We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect fries!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chip Shack

The Chip Shack
#4 Lower Prince St | Beside Founder's Hall, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A0C4, Canada
+1 902-316-2399
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 183 Restaurants in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: Fish & Chips, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Street Food
Description: I am going for title of Best hand-cut Fries in the world!Anyone can say they're the Best..it's not up to me..it's up to my beautiful guest's.To be the best you have to start with the best :) Well my lovelies, that is what our magical Island is famous for, our fabulous potatoes.Come down to the Chip Shack, grab some hand-cut yumminess (gluten-free) and have a chat with the Queen of Fries. Life is delicious <3
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Perfect fries!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Best French fries ever and served with love! Don't expect anything fancy, but amazing food and the best customer service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    27
    8
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Forney, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Perfect fries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The Queen of Fries really is the Queen of Fries! My husband and I went on a cruise early Sept 2013 and one of the stops was in Charlottetown, PEI. After walking around the town for awhile we were headed back to the ship. The Chip Shack was positioned near the docks and we saw a line of people waiting to order food. The sign in near the window said "Queen of Fries", the menu looked promising and the prices weren't bad so we got in line too. We ordered our food and while waiting for our order, chatted with the Queen herself, who was really friendly. After getting our food, fries and a lobster roll, we walked to the park and ate. The food was fabulous. The fries, thick cut, were perfectly crisp, definitely not McDonalds, and the lobster roll was good too. She is definitely worth the stop if you are there!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Perfect fries!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We visited Charlottetown for only one night, and parked near the water to go for a walk. Seconds after getting out of our car, the Queen of Fries was waving to us and saying hello. At first I figured it was a good way to attract customers, but after chatting with her for 20 minutes while eating her excellent fries, we realized that she is a totally sincere and loving person who loves people, whether they're customers or not.

We only had a small order of fries, and since this is her specialty, it is the only criteria necessary to earn her a 5 out of 5 from me, plus bonus points for personality. The fries were crisp on the outside and soft on the inside. Perfectly done and of course, fresh cut. She also gave us some of her homemade dips to try, which were fantastic. She helped us find a brewery after we mentioned our interest in beer, and just kind of "hung out" with us. I feel like I met a new friend. If you're in Charlottetown, definitely visit this awesome lady and try her fries!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent fish and chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We visited the Chip Shack whilst in Charlottetown recently and it was a wonderful supper. We are from the UK and so have had one or two fish and chip suppers in our time, but this was the best ever! Superb tasting batter which Caron explained was gluten free and it was delicious. We were only in Charlottetown for the one night; had we stayed for longer we would have eaten here again! Excellent value too and with free hugs!:))

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Chips, but that is it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Just eat the chips, that´s it! :) Solo ordena las papas fritas, pero nada mas! :) Il suffit de commander les frites, mais c'est tout! :) Solo ordinari le patatine fritte, ma questo e tutto! :)
Trust me on this one!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chip Shack also viewed

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to The Chip Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chip Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.