We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, great location and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel on Pownal

Save Saved
You added The Hotel on Pownal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hotel on Pownal
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   146 Pownal Street, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 3W6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 25 hotels in Charlottetown
Riverside, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Clean, great location and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed in a family suite for two nights. The rooms were clean and comfortable with lovely amenities. The complimentary breakfast was very good, with a tasty and hot egg dish each morning. The location is great - just a block from lots of nice restaurants and the theater. The only negatives are that the bathroom was quite small and the air-conditioner was quite noisy - but the nights were cool so we turned it off. The staff at the front desk is very friendly and helpful as well. I would defintiely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ksamuel, Manager at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us at the Hotel on Pownal and taking the time to write a review on this site.

I am glad to read that you would return to our Hotel in the future to enjoy our great location and offerings especially breakfast.

I look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    75
    28
    1
    2
See reviews for
28
70
17
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, Canada
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed here for one night and have no complaints.

Our room and bathroom was very clean and quiet. The staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. Free tea and coffee and fresh baked cookies are available throughout the day.

The beds were very comfortable and everyone had a great sleep.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ksamuel, Manager at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to review the Hotel on Pownal here.

I also want to note that your positive comments are certainly appreciated and will be shared with all our staff members. It is so nice to know that all the work we do to make our guests stay the best it can be is noticed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Our reservation was last minute through the PEI tourist information center. We were very concerned when we viewed the hotel from the outside as we approached through the parking lot. The neighborhood is on the fringe. To our surprise the room was clean, up-dated, bed new, bath room renovated, and the normal amenities (TV, Wi-Fi, etc) . The breakfast was great; cold and hot buffet. The hotel is located in easy walking distance to the waterfront.
The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable.
This was a surprisingly pleasant experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ksamuel, Manager at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the Hotel on Pownal on this site.

Your positive comments are certainly appreciated as we strive to exceed our guest's expectations. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us despite your initial feelings in regards to our downtown location. As you may not be familiar with our small City, I can assure you that there are no, "Bad" parts of town. Charlottetown is indeed a very friendly place all around.

Thanks again for your feedback and I look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

stayed late august for a long weekend the room was good large enough however washroom was very small and needs a little upgrade. front desk service was good check in quick. the location for us was perfect close to a lot of areas of attraction. some areas could be cleaned a little better having said that the breakfast in the front lobby was excellent good choice and very fresh .

Room Tip: above front lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We booked this last minute and there was many rooms to choose from. We ended up in a double room. I know it wasn't going to be big but ther was just enough room to walk around the bed. Upon checking in they tried upgrading us since we were honeymooners but they didn't have any rooms available.. They did give us a bottle of wine which we thought was pretty cool.

Room Tip: Nice clean place but make sure to get a bigger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed twice in July and once in August 0for work and could not have asked for more! I usually stay at the Holiday Inn because that's where our corporate account is set up, but they were sold out the nights I needed. Tried this hotel by recommendation and was really happy with it. The girls on front desk went out of their way to make sure my wife and son were entertained while I was out for the day, providing suggestions, maps, and a pass for the parks. Jane, the girl who works nights, went above and beyond for our early departure. She had breakfast and juices bagged for us, our bill ready, and a taxi waiting. Great service!

The breakfast was pretty good, far beyond a normal continental and they were even able to provide soy milk for us.
Prices are a little high, but that seems to be the norm for downtown. Fitness room is pretty small but they did have running maps for the area at the desk too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The hotel is centrally located and close to walk to downtown Charlottetown or to the wharf. The hotel rooms were small, we did not feel like our room was overly clean. The carpets looked dirty. The hotel included free parking and a delicious continental breakfast with lots of selection (even a gluten-free basket, which was a pleasant surprise).

When we checked-in, the girl working at the front desk really seemed to dislike her job. She was not the least bit friendly, definitely sets the tone for the customer service. She also told me that she could have given me the room for 10% cheaper, but I was locked into the rate I had booked at online, even though I was not charged for the room until we arrived.

I will look for a different place to stay the next time I am in Charlottetown.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hotel on Pownal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel on Pownal

Address: 146 Pownal Street, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 3W6, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Charlottetown
#5 Business Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Hotel on Pownal 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a marked fresh, urban style, The Hotel on Pownal is a modern boutique hotel ideal for those who shy away from conventionality.Located in the heart of downtown Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island on historic Pownal Street, we're within a breath of shopping, fabulous dining, and the beautiful Charlottetown waterfront & boardwalk.With your stay at our recently renovated hotel, our unique Urban Experiences will keep you active and entertained. We also have all the modern conveniences and amenities you expect.We invite you to stay at The Hotel on Pownal - Urban Comfort & Conference Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Hotel on Pownal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Islander Guestrooms Hotel
The Hotel On Pownal Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel on Pownal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.