We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Location and Delicious Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Harbour House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Harbour House to your Saves list
The Harbour House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Grafton St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1K3, Canada (Formerly Heritage Harbour House Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 5% OFF YOUR STAY!
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Central Location and Delicious Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a very pleasant stay here and particularly enjoyed a fantastic breakfast (and associated lovely service) at the large table that allowed us to chat with other travellers. This B&B is huge and located in an interesting heritage building on a quiet street close to downtown. Staff were very friendly and helpful and pointed out some good restaurants for dinner.

Room Tip: It seemed that the B&B had only a few rooms with Queen size bed, so we settled for two twins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    90
    16
    6
    1
See reviews for
69
176
12
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were welcomed warmly even though arriving at 3am in the morning after plane delays. Our room was reasonably large and bed comfortable. The continental breakfast selection is good with one hot dish offered each day. There is a washing machine and drier available for guests with a time restriction on them because of noise and a queue of people the day we used it. There is no elevator so check if stairs are a problem for you. They ask you not to use the shower after 10pm because of noise problems. There is free wifi connection.
It is within walking distance of the shops and restaurants of Charlottetown and a good central base for doing day trips to the rest of PEI
We enjoyed our 3 nights there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We had a lovely stay here. Our room was spacious and very clean. The bed was also very comfy. All of the staff were really friendly and made us feel welcome. The breakfast in the morning was delicious and a great way to start the day. The location was great, very close to downtown.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arans
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Great B&B downtown Charlottetown conviniently located in a quiet street very close to restaurants in the mains street, shore, park etc... Very Friendly and giving an excellent service. The best part is the breakfast including a wide range of home made pastries: scones, muffins, cinnamon buns, etc

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed two nights in this immaculately maintained & presented B&B in a spacious room with en suite bathroom. The bed was excellent and the ironed sheets felt wonderful.
The breakfast room was very pleasant and the cooked breakfast was well presented, plentiful and delicious. A good setting to chat with fellow travellers.
Our hosts were extremely helpful in all respects. Including tutoring me on how to use Skype and helping us sort out how best to get from Fredericton, New Brunswick to Bangor, Maine to pick up a rental car when it appeared there was no bus or train service (something to do about border security). Our hosts’ advice proved absolutely correct as it worked out. In fact, unless you own a private car or horse, the cheapest way to make this leg of ones journey is by cab! For a fare of $400 we went through customs in a chauffer-driven limousine, which was a first for us. Whatever happened to the longest undefended border in the world?
We would have loved to stay longer and were very sorry that we had to press on to meet a pre-booked car rental south of the border.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bailey, CO.
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This was our first experience with a B&B. We were greeted by an enthusiastic owner who took good care of us. (We had flown all day to get there). She pointed us in the direction of a nearby restaurant that was excellent.

The room itself was a little spartan - very plain but it was clean and comfortable. It seemed to be stuffy the whole time we were there (2 days) but we took care of that by opening the door to the little deck off of the room. No elevator so you need to lug your bags up and down the stairs if you are on the 2nd or 3rd floor.

The breakfast was good although did not live up to expectations. The waitstaff was terrific though in taking care of our every need. Scrambled eggs & ham one morning, pancakes with cranberry sauce the next (could have used some sausage, bacon, or ham).

Overall, we had a good experience here. We would recommend it and we would return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

A first class B&B. Lovely rooms and warm and friendly staff. The food was excellent and there was a very nice variety. Our hosts even arranged theater tickets for us and we had the night of our lives! Tremendous show and perfect seats. Rooms are spacious, clean and very comfortable. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Harbour House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbour House

Address: 9 Grafton St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1K3, Canada (Formerly Heritage Harbour House Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Charlottetown
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charlottetown
#4 Business Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Harbour House 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Harbour House, we've combined the elegant heritage character of our property with contemporary amenities and comfortable furnishings to make you feel at home during your stay with us. Our accommodation options range from suites to rooms for those traveling on a budget, and are suitable for all types of travelers from groups and families to individuals and long-term renters. Included with your stay is a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast featuring your choice of sweet or savory hot entree and other breakfast selections. We also include free off-street parking with your stay. Need information about Charlottetown, directions to a venue, or just want to talk PEI in general? We're always available to chat. If we're not at the registration desk, we invite you to ring the desk bell and we'll come join you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Harbour House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Harbour House Hotel Charlottetown
Heritage Harbour Hotel
Heritage Harbour Charlottetown
The Harbour House Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Harbour House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.