business visitors to PEI and all four of us have eaten here over the years a number of times. The chef changes occasionally, but since Guy left a number of years ago to go to another restaurant (and now is with Northumberland Ferries) the food overall has been as described for this visit. Good reliable and usually fairly priced. We will likely be back on another trip to the Island.

Cost: 2 Specials - $24; 2 mussels - $22; 2 fried scallops - $36; Lunch pan fry - $12; Chicken brie - $14; Bud light - $5.92; Lemon Aid - $2.40; 2 Caesars - $12; Diet Pepsi - $2.19; Local Sir John A Honey beer - $5.92; Stronbow cider - $6.50; 2 coffees - $4.60; Island Red ale -$5.92. Total - $153.45 + tax $21.48 = $174.93. Gratuity - $30.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    69
    31
    24
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“A Nice Option in Charlottetown”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

This is a lively pub style restaurant with lots of options from the sea and land. The mussels were quite good but could have been more flavourful and a lot hotter. The pan fried haddock was lovely. Wonderful and generous portion with a contrasting crispy coating on the white fish inside. Wonderful.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Snap snap snap!!! Eat here, skip the rest.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Mussels with a light bacon broth, magnificent. A pound of mussels for $11 CAD, a deal at any price. Nice oysters, they have happy hour around 4, etc, etc. great beers, try the gahan's blueberry (!) beer, yum, yum. Nice, friendly efficient staff, ask for Ed and Kyle, they are a ton of fun, and totally "get it". Roll with this place and have a truly great meal. Cheers, you guys, will be back with bells on....

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Bloated prices, shrunken oysters!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

My husband and I selected this restaurant because we were turned away from The Gahan House. The initial walk in atmosphere is great, until you sit down. I was surprised there wasn't any music playing, just sports on the bar tv. It was a Saturday night in downtown Charlottetown and all the other restaurants around the area were buzzing with activity and music. I guess that is why we were able to get a table so easily. Our server was lovely and courteous. I ordered the Oysters Rockefeller as an appetizer and I was shocked at the incredibly tiny size and poor quality of 6 tiny oysters that arrived, especially in PEI, a place renowned for amazing seafood. This plate was $20 for nothing. My husband and I both ordered the halibut tacos. Our food arrived very cold. We were In a rush to get to a concert, so sending it back was not an option. The flavours were delicious...but with the halibut pieces being so minuscule ( smaller than the tines on my fork, a deep friend ounce for $18) accompanied by freezing cold tasteless Basmati Rice....this visit left a bad taste in my mouth. There was a notice on the bathroom wall to text the manager if you were not pleased with your meal, which I did. He was very courteous and apologetic but offered nothing but a chat with the cook about our experience for quality improvement. I would not recommend spending your Saturday night date in this expensive boring place. Sorry Merchantman....but thanks for answering my text.

  • Visited October 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

I had the chicken rotolini and my wife had the fish and chips. The food was fresh and piping hot. The service was excellent and the ambiance was nice, as we faced the street so we could see the sunset.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merchantman Fresh Seafood & Oyster Bar also viewed

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Merchantman Fresh Seafood & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merchantman Fresh Seafood & Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.