We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming but with limitations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Duchess Of Kent Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlottetown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Duchess Of Kent Inn
Save
You added Duchess Of Kent Inn to your Saves list
218 Kent Street, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1P2 , Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 42 Charlottetown B&B and Inns
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming but with limitations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

This historic property was comfortable but with a few frustrations. The innkeeper needs to realize that guests have come to enjoy PEI and not spend 45 minutes or longer on an orientation session especially when your time there is limited. I would suggest that you allow guests to checkin, get their keys and if they have questions or need suggestions they will enquire. The property is in need of repairs and updating. The ceiling in the kitchen is collapsing (hopefully they have repaired this by now) also the free standing tub is surrounded by shower curtains which tend to stick to you when showering and finally the taps are old ie individual taps for hot and cold which is challenging when washing your face. The location is good. Rooms are comfortable. To get to the top floor there are a lot of steep stairs and not be suitable for elderly.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
12
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Great location of an older inn in Charlottetown. We stayed in the guest room, it was spacious and well decorated. Two large beds, a fireplace, tv, ac, great big windows overlooking the street, private bathroom down the hall. $95/night in the busiest time of the year - doesn't get much better than that.

Hostess was extremely unique, funny in a dry sort of way. Gave my wife and I several maps and ideas for our vacation. Had already HAND WRITTEN things on the map prior to our arrival. She certainly does hope that everyone enjoys their stay. I wouldn't say she is intrusive like the post before me, but she was talkative. She told us about a light show, free museum tours, restaurants that locals like, and more... Very helpful! She also put in quarters to the parking meter outside of our inn when we overslept. She never woke us, just filled the meter. How nice! Her husband was pleasant as well, although we only met him for a minute. Certainly helpful too, but less talkative than his wife!

Would definitely recommend, as it was one of my favorite B&Bs throughout our week long travel in PEI.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

I found our hostess, Sharyn, to be too intrusive, especially while we were having breakfast. We would have liked to chat with the other guests who shared our breakfast table but that was not to be the case. The location of the Inn is great!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

The Duchess of Kent Inn is a beautifully kept historic house, situated right in the heart of Charlottetown. We came here on a recommendation and I would like to pay this recommendation forward too -- this is an excellent B&B.

We stayed in the turret which, if you have the option, I would certainly recommend as it is absolutely great value for money. It is a private living space containing its own mini-lounge area and a second (smaller) room -- a great space if you are travelling in a larger group or as a family.

The quality and range of the breakfasts was amazing. Much attention and care was placed into making sure breakfast was comprehensive and it really felt like an event unto itself.

But what made our stay so special and so memorable was all down to the hosts, Sharyn and Doug, who have been running the B&B for 20-odd years but who are still so fresh and enthusiastic about the way they go about the daily operation. From the moment we were welcomed to the point we left, Sharyn and Doug treated us like old friends. Their warmth and friendliness were infectious, and it was so easy to get caught up in conversation with them like they were old friends. They were also helpful with any questions we had, were extremely eager to give us recommendations around the area, and were also very flexible and easygoing with some of our last minute changes to our itinerary (ie we were only intending to stay for one night but ended up staying for three).

Truth be told, we found it hard to leave and to say goodbye -- such was the warmth, charm and endearment of both the property and the hosts. What sets Sharyn and Doug apart as hosts is that they are not only warm and charming, they really are very genuine and sincere too. Would choose to stay here and visit "old friends" if ever visiting Charlottetown again!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

My family spent four nights at the Duchess of Kent, and we had a lovely stay. The "Dutchess" is located within walking distance of downtown Charlottetown and many great pubs, shops and museums.
The Inn is a lovely, old Victorian home, with lots of interesting architecture and history. The rooms are spacious, filled with lovely period pieces and the beds are nice and comfy. Sharyn has spent many years lovingly restoring her "Dutchess" to its original grandeur.
Sharyn is not only a great decorator, but she also is a thoughtful Innkeeper. When we arrived, Sharyn had maps, pamplets, brochures and newspaper cutouts all ready and waiting for us. She introduced us to our first "ceilidh" - an experience not to be missed! She really went out of her way to make sure we enjoyed all that her Island had to offer. We really enjoyed the hominess of the "Duchess". It was a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

The Duchess of Kent was very centrally located for exploring Charlottetown. Built in 1875, the lovely home had a bit of a Green Gablesesque-time-period charm to it, with the area for guests nicely separated from the hosts' home. A nice dose of humanity in an often cold & impersonal era, the touches of Sharyn's hospitality were evident everywhere, from pillows placed just so to brochures specifically tailored to our interests on arrival to hand-written instructions on how to prepare the hot chocolate. I'll love to stay there again when I'm next in PEI.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tempe, arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

We were only in Charlottetown for a single night (alas!), and were very fortunate to have booked a room at the Duchess of Kent. The house was a great reflection of Sharyn the hostess - both were full of charm and character. The double room was quaint, fairly spacious, and very clean and comfortable, although our private bathroom was down the hall. Sharyn was a warm, attentive and knowledgeable hostess, and she provided us with several helpful recommendations on what to do in Charlottetown, complete with an annotated map. The location of the Inn was unbeatable, on a lively street within easy walking distance to the city center. We would have loved to extend our stay, and would gladly return to the Duchess of Kent if we ever get back to PEI.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Duchess Of Kent Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duchess Of Kent Inn

Address: 218 Kent Street, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1P2 , Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottetown
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Duchess Of Kent Inn Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duchess Of Kent Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.