We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience, wish it was my local pub!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gahan House Pub Brewery

Gahan House Pub Brewery
126 Sydney Street, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1G4, Canada
902-626-2337
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 199 Restaurants in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Gahan is a name unknown in Charlottetown today, but in the middle of the 19th century, John Gahan was a prominent merchant, an importer of teas, wines, and family groceries. His place of business was on the corner of Queen and Sydney Streets, the former McIsaac building. Mr. Gahan lived next door to the shop, at 126 Sydney Street, in a wooden house he had purchased from the Brenan Estate. In 1880 he replaced that residence with the mansard-roofed brick one now at this address. It remained in Gahan ownership until the beginning of the 20th century when John Gahan’s widow, Marguerita, sold the property to Edward Kelly, the enterprising Irishman who built and owned houses all over Charlottetown. After Edward Kelly’s death in 1922, the premises became the property of the Roman Catholic Episcopal Corporation. The Sisters of the Precious Blood built a large addition to the house and used it as a convent until the 1960s. In the last quarter century the Gahan House had been used as a boarding house. The Gahan Brewery (formerly Murphy’s Brewing Co.) was established in March 1997 next to the Lone Star Café at 449 University Ave. Due to the increased popularity of the beer, we relocated to its current location, 126 Sydney Street, thus doubling its production capacity and giving it a permanent home in Old Charlottetown in the Gahan House. Murphy’s Brewing Co. was renamed The Gahan Brewery in November 2000 and remains the only brewery on Prince Edward Island. The Gahan House Pub opened in June 2001 and quickly became one of Charlottetown’s favourite restaurants. It’s unique and friendly atmosphere, food, and fine Ales has helped to establish The Gahan House as a destination of choice for locals and tourists alike.From our house to your house... Cheers!
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great experience, wish it was my local pub!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We ate lunch here on August 7, 2013. Great beer, delicious fish & chips. The children loved their pizzas and desserts. Could not have asked for more. All this in a stylish building with lots of atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    231
    62
    23
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Awesome food, great beer, and excellent service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The Gahan House was highly recommended by a friend and it didn't disappoint. The beer is outstanding and our meal was delicious. What impressed us the most was the excellent service and the comfortable, laid back atmosphere. A definite repeat during our trip!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Very solid pub food, accompanied by a tasting flight of beer. So much fun trying nine sample sizes of local beer. Kids menu food was the usual and adults enjoyed their entrees very much.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“One of our favorites!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful experiences, great beer and the food was fantastic. my daughter and I really enjoyed the steak, my wife the salmon and my daughters the pasta. Very family friendly.
Every meal was done perfectly!!
A must stop and dine when visiting charlottetown.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, NS
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Still great food and micro brewed beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Visited here last year on the aug long weekend and did the same this year, family of four had the fish and chips in a bag (delicious beer battered white fish, more fish than batter and mildly spiced fries), beer flavoured mussels, (good but I wished I had ordered the wine, cream and tarragon sauce), also served with a very tasty homemade biscuit ). My daughter had the pei homemade potato chips, more like think skins with cheese, green onions and two kinds of sauce for dipping. She really liked them! And my husband had the pulled pork burrito (special of the day) and fries. The pulled pork was very good, nicely sauced! We also tried their island ipa red and the Sydney street stout - both of us enjoyed the beers! This place is consistently good!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gahan House Pub Brewery also viewed

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Gahan House Pub Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gahan House Pub Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.