We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay on the 2nd floor at front of hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Canada's Best Value Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Canada's Best Value Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Canada's Best Value Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   20 Capital Drive, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1E 1E7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Charlottetown
London, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Don't stay on the 2nd floor at front of hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

We booked online and were not advised that the hotel was undergoing renovations at the time. we booke dthe room with a jacuzzi-which was nice and large BUT really bad lighting. They apparently have not heard of black out drapes because they had filmy see through drapes--we were at the front of the hotel with the sign right outside our window so we had that light shining in all night long. There was a little patio off our room where we could sit but again it was at the front of the hotel so we got all the noise from the traffic. Also it was on the 2nd floor--this would not have been a problem it there had been an elevator. We had to lug 2 large suitcases, cooler, and all the rest of our various stuff up and down the stairs. Also there was only a small 3 drawer dresser to put all our clothes in--we ended up living out of the suitcases.
It was close to everything and there was plenty of parking so that was good but the 'continental breakfast' was definately worth missing. The room where it was held was constantly messy and dirty and they had run out of everything no matter what time you got down there. We only tried it once and then paid to eat out the rest of the time.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    34
    24
    5
    10
See reviews for
46
34
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

Booked this place online, and if all of the information had been disclosed at booking, I would not have stayed there. Turns out that half the rooms in the property have been renovated, the other half not. Be forewarned, if you prepay your reservation, you'll find yourself in an unrenovated room, dating from the 1950s. The beds have changed, the rooms are dated, and for the price they are charging, it's a rip off. While having breakfast every morning, the same scene played out repeatedly, with guests coming up, complaining, and leaving. The staff listened to their concerns, but it seems that management has figured that they can milk the customer. Stay elsewhere, you'll be happier.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memcinnis, Manager at Canada's Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 1, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property!
When booking online, it is always recommended to call the hotel to make any special requests such as kitchenette, jacuzzi, or two queen beds. Front desk staff would NEVER hold back ANY information about the hotel, especially when it comes to the condition of our renovated/non-renovated rooms. All guests who phone in a reservation and request the room with the cheapest rate are informed of the condition of the economy rooms -- they are dated, but are clean and well-worth one of the cheapest rates in Charlottetown.
If guests prepay online for one of the economy rooms with two double beds (at our lowest rate) they will find themselves placed in one of our economy rooms in the not-yet-renovated section of the hotel. We have many guests who prepay online, choose a room with two queen beds, kitchenette, jacuzzi, etc. (at a higher rate) and are placed in the appropriate room.
Prepaying does NOT always place you in a non-renovated room. If you're considering booking online, PLEASE consider phoning the hotel to get any information you may be uncertain about!
Thanks again for the review.
Kind Regards,
Canadas Best Value Inn -- Charlottetown, PE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

My husband and 10-year-old son stayed in a recently renovated kitchenette unit. For the price ($109), it was perfect. Even though the exterior looks outdated, the interior is completely redone. Very comfortable beds, flat-screen TV, clean room. Lots of closet space, mirrors. Ideal for sports teams as there is complimentary breakfast and open area outside to play. The children enjoyed the outdoor heated pool but complained that the bottom felt slimy. Would definitely recommend. However, make sure you ask for renovated room. I would never stay in the older units; they're pretty scary.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memcinnis, Manager at Canada's Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 1, 2010
Thank you for writing a review of our property. We appreciate very much that you would take the time to write positive comments, especially since we have worked so hard throughout the Spring months to make extensive improvements to our accommodations.
Don't be a stranger! We look forward to seeing you back on the Island!
Kind Regards,
Canadas Best Value Inn -- Charlottetown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

When we got to our room, I come out of the washroom and several workmen were on our second floor balconey.. quite un-nerving.
then at 1 a.m. a fight broke out between a man and woman in the next room. the physical confrontation and screaming continued even after the front desk clerk visited the room twice.. Instead of kicking the people out she kept talking to them.. around 4 the noise stopped. In the morning the clerk said she didn't want to kick them out.. So she would rather have them come back then other guests.. make sense... not.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

We stayed there 2 nights. Close to downtown with car, but too far to walk. Cheapest deal in town for 89.99 a night. We stayed in a newly renovated room. From the outside this looks like a motel, inside looks like a very nice hotel room. Great beds, great window coverings, great colors. Kitchenette with fridge, microwave, sink, coffeemaker and tea. Nice, modern bathroom but without any towel holders and an old sink faucet.. Mirrors everywhere, great. Lighting in bedroom totally inadequate. Best thing is the little patio in the back of the room, with sliding door, table and two chairs. However, the view is not great but at least it was green and clean. Super TV. Desk with chair was good. Little table with 2 chairs also in room. Still spacious. Air conditioning good but loud. Breakfast mediocre. Reception staff unfriendly and clueless. Would go there again for room and price. Had no problem with road noise or neighbors.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mathomson18, Manager at Canada's Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 13, 2010
Thank you so much for your honest and in-depth review of our hotel. We appreciate your comments and will use them to better our service in the future.
It's great to hear such positive feedback on the newly-renovated rooms. The new owners and their employees have all worked very hard over the past few months to have them ready for the Summer season! There are still a few small steps to take, but the progress is more than apparent.
With new owners and renovations come new sytems, policies and employees. We regret that the front-desk staff did not leave a good first impression for your stay, but we are certain that with time and experience these newcomers to our family will develop into high-quality representatives of the hotel.
We look forward to seeing you down the road!

Kind Regards,
Canada's Best Value Inn -- Charlottetown, PE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canada's Best Value Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canada's Best Value Inn & Suites

Address: 20 Capital Drive, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1E 1E7, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Canada's Best Value Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful property is newly-renovated (2010) to meet the needs of all travelers to Prince Edward Island. Standard rooms, standard suites, and jacuzzi suites are available. Continental breakfast and free wi-fi are included. On-site restaurant/pub is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Canada's Best Value Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canada`s Best Value Hotel Charlottetown
Canada`s Best Value Inn And Suites
Rodd Confederation Hotel
Canada's Best Value Inn & Suites Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canada's Best Value Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.