We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Truly Charming and Gracious Retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shipwright Inn

Save Saved
You added Shipwright Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shipwright Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   51 Fitzroy St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1R4, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 45 Charlottetown B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Truly Charming and Gracious Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

We cannot possibly say enough good things about this lovely Inn. Our room - "The Quarterdeck" - was large, airy, spotless and beautifully furnished, with all mod cons, a private entrance and featured a large air-jet soaker tub in addition to a full en-suite bathroom. The owners, Trevor and Judy, were charming hosts, making us feel at home from the moment we arrived. The location is great - just a few steps from the centre of town and only a five or ten minutes from the waterfront. The breakfast was excellent, and complimentary tea, coffee, soft drinks and treats were always on hand - much appreciated after a bracing hike along the beaches on the North shore. Our only regret was that our stay here wasn't long enough!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREAMER55, Owner at Shipwright Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2011
Many, many thanks for your gracious comments. We are so pleased that you had a great stay with us and we thoroughly enjoyed your company. As seasoned travelers to so many exciting places across the world it is always extremely gratifying to know that our Gentle Island is up there with the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    11
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
23
89
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, MD
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

We were staying in the Tiller flat and what a great place it was. It was very large with a number of rooms and a kitchenette (even if it wasn't needed.) and had a private entrance. .
Judy and Trevor were incredible hosts. When we arrived at the Inn, we were in the midst of a crisis concerning my mother-in-law. She was living in an assisted living facility in Maryland and was in need of some special care. To get that special care, the facility needed a signed release from my wife, but since we were 1500 miles away, it was a problem. The Inn had a fax machine and Trevor was kind enough to both send and receive the necessary paperwork that needed to be completed. He would not take any compensation for providing this service. He really helped us when we needed it the most.
The Inn was centrally located and we were able to walk to many locations and the flat was fabulous. There was plenty of room and we did not get that crowded feeling.

We've been to Charlottetown a number of times, but this was the first time we stayed at the Shipwright Inn. We'll be making more trips in the future so it won't be hard to guess where we will be staying.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREAMER55, Owner at Shipwright Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2011
Thank you so much for your very kind words.....they mean a lot to us. We can assure you that the pleasure was all ours and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Shipwright Inn when you next visit our Gentle Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

Great theme rooms with fantastic furnishings. The location is fairly close to waterfront (5-10 min walk). This place is spotlessly clean.Owners are friendly and helpful with helpful tips for your stay on the island.
I did think this place was overpriced at $310 (with taxes) a night.
We are seasoned travelers having visited 38 countries and found this stay to have had the smallest breakfest we have come across. Small bowl of blueberries/kiwis and 1 small pce of banana french toast with 1/2 a strawberry.
All in all a great room, location and staff, very clean but overpriced with a very small breakfest which left us grabbing a snack close by.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREAMER55, Owner at Shipwright Inn, responded to this review, March 16, 2011
As Innkeepers we would like to compliment this reviewer for their very kind words concerning the decoration and furnishings of our establishment. It is always particularly rewarding for us to know that our guests truly appreciate the amount of time and effort it takes to create a unique environment for them to both enjoy and experience.

We were, however, somewhat bemused to note the comment regarding breakfast, which based on the many other reviews of our Inn, is often the highlight of a stay with us.

Typically our breakfast consists of four courses starting with fresh fruit, juices, coffee and tea, yogurts, homemade granola and cereals, muffins or similar homemade baked goods and follows with a different hot course each day finishing with toast and Island preserves. For the majority of our guests this represents an extremely substantial meal to start their day with and for those with extensive appetites requests for extra helpings are never refused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

Very charming ambiance and hosts.Great room with balcony and large bath. Wonderful breakfast ! Good location.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

This Inn is an absolute gem! The innkeepers, Trevor and Judy are absolutely charming, give spot on recommendations on places to see, and make you feel right at home. They have done a simply amazing renovation on the building itself. It has been updated to be comfortable, yet it still retains it's orginal charm. Our room ("The Quarterdeck") was absolutely gorgeous! There are not words to describe how perfectly the furniture, linens and decor fit together and make you feel comfortable in such a luxurious setting. The Inn is just a few minutes walk to anyplace that you could want to go in Charlottetown, including the waterfront, yet being set back on sidestreet gives it a quiet feel. We spent some time just sitting in the adirondack chairs next to the Inn's beautiful gradens one evening and it was incredibly relaxing and peaceful. The breakfasts were delicious and were a perfect start to each day. We will be certain to make this a stayover on our next visit to the island. My husband and I absolutely loved every minute that we spent at the Shipwright Inn.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

This was a really impressive inn in Charlottetown. The owners are very warm and friendly and Trevor made us feel very welcome upon arrival and allowed us to check in early since our room was ready. We really appreciated this. Everything is very beautiful and you feel right at home here. It was very quiet in a great location- we walked everywhere very easily- it's walking distance to all restaurants, shopping, the waterfront, and tourist attractions. The house is so beautiful and elegant and has a very interesting history and I loved the "ship" theme. All the rooms have lots of interesting artwork and artifacts to look at and I loved looking around. Another really nice touch was the homemade lemonade and mini-muffins that guests could help themselves to in the afternoon and into the evening. There are also lots of complimentary magazines and newspapers so we took advantage and sat outside on the porch in the evening with magazines and just relaxed with a glass of lemonade. You can also help yourselves to tea or hot chocolate at any time. We really enjoyed staying here and really appreciated the hospitality. We stayed in the chart room which had a really beautifully carved double bed and maps (charts) were up on the walls- it was a great theme. There was also a brick fireplace. It was very relaxing. We did find a big black beetle in our bed as we pulled back the covers and we found another on the bedside lamp but understandably bugs get in sometimes and it can't always be helped.
The full breakfast was delicious, the lemonade and mini-muffins were such a nice gesture, our bathroom was really nice and clean. Read the reviews on here to get an idea of what to expect- this place is very highly rated for good reason. This is one of those neat places that are very modern and very historic both at the same time. Really interesting place to stay for a night.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

Beautiful older property in good shape, lovely yard with mature trees, very clean, good water pressure in shower, comfortable bed and linens, air conditioning and cable tv in rooms. Inn is beautifully decorated with antiques, many nautical. Lots of information about Charlottetown and PEI available. For us insomniacs, there is a guest den in the reception area and a guest parlor, as well as books, movies, and a large selection of magazines available. Also, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, cold drinks and baked goods are available at all hours. Dining room features one long table and several small, a nice feature, as not everyone is comfortable eating with strangers at a communal table. Breakfast was scrambled eggs and sausage, along with muffins, fruit, yogurt, cereal, toast and granola ... nothing fancy, but good and plentiful, a nice change from many inns which serve gourmet breakfasts that leave one still hungry.
Finally, innkeepers Judy and Trevor were very friendly. We spent one night in the least expensive room, and Judy made us feel as welcome as if we were spending two weeks in the biggest suite.
I've stayed at over a dozen inns and b&bs over the past few years, and I can say that the Shipwright is one of the best, with its attention to detail. Judy and Trevor obviously love their inn and innkeeping.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shipwright Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shipwright Inn

Address: 51 Fitzroy St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1R4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shipwright Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Award-Winning 5 Star B&B, centrally located in Olde Charlottetown, has been rated as the "Best B&B on Prince Edward Island" and one of the "Top Ten B&B's" in Canada by Frommer's Travel Guides and is AAA/CAA 3 Diamond approved. The Inn, which was built in 1865 has unique period antiques and artwork which have been collected for your enjoyment. We offer warm, Island hospitality, attentive service and believe in pampering all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Tingo, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Shipwright Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shipwright Inn Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shipwright Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.