We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Merchantman Fresh Seafood & Oyster Bar

Merchantman Fresh Seafood & Oyster Bar
23 Queen St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 4A2, Canada (Formerly Merchantman Pub)
+1 902-892-9150
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 203 Restaurants in Charlottetown
Price range: $9 - $26
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Merchantman Fresh Seafood & Oyster Bar is a warm, cozy and inviting atmosphere. The restaurant has undergone a beautiful renovation and in doing so all the original 130 year old brick has been restored throughout the building. We strive to provide fresh and local product to the best of our ability. The Merchantman excels in seafood, and local favourites. If its Oysters that your after, look no further, our raw bar has a wide selection of local Oysters from Malpeque Bay all the way to Colville Bay and everywhere in between. So the next time your looking for a great evening out, be sure to stop by the Merchantman!
Charlottetown, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Seafood chowder, delicious and generous portion (bowl, not cup). shared appetizer of bacon wrapped scallops was excellent and cooked perfectly - crispy bacon but the scallops were not overcooked as so often happens. Service was friendly and food service was timely. Drink service was lacking as there was no check back for additional beverage orders with a group of four friends enjoying three courses. We had totally the waitress over to place additional beverage request.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    68
    31
    24
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Charlottetown, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Food is pretty much the same as many of the Island eateries. Lots of fried foods and not much imagination in the menu. Popular though.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, New Brunswick, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fresh, delicious food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This spot actually reminds me of the Gahan House in many ways: Simple menu, consistently well prepared dishes all year round. The daily dinner specials are a little pricey, but very good. I highly recommend the pan-fried haddock with jasmine rice and side salad - it's prepared with the most amazing relish!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good tasting food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Merchantman Pub restaurant serves good tasting food. Have eaten there many times with the Christmas party as the most recent visit. The dessert variety allowed us to choose from a selection of chocolate, sticky date pudding, and more.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Edward Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Will not eat here again.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I've been to the Merchantman about 5 times and each time the food and service has gotten worse. The servers working there have all been there for at least 2-3 years, and so they are experienced, but you would never guess it. I often witnessed the servers just standing around the bar while our table hadn't been visited for at least 30 minutes. It took almost 30 minutes for them to take our food order 2 of the 5 times, and all times the food took at least that long to arrive. The food itself isn't great either. They've recently had a menu change and I've eaten off of both menus, but the issue seems to be the ingredients -- not very flavorful and definitely not fresh. The servers are polite, but I'm definitely done eating here.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merchantman Fresh Seafood & Oyster Bar also viewed

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Merchantman Fresh Seafood & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merchantman Fresh Seafood & Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.