We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful seafood - worth a visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Merchantman Fresh Seafood & Oyster Bar

Merchantman Fresh Seafood & Oyster Bar
23 Queen St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 4A2, Canada (Formerly Merchantman Pub)
+1 902-892-9150
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 194 restaurants in Charlottetown
Price range: $10 - $28
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Merchantman Fresh Seafood & Oyster Bar is a warm, cozy and inviting atmosphere. The restaurant has undergone a beautiful renovation and in doing so all the original 130 year old brick has been restored throughout the building. We strive to provide fresh and local product to the best of our ability. The Merchantman excels in seafood, and local favourites. If its Oysters that your after, look no further, our raw bar has a wide selection of local Oysters from Malpeque Bay all the way to Colville Bay and everywhere in between. So the next time your looking for a great evening out, be sure to stop by the Merchantman!
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful seafood - worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 NEW via mobile

Our very first seafood platter in over 25 years was virtually perfect and provided with attentive service. We thoroughly enjoyed the seafood platter (shrimp, mussels, scallops, crab & lobster) after enjoying excellent Martinis from our server/mixologist. We were most impressed with the attentive service, the decor and the top-drawer food quality.

Most sincerely recommended.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

62% Recommend
    52
    51
    27
    21
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Far better than prince and water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 NEW via mobile

This was a delightful spot downtown on Queen. Clean. Great friendly service. Food was excellent. I had fish and chips and oysters Rockefeller. Both were perfect. Kids menu and portion sizes were great. Recommended.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grunthal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great crab cakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 NEW

Loved sitting out on the patio watching the world go by. The seafood was fresh and service was great.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
1 review
“Terrible service, average food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 NEW

My family came to pei from away this past weekend and they wanted to try good seafood and the first thing that came to mind was merchantman, I have been here a few times before and it's been good... But this time was a different story. We all got drinks which were good, I ordered the steak sandwich and asked for medium rare.. When it got to the table it was well done to the point there was not a hint of pink. After we finished our meals the power went out, all of us at the table had visa so the server advised us she would bring the "old visa machine" over.. Which turned out to be an invoice paper, where everyone put the full Visa card number, expiry date and signature.. After we were waiting 30 mins in a restaurant with one emergency light and no lit up exit signs as the servers continued to let customer in the front door serving beer.. This will be the last time I ever go there to eat or recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Very friendly good food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great welcome and good food. Short walk from the main centre and worth a visit. Good selection of local beer and choice of bar, tables or sitting outside, if it is not raining

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merchantman Fresh Seafood & Oyster Bar also viewed

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Merchantman Fresh Seafood & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merchantman Fresh Seafood & Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.