We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Adventure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Top Notch Charters - Lobster Excursions

Top Notch Charters - Lobster Excursions
2 Prince Street, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada
902-626-6689
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 28 activities in Charlottetown
Type: Boat Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: LOBSTER FISHING EXCURSIONSGet up close and personal with a lobster. Smell the salt air, feel the gentle breeze against your face, enjoy the thrill of taking a lobster right out of a trap, and savour the experience of a traditional Prince Edward Island lobster supper aboard the 45-foot fishing boat Top Notch.Aboard, you’ll discover what it’s like to: •haul a trap or band a claw•take a turn at the wheel•learn about the modern technology used in today’s lobster fishery•delight in Captain Mark's tales of the industry’s early days•sail into the Northumberland Strait, past historic Port La Joye/Fort Amherst and scenic Governor’s Island•experience breathtaking views•pass the home of Island sea birds and marine life•savour one of PEI’s true pleasures --- fresh lobster
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Great Adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Two days ago we spent the afternoon with Mark & Cody and had a fabulous time. They are both very friendly and entertaining and look after their ``guests`` very well. We learned a lot about the fishing industry, how fishing areas are established, conservation and all the many transformer parts of lobsters and crabs. These 4th generation fishermen are the real thing. Hauled up lobster traps, manoeuvered the boat, enjoyed the education and the stories, saw an albino lobster and met ``Larry` which was fun. The afternoon ended with a delicious lobster meal anchored off shore, the waves gently rocking the boat. Highly recommended for all - you are not too young nor too old for this adventure. Thanks Mark & Cody.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark J, Owner at Top Notch Charters - Lobster Excursions, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thanks so much, we had fun too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC TIME!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We just returned from the morning (10:30 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.) lobster fishing trip. Both my son (10) and I enjoyed ourselves so much.

Mark and Cody are wonderful hosts and shared their fishing experiences with us.

We pulled up the lobster & crab traps and learned how to fish for lobster. We learned so much about lobsters (1 lb lobsters are approx. 8 years old!!). Wonderful time, would definately recommend this excursion!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark J, Owner at Top Notch Charters - Lobster Excursions, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thanks guys, it was a pleasure.....take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walkerton, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great way to spend a few hours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This charter is a great thing to do. Captain's Mark and Cody were friendly, conscientious and knowledgable. We learned so much about fishing for crab and lobster and blue fin tuna. We actually brought in the traps and got to hold a crab and a lobster. Children would enjoy this trip. The lobster meal was delicious. Highly recommended.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark J, Owner at Top Notch Charters - Lobster Excursions, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thanks for the great review and for joining us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I went August 2012 with 3, 8 year old girls and my mother. We had to reschedule due to weather and the guys were great about moving our trip to the next day and keeping us up to date on the weather situation.

We all had a fantastic time. The kids were completely entertained and learned a lot in the process, as were us adults. VERY hands on...kids drove the boat and got to touch every creature.

The food was amazing - 2 of the kids didn't eat the lobster and they were also satisfied :)

Best use of your time and money in PEI!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Time!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

There were 3 of us for the tour in July. Celebrating my sister-in laws 60th. We are from Seattle, Our first trip to PEI . What a fantastic outing. It was so wonderful we can't say enough. Very informative and fun. The dinner at the end was perfect, my first time eating a whole lobster what a treat. Mark and Cody were so knowledgeable . I will admit I though it might be kind of boring but I was definitely wrong it was the highlight of our trip. It is a must do activity . I can't wait till we can go again. Thanks for a great time guys. Wonderful memories to carry with us.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark J, Owner at Top Notch Charters - Lobster Excursions, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thanks for the great review....see you when you come back. You know where to find us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Top Notch Charters - Lobster Excursions also viewed

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Georgetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Top Notch Charters - Lobster Excursions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Top Notch Charters - Lobster Excursions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Top Notch Charters - Lobster Excursions to your Saves list