We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafood chowder” 4 of 5 stars
Review of John Brown Grille

John Brown Grille
132 Richmond Street, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1H9, Canada
+1 902-370-4040
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 203 Restaurants in Charlottetown
Price range: $13 - $34
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: John Brown Richmond Street Grille is located on the historic Victoria Row of downtown Charlottetown. We are proud to offer the best of Island cuisine - tantalizing chowder, delicious salads, amazing steaks seasoned to perfection, a large variety of seafood and gluten free options as well as a delectable pub menu. We offer many different varietals of wine, an abundance of craft ales - from near and far, live entertainment and a sophisticated, relaxed atmosphere for you to dine, mingle and dance . We look forward to seeing you soon at John Brown Richmond Street Grille - come for dinner and stay for the party.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Seafood chowder”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Service for lunch was quick and effecient as well as courteous

Dishes look awesome,
I had seafood chowder, A+

All for under $15.00 tax in

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glynn J, Public Relations Manager at John Brown Grille, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
We are very pleased to hear you had an enjoyable and affordable experience at John Brown Richmond Street Grille! Thank you for choosing us and enjoy your travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    18
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Came here late in the evening 10 PM or so. One of the few places open late on a Monday where there was a good size crowd.

Nachos were great and if you like lamb, I'd recommend the pulled lamb sandwich.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glynn J, Public Relations Manager at John Brown Grille, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
We are so happy to hear you had the opportunity to come into John Brown Richmond Street Grille! Did you try the JB nachos or the Club Nachos? The made in house lime topping with Chicken and Bacon on the club nachos are out of this world! Thank you so much for choosing us - we really appreciate your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great service. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

A little pricey but Worth the money while the music was playing outside it have the restaurant a nice vibe. Our server "youngerman" as she was listed on the receipt was great. Super nice and very helpful with my gluten and dairy free needs. She told me that the fryer was gluten free!! Helloooooo best sweet potatoes fries I've ever had! Salmon was great but piece was a bit small. But lots of veggie and rice. A+ for service and A- for quantity of protein. Two people. Two drinks. An App and two entrees 95$ plus tip.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glynn J, Public Relations Manager at John Brown Grille, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on your experience at John Brown Richmond Street Grille! We're sorry to hear you felt the protein portions were a little small, that is something we will definitely work on! We are happy to hear you had a great time with Hannah (Youngerman) she is such a pleasant young lady! We can't wait to see you on your next visit to John Brown Richmond Street Grille!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Very Accommondating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Arrived here at 5:30 hoping to get a table for 9 people and despite being busy they quickly accommodated our request. Our server couldn't have been nicer however the service was a little slow. It was nearly an hour after our order before the main entree came. To my surprise though, the food all arrived together, was piping hot and delicious. They have a varied menu for any taste and an excellent patio. The inside is nice too with a lot of history and character.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glynn J, Public Relations Manager at John Brown Grille, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
We are so happy to hear yo had a pleasant experience with us at John Brown Richmond Street Grille! Our menu has such a variety of options, it's suitable for any pallet. Did you folks get a chance to sit on our large outdoor patio or try any of our refreshing craft ales? We can't wait to see you again on your next visit to John Brown Richmond Street Grille! Thank you for choosing us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagler Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best spot on Victoria Row”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Pleasantly surprised by this place. Had the Lobster BLT and it was quite good. Tasty and didn't feel ripped off by the amount of lobster like happens at other places on Victoria Row. Plus they have Guinness on tap.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glynn J, Public Relations Manager at John Brown Grille, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
We are so happy to hear you were pleasantly surprised by your experience at John Brown's Grille! The Lobster BLT is amazing - you can't go wrong with putting bacon on anything. Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience, not only do we appreciate it - other travelers do as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John Brown Grille also viewed

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to John Brown Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John Brown Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.