We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A variety of well prepared foods” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Merchantman Fresh Seafood & Oyster Bar

Merchantman Fresh Seafood & Oyster Bar
23 Queen St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 4A2, Canada (Formerly Merchantman Pub)
+1 902-892-9150
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 201 Restaurants in Charlottetown
Price range: $10 - $27
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Merchantman Fresh Seafood & Oyster Bar is a warm, cozy and inviting atmosphere. The restaurant has undergone a beautiful renovation and in doing so all the original 130 year old brick has been restored throughout the building. We strive to provide fresh and local product to the best of our ability. The Merchantman excels in seafood, and local favourites. If its Oysters that your after, look no further, our raw bar has a wide selection of local Oysters from Malpeque Bay all the way to Colville Bay and everywhere in between. So the next time your looking for a great evening out, be sure to stop by the Merchantman!
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A variety of well prepared foods”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014 NEW

Everyone in our party enjoyed his or her dish: the halibut, pork barbecue and salads were all excellent. The service was top notch and we really liked having a comfy booth to ourselves.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    65
    29
    23
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“New owners ruined appeal”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

This is boxed food at it's worst. What was once a hub for PEI has gone downhill. This is nothing special and definitely not worth wasting a vacation meal on, following suit with most other Murphy group of restaurants. Stick to the independents, you'll be better off.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSalle, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“This place exudes charm and friendlness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Went to this restaurant for lunch, everything was super fresh and very tasty, the staff was top shelf and very entertaining , the chef's are top notch, even former Olympic Competition winners.
Can't begin to describe what an excellent visit but I will simply say "Don't miss this place"

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We went to merchantman pub for dinner tonight. I ordered the fish'n'chips. Awesome. Great great service and a wonderful place. Local beer is a great touch as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Village, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great ambiance and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

This place offers a great menu with a wonderful choice of seafood. We had the mussel and spinach dip appetizer and both were delicious, perhaps a bit small but delicious. My daughter had fish and chips which were great. Highly recommend, the location is on the main street, very close to everything.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merchantman Fresh Seafood & Oyster Bar also viewed

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Merchantman Fresh Seafood & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merchantman Fresh Seafood & Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.